We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fantastic, can't wait to book again.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flaxton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Griffon Forest Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic, can't wait to book again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend booked 4 nights here in a Keepers Lodge Monday-Friday in October as a surprise for my 21st birthday. This was a recommendation as my sister has been before and we found the Monks Cross retail park before checking into our lodge so we did our food shop at Asda. Great as only 10 min drive!

We arrived around 4pm to reception and staff were lovely. We were in lodge number 1 which was lovely! There was a utility room, open plan dining room lounge and kitchen, bathroom with bath and walk in shower & two bedrooms, a double and a twin. They literally think of everything at Griffon forest!! So well equipped, clean and plenty of info available.

We used the Monks Cross Park and Ride to go into York city centre-so convenient and cheaper than parking. York itself is a beautiful city with a lovely atmosphere. We visited the Jorvik museum-great fun and interesting but didn't take very long, the Minster-lovely to walk around and so detailed. We wanted to go to the famous Betty's tea rooms so just went for a hot chocolate mid morning rather than afternoon tea as queues are round the street! The shopping is great and was one of the best bits! Plenty of your normal high street shops as well as some designer and some quirky individual shops.

The surroundings of Griffon forest are beautiful and we enjoyed a walk following a trail in the welcome pack. The best part which I miss very much was the hot tub-someone checks in to show you how to use it when you arrive, very easy and we spent lots of time in it! So relaxing and private from passers by so you can chill in peace.

Even though our lodge was the first lodge very close to the entrance and reception it was still so quiet, no disturbances and hardly saw anyone else.

Overall we had an amazing time at Griffon forest, we didn't want to come home & I will definitely book to go again. Usually when you go away there is at least one thing you don't like but I can honestly say there was nothing here! Brilliant.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelsee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    126
    31
    19
    8
See reviews for
159
442
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

This was our 9th visit to Griffon Forest.We have stayed in lodges all over the estate but have now found that 41 is the best as dogs are allowed in it.As usual the lodge was warm and cozy on our arrival and all the appliances were there;gas cooker,dishwasher,fridge,microwave,washing machine with separate tumble dryer,flat screen tv with Sky channels and their own CCTV channels of the wildlife including badgers.A highlight of the lodge is the outdoor hot tub that is continually on and lovely and warm.All the staff are very helpful but especially Helen and Steve who are always on site to answers queries and give advice.We are returning again next year.

Room Tip: Speak to the staff before booking and go through Griffon Forest as it is cheaper than the travel com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Just arrived back from Griffon Forest staying in Poachers Lodge 11. What a fantastic place! the hot tub is fantastic after a long day and very relaxing. We saw lots of Birds,Squirrels ,Rabbits and on the Griffon Forest wildlife channel were the Badgers. Staff we really friendly and nothing was too much trouble they had a well stocked shop at reception. The milk, tea/coffee and biscuits were welcome on arrival and the whole cabin was clean with all the facilities you would need, microwave ,cooker, washer dryer and even a dishwasher. The low lit path to Tykes restaurant at Sandburn Hall was welcome as we could both have a drink, the food there superb and the golf at Sandburn Hall was excellent and the greens well kept. You can have the stay you wish at Griffon Forest mine was peaceful and relaxing, what would yours be?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelchick44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Just arrived home from a week staying at keepers lodge 50 at Griffon Forest. Stayed here with my partner and our dog Beryl. Lodge was everything we needed and the hot tub an added bonus on a cold evening! Lodge really clean as was the hot tub. DVDs & games available to borrow on site were a nice touch and all staff friendly and offered good advice on suitable beaches to take the dog (we opted for Whitby which was perfect!). Can also strongly recommend doing the walk around the forest - beautiful setting. Was our first stay but certainly won't be the last.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tormorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Have just returned from a wonderful week staying in Poachers no.11. A perfect setting and very comfortable lodge. Thoroughly enjoyed sitting in the hot tub under the stars as well as being able to watch TV in the jacuzzi bath!!

The lodge was very clean and tidy and the little extra touches made a difference (milk in the fridge for a cup of tea after our long journey, dishwasher tablets, tea towels, towels and dressing gowns etc).

The location was fantastic being 20/25 minutes to York-the park and ride is great value £2.60 return for adults. It was also great for Castle Howard (again about 20 mins away) and Whitby (50 mins). It was ideal as well for Dalby forest which we enjoyed for the mountain biking. The hot tub was certainly welcome on our return to ease our aching muscles!!

There is a fantastic farm shop just East of Pickering but we also found similiar products at Castle Howard- the truffle and garlic stuffed beef burgers are amazing!

We were very sad to leave Griffon park this morning but will be looking forward to returning again in the future!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Our second stay at Griffon Forrest in a Keepers lodge it was so good we stayed a extra night. Best place ever nice walks with 2 dogs and your not to far away from the shopping park. The girls in the shop/office are so helpful can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeJay87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossendale
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed in poachers premier lodge for a week. Our second visit to lodge no.4, we stayed here for our honeymoon 4 years ago and just had to come back for our anniversary. It really is a beautiful place, so relaxing and peaceful. We went prepared to feed the wildlife this time and were visited every day by the squirrels and birds, in the evening the badgers came for their feast (they do like peanut butter on brown bread! )park and ride not far away for a trip into york, only £2.60 each return. The food at Tykes is lovely, and not too expensive. Poachers premier is the ultimate luxury, although you are aware of other lodges near, they are situated so you really do feel secluded. Lovely walks around the forest. The staff are always welcoming and friendly. We just LOVE griffon forest and we will be going back!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ROSSY-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flaxton
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
21.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,447 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#2 of 27 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
11.2 mi away
The KP
The KP
#2 of 6 in Pocklington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
1.0 mi away
Claxton Hall Cottage B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griffon Forest Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffon Forest Lodges

Property: Griffon Forest Lodges
Address: Scotchman Lane, Flaxton YO60 7RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Flaxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Flaxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hideaways in the heart of tranquil woodland, close to York, perfect to relax & unwind! Boasting private hot tubs with every lodge, cosy furnishings and woodland walks from your doorstep. Why not choose a lodge with a four poster bed and a 6ft. circular Jacuzzi bath, for a truly romantic break? Onsite cameras film badgers, birds and many more creatures. Watch the live footage on your TV from the comfort of your lodge!Tucked away in the heart of 100 acres of woodland offering a haven of peace and tranquility to visitors and wildlife alike, Griffon Forest is the perfect luxury hideaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Griffon Forest Hotel Flaxton
Griffon Forest Lodges Flaxton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing