We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of extra charges!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Leonard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Appart'hotel Le Canville
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beware of extra charges!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had received a luxury gift voucher, which we could use for a 2 night stay for 2 persons in a stylish B&B in France.

When we contacted Le Canville to make a reservation, we asked them if it would be possible to provide an extra bed, so that our 3 year old son could come with us.

That was no problem, but the extra price they wanted to charge us for this, was totally out of the top!
We checked the difference in price on their site between a 2 person apartment and a 3 person apartment, and the extra price they wanted to charge us was a multiple of this difference!!

Taken into account that in our case the 3rd person wasn't even an adult but a small child, we felt ripped off even before going there. We don't mind paying extra to be able to take our son along, but this price was ridiculous.
So we kindly asked them if they perhaps had made a mistake in the extra price they communicated to us, but they never reacted to our mails and reminders. So far for being hospitable and client friendly...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My hubby, 9 month old baby and I stayed at Le Canville recently. We booked a 2 bed apartment. One room faced the lovely garden, and the other had a view of the nearby church (no church bells to report at the time of stay).

Our host was a lovely lady who made sure we had everything that we needed for a comfortable stay. The apartment was well equipped, though Madame told us that if we needed anything, to just ask her.

The garden is well maintained and absolutely beautiful. The supermarket and baker are just a short drive away (the baker does the best baguettes!) There is an indoor pool which which we didn't use, but seemed popular with the other guests.

We had a really wonderful stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsocon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Nice Apart'hotel near Boulogne Sur Mer.
We slept in room N° 02, nice little cosy room on two levels.
We had everything we needed for 2 persons with little baby.
The friendly owners are welcoming you, quick check-in without paperwork...
They have a nice courtyard+garden+swimming-pool.
The area was very calm, so take your car...
You can make nice trips to Boulogne Sur Mer, coastline, ....
Only disadvantage is the kitchen equipment, so when you plan to cook a lot, take your own things.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingesven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed there for two nights and couldn't fault anything. The accomodation, the care and friendliness of the owners, the facilities and the really great in house breakfast. A haven of peace close to Boulogne.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fanoexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

This set of apartments arranged around a pretty courtyard is 5 mins from the centre of Boulogne and about 30 mins drive from Calais. It's a converted farm on a hillside, with duckponds and lots of gardens around it. The heated indoor pool is lovely too. Our apartment was well equipped and simply furnished. The local bakery in the village is a 2 minute drive and sells brilliant local pastries as well as the usual croissants etc. The perfect spot for a relaxing few days a stone's throw from the UK.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDrLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Leonard
2.8 mi away
Opal'Inn
Opal'Inn
#1 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
326 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 5 in Wimereux
591 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel  La Matelote
Hotel La Matelote
#2 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
606 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#2 of 3 in Neufchatel-Hardelot
483 reviews
3.7 mi away
hotelF1 Boulogne sur Mer
hotelF1 Boulogne sur Mer
#11 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appart'hotel Le Canville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appart'hotel Le Canville

Property: Appart'hotel Le Canville
Address: 3 rue de l Eglise, 62360 Saint-Leonard, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Saint-Leonard
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Saint-Leonard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Canville proposes you 8 high standard apartments from 50 to 100m². Each one of them proposes beyond what you can expect from a hotel, a personalized decor in a harmonious and picturesque whole of a Northern French farm.Here, comfort comes with relaxation. We invite you to take advantage of the covered and heated 40 m² swimming pool.Boulogne-sur-Mer and its districts offer many cultural animations: its castle museum and crypt, its fortified walls, the city belfry, the National Sea Centre etc. You can also relax practicing many sports, like golf, tennis, sand-yacht or horse-riding.Between town and countryside, you will surely find a refreshing and revitalising atmosphere, ideal for your trips on the Opal Coast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing