We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (880)
Filter reviews
880 results
Traveller rating
653
154
40
22
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
653
154
40
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub monks cross tykes restaurant sandburn hall keepers lodge bird seed four poster bed dishwasher tablets on arrival park and ride premier lodge relaxing break shop on site decking area sun loungers utility room chocolate biscuits
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 880 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018

My wife and have just returned from a three night stay in one of the Poachers Cabins. First off I must say this trip is exactly what we came for, peace and relaxation. The wildlife at close proximity was brilliant. We fed the birds which included pigeons, grey/blue tits and robins. The squirrels were very entertaining which we also fed "monkey nuts" to. However the best part of the weekend by far were the family of badgers that visited our decking every night whilst we were relaxing in the hot tub. These were fed peanut butter sandwiches. We have some fantastic photos and videos.

However, on the negative side was the general cleanliness and maintenance of the cabin. If you are paying £210 per night you would expect a place of excellence. Sadly it falls way short of even mediocre. The cabin had a damp unpleasant smell to it. The windows were absolutely filthy. The beams high up were disgusting. The radiators are rusting. The hot tub, although self cleaning had awful dirty grease marks around the water level. I'm sad to print these comments, I really am because we love the whole experience of Griffon Forest hence the high score. The owners really need to up their game.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank rodrickcrawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

The lodge was great, set in a perfect secluded location. We really felt like we could relax. The lodge we stayed in was spacious and homely. The hot tub was amazing. Would stay here again and recommend to friends.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank smith360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

This was our 4th visit to Griffon forest we had a lovely week in lodge no7 , the lodge was clean and well equipped, getting a bit care worn now , was disappointed that the hot tub had bits missing and control panel so worn out you can’t read it. Use the park and ride to visit York . Do eat and or drink at tykes it’s a lovely restaurant and the staff are fabulous.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AngusMc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

We have stayed at Griffon Forest many times now and have never been disappointed. This visit was a last minute bank holiday weekend getaway. As it was last minute there was only 'poachers premier' lodge left. We haven't stayed in this type before. The lodge was very spacious however the only shower is in the bedroom area which leaves no privacy whatsoever. The layout of the kitchen was slightly awkward also. Despite this, we still had a very relaxing stay. Will be back again ( have already booked!) But would only book this type of lodge if no other available.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Annie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

We ve stayed in a few lodges now in different locations but have never gone back to any for a second year,,this could be the exception.. We stayed in no3 lodge and had badgers every night for peanut butter sandwiches,,the walks around the site are nice but can get quite bogey so boots or wellies are recommended,we ate at Tykes a couple of times and the food and prices are quite good ..overall the lodges are looking a tad tired but there clean,functional and the setting is great .

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ape254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews