We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Willow Historical Guest House
Ranked #1 of 4 Willowmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

A unique place to stay with great food and service, we love the old but very interesting bar. The staff are very friendly and efficient, always a pleasure to stop in Willowmore!
Would recommend it for families and couples.

Room Tip: All rooms are nicely finished and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asteer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed in Keurfontein our a depandance of the Willow Historical Guest House. it is 18km out of town towards Uniondale just next to the N9. Great place to stay overnight on the way to the coast. Rooms neat, great dinner and breakfast. Molly (the manager extremely friendly/helpful). Good experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikiAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Tucked away in a leafy garden in Willowmore, the Willow Historical Guest House will take your memories back to a time gone by. Use the Willow as a base for exploring the beautiful surrounding Karoo and the Baviaans Kloof. After each day the old house, garden cottages and staff will embrace you with warmth and very good hospitality!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We spent one night in this exceptionally quiet town and loved the ambiance of this guest house.
Our large room was across the street from the main hotel but there was no traffic!
The room was very comfortable and we particularly enjoyed the memorabilia in the bar and the other interesting visitors there, who were unfortunately rushed off when their dinner was ready.
The food and staff were very good but the pool could do with some maintenance

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seventy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We had booked for dinner at lunch-time, immediately after arrival, but had to wait TWO HOURS to be served that night! Yeah, said the waitron a bit snippily when complaining of waiting long, "if only you had ordered the lamb!". Well, sorry folks, not everybody is keen on Karoo lamb!

We only stayed one night, just a stop-over from Baviaanskloof to Swellendam, and found not much to enjoy in the Historical Guesthouse (nor in Willowmore itself, for that matter). The rooms, although quite large, are indeed 'historical' - i.e. a bit dark and dingy - with the oddity of a bathtub INSIDE the bedroom (the adjacent bathroom has a shower), and the window shutters falling to bits. We had a room in the annex, on the main street, which was rather noisy. Not that there's much car-traffic on that road; it's mainly pedestrians, all merrily and loudly chatting away.

To be fair, the breakfast was grand: good and plentiful choices of cold cuts and cheeses, fruit and jam, plus the usual cooked breakfast selection with white or brown bread. Should one choose a hotel on the basis of their breakfasts?!! Your decision ...

Room Tip: maybe the inner-courtyard rooms are better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cataractophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willowmore, General Manager at The Willow Historical Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for your review. I can see you are well travelled. Apart from breakfast it is a pitty that you could not find anything enjoyable about our Guest House or our beautiful clean town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

What an absolute pleasure to find such incredible hospitality. The staff were friendly, helpful and competent. The breakfast was simply stunning and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The main house has very interesting decor and the historical photos are amazing.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank BarryHgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willowmore, General Manager at The Willow Historical Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure accommodating you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Very good customer service. Nice clean big room, good airco and soft bed. Lovely pool and the food was amazing! Try the Karoo lamb! We would def come back if we are in the neighbourhood. Thank you very mucy!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kilian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willowmore, General Manager at The Willow Historical Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure accommodating you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willowmore hotels
0.1 mi away
Keurfontein Country House
Keurfontein Country House
#3 of 4 in Willowmore
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Jail
The Old Jail
#2 of 4 in Willowmore
81 reviews
5.1 mi away
Zandibela Private Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willow Historical Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willow Historical Guest House

Address: 70 Wehmeyer Street, Willowmore 6445, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Willowmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Willowmore
Price Range: £51 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Willow Historical Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an important piece of South African History in this historic building with Victorian Furniture, old world charm and unsurpassed hospitality.Garden and self-catering cottages are all en-suite. Drinks are served in the Old bar or garden. An a la carte restaurant is available for lunch and dinner. Experience Karoo lamb like you have never tasted before.The guest house is situated in a quite part of Willowmore, just minutes from the N9.Activities include a beautiful self-drive or guided tour through the Baviaans Kloof (World Heritage site), a visit to the Old Power Station, Old Boer Graveyard and Gunpowder Chamber, Jewish Graves, Pierre Ferreira Hiking Trail and a tour through Willowmore on the Willow Limo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Willow Historical Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing