We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointed”

The Dog & Gun Country Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Potto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Dog & Gun Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Potto B&B and Inns
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Having seen this establishment on line and the lovely photos I decided to stay I wish I hadn't the rooms looked lovely however behind the fancy designs is dirt the food is disgusting and so was the staffs attitude when I complained I certainly won't be staying here again and would advise anybody thinking of staying to find somewhere else

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nichola051083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    11
    5
    7
    13
See reviews for
21
27
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My husband has stayed here on business several times, however last night he checked in was handed key and told the door would be locked at midnight. He returned at 10.30 and the front access was locked and couldn't get hold of any one to let him in, we both rang, emailed, facebooked messages, nothing ! He had nothing on him apart from his car keys , he couldn't drive as was over the limit so has just spent a night in his car. Absolutely unacceptable. The staff have just come in and informed him there is a fire escape he could have got in via. He now has a full day of meetings and knackered.How can these people run a business like this. My husband was put up by a company that use this place for a lot of there customers I don't think they will be sending anyone else. !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dawn9434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Potto hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

From arrival to leaving, staff were welcoming friendly and helpful, there are not many places where 5 adults can share a room, and be so comfortable. Evening meal excellent, bar friendly and family orientated, breakfast great and set us up for day, more choice than anyone could have wished for, liked to think the eggs came from the chickens in the garden, thank you for a really good experience, well done. Oh and so well located for visiting Alton Park.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We go to the Dog and Gun frequently and we always get a great welcome with delicious food. We have had a couple of birthday celebrations there and everything has been first class. The food, always good quality, the staff, always friendly and extremely helpful. We always enjoy it there but has been recently been taken over and has gone up a notch, if that is possible. We have just returned from Sunday lunch and they offer 2 or 3 courses, Last time we were there, the main room was set out for a christening with beautiful white table cloths and gorgeous, mauve, cream and pink balloons. Looked stunning. For Sunday lunch this will always be our first choice. There is lots of seating outside if the weather is good, and a pianist playing in the corner of the bar. Perfect.

Room Tip: Haven't stayed over as it close to home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My wife and I(!) were married on 3rd August and held our wedding reception at the D+G. It really was spot on and fulfilled and even exceeded our expectations. The staff were superb - Tom and Harvey making a reassuringly strong team at front of house and in the kitchen, but backed up by a friendly and professional team in all areas. Our tables were set beautifully (with every one of my wife's many instructions being carried out perfectly) and additional touches such as the personalised beer pump label, the red carpet, the piano in the bar... created a memorable and truly individual experience which impressed our guests. The food was brilliantly presented, perfectly cooked and efficiently served. Our party enjoyed exclusive access of the entire venue including the 5 bedrooms. Breakfast - which we took in one of the private dining areas - was also super, so in every way our wedding was a magical experience. Huge thanks to the dog and gun, we look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: We had room number one - the Dog and Gun's largest and most impressive, but our other guests in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickR78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This was our second visit to Potto for Sunday lunch and we loved it. Not only is the food excellent, the service good but the pianist just adds that little extra -making it more of a special occasion. Last Sunday we ate in the garden. It 's a lovely drive there too -not too far.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed for a night on business as was heading up to Middlesbrough and have to say what a great meal and nights sleep. Room very large with all the mod cons and was welcomed on arrival which was great. Evening meal and breakfast was spot on and restaurant staff looked afer superb. Next time I'm up in North east will stay again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathyboy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potto
4.4 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
3.3 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
383 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,044 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rudby Hall
Rudby Hall
#1 of 1 in Hutton Rudby
60 reviews
1.6 mi away
Swan House
Swan House
#7 of 23 in Northallerton
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dog & Gun Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dog & Gun Country Inn

Property: The Dog & Gun Country Inn
Address: 2 Cooper Lane, Potto DL6 3HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Potto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Potto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Dog And Gun Country Inn
The Dog & Gun Country Hotel Potto
The Dog & Gun Country Inn Potto, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing