We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here”

The Dog & Gun Country Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Potto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Dog & Gun Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Potto B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Rooms are very modern and very clean. They have iPod docks and play stations. The bathrooms are done to a high standard. The pub downstairs is great and often has music on. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was fantastic, especially the service from Rita who went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eward89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

I have been here several times. I can recommend that you try it , the food and wine selection are very good. I have a taste card and used that in the past which makes it very reasonable. They sometimes have a band and BBQ in the summer, it is worth the trip and stay in room 1 with the big bath , very very good and great staff.

Room Tip: Ask for the big bath ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Arrived at this small hotel mid week in November for a short break, even though we were early for check in it wasn't a problem we were made to feel welcome and had a couple of drinks in the bar. The room we were shown to was lovely and clean with a very large comfortable bed. We went back down to the bar for lunch (2 very tasty steak sandwiches) which were served to us by the same lady who checked us in, very friendly and polite, nothing seemed too much trouble. we were out for the night so didn't get chance to sample the dinner menu but the breakfast in the morning was really good and served with a smile, this set us up for the day. We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed at the Dog and Gun recently and could not recommend it highly enough. The staff were friendly and approachable, the atmosphere was very welcoming. We enjoyed a lovely meal on the night in the cosy atmosphere of the restaurant, which is decorated to a high standard. The menu is varied and has something to suit everyone. A really comfy nights sleep, the owners have thought of everything, big bed, lovely decoration and a gorgeous en-suite. Overall, a brilliant stay and could not recommend it highly enough!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 1 has a bath in the room....very nice touch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed at the Dog and Gun on 25Th October, When I booked I was informed by the owners that they were having a Rat Pack Music Diner night, we were asked if we still wanted to book and if we did, did we want to join in the party night or have a meal in another part of the restaurant. We decided to join in with the music night. We were glad we did, the food a 3 course meal was excellent and well served by the staff. The music was very good old style Dean Martin/ Frank Sinatra. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with a great bed. The breakfast was excellent and well cooked and we couldn't have been better treated by the staff. Looking forward to the next time.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a large bath and bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biker46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dog_and_Gun_Potto, Manager at The Dog & Gun Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding the Rat Pack tribute night. I am happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your evening and we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Thumping music till the small hours on both nights of our stay made this a hotel from hell. Our party leader had to get dressed at midnight to complain to the management. Unfortunately the same thing happened the following night, this time at 1am. The owner was dragged out of bed because apparently the staff had gone home and left the music blaring. Apologies are just not good enough at that time of the morning. The owners accommodation should be moved over the bar/restaurant where ours was, and see how they like it. Having said that, on arrival we were all very happy with our rooms, there was a huge comfortable bed and nice linen Breakfast was quite good, although could have been better organised to everyone’s benefit, especially the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Graham_R1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Having seen this establishment on line and the lovely photos I decided to stay I wish I hadn't the rooms looked lovely however behind the fancy designs is dirt the food is disgusting and so was the staffs attitude when I complained I certainly won't be staying here again and would advise anybody thinking of staying to find somewhere else

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nichola051083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Dog & Gun Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dog & Gun Country Inn

Address: 2 Cooper Lane, Potto DL6 3HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Potto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Potto
Price Range: £56 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Dog & Gun Country Hotel Potto
The Dog And Gun Country Inn
The Dog & Gun Country Inn Potto, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing