We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“out first b and b experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fingle Bridge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Wool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2011

all in all the room was really good with everything you could think of there! right down to a dvd player and microwave. took us a while to feel totally comfortable but on the second day we felt more at ease, breakfast was adequate, the home made bread was lovely, at the end of the day it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornishpastypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2011

This is a really comfortable B&B with good quality furnishings and bed linen in a quiet location just 30 minutes from Weymouth and near Lulworth Cove. The beautifully designed garden complete with ducks and chickens is an amazing surprise and makes this a relaxing stop for one night or a week. Breakfast was of a high quality with many home made touches and the hosts were really welcoming. So book - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krishna050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed for one night prior to hiking along the South West Coastal Path. Liz and Colin were welcoming hosts. Our double room was very spacious with extra beds, facilities for cooking & a huge bathroom.

Breakfast is downstairs with a view of their large back garden & quaint brook alongside the house. Ducks & pheasants wander around the grounds. There seems to be a real interest in ducks with many 'ducks' making an appearance at breakfast - from the salt & pepper shakers to the napkin holders.

Breakfast is cooked to order and is your usual breakfast fare. Liz's homemade jams are provided & also available to buy.

It's also worth mentioning the Black Bear pub, which is just down the road. We had an enjoyable evening with some lively locals & the landlady was very welcoming. Good food & range of ciders & ales.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FushNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed two nights, and were warmly welcomed as soon as we arrived. Our double bedroom was spatious, comfortable, clean, well-equipped (tea/coffee facilites, fridge and tv/DVD). It also had a beautiful countryside view. Liz and Collin were very friendly, and helpful in advising us about our trip and informing us about the area.

Lovely breakfast was provided, with a wide choice of food, including homemade jam - delicious! We would recommend this place to anyone. Thanks Liz and Collin!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daluis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed at Fingle Bridge for one night last weekend and had a great time. This place is close to a store and a great pub but far enough to be very very quiet for you to sleep well! When we arrived Liz showed us to the room which was very spacious, had a TV and a sizeable bathroom. Liz was very friendly and told us all about the town, where to eat etc. In the morning the breakfast was very tasty - with the view over the duck pond and little ducks peaking in whilst we ate. We chatted with Liz and really really enjoy her preserves - you should really not miss the blackberry jam and rhubarb chutney!! We brought a couple of those home and are sad to report that they were gone very fast :-) So whether you are in Wool for Monkey World or Bovington Tank museum we can really recommend Liz's B&B!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Liz and Colin made us very welcome in their lovely home and on the first morning we had the full guided tour of their lovely garden, complete with stream and ducks. No better place to enjoy that afternoon cup of tea than by the stream after a day exploring beautiful Dorset. Only meant to stay while visiting Monkey World, which is only 5 minutes drive away, but stayed longer as Liz's breakfast was the clincher. Great ensuite room complete with TV, DVD Player and many discs, Microwave and Fridge. The property is located just 5 minutes walk from the Black Bear Inn where we enjoyed our evening meals. When visiting Dorset again we will be giving Liz and Colin a ring.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricialynncook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We found Fingle Bridge B&B listed on a "link" from Monkey World website and were impressed with the excellent reviews posted. I was almost put off when I typed the post-code into Google Earth "Street View" - the property that comes up (a red-brick semi) IS NOT Fingle Bridge. The B&B is up a gated lane in an westerly direction on the 90 degree bend in Duck Rd and isn't visible from Street View. Fingle Bridge B&B is a gorgeous, detached property with lovely grounds and a stream running through the garden - you can watch the antics of the ducks on this stream from the patio outside the breakfast room. Liz & Colin (owners) were really friendly, we felt "at home" there immediately. They're really knowledgeable about the area and sat & chatted with us about the local attractions etc. Liz makes her own bread, jams and chutneys and the chickens ensure a ready supply of fresh eggs for breakfast!. We stayed in the "family" room - it was huge and really quiet too! I was amazed at the facilities - far superior to the "usual" content of a B&B room. Really comfy king sized bed (foam mattress), large flat-screen tv & dvd player, lovely modern en-suite, a proper fridge with a jug of fresh milk in it, tea/coffe making facilities, microwave, water cooler, two full-sized recliner armchairs, table/crockery/cutlery etc to sit 4 people There's even a cork-screw!!! Most B&Bs ban food in the rooms - Liz and Colin understand that eating out can be expensive these days for families and so make it possible to have a ready-meal or feed the kids in the room. For those wishing to explore the local night-life .... there's a pub about 5 mins walk away (Black Bear) - lovely menu / nice atmosphere. We also found a chip-shop tucked away in a row of retail units opposite the garage next to the level crossing. The village of Wool is tiny and very pretty - the stream meanders through the village and runs along the front of many properties in Spring Gdns - reminded me of Bourton-on-the- Water in Glos.
There's lots to do / see in the area - Liz & Colin make OS maps / info sheets available to guests so we could plan our trips in advance. I highly recommend this B&B - you won't be disappointed. Thank you, Liz and Colin, for your hospitality and warmth. We'll definitely be back next time we visit Monkey World.

Room Tip: Really close to Monkey World
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayneK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wool
4.7 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
11.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
4.8 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
383 reviews
3.8 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
473 reviews
0.5 mi away
Frome Dale
Frome Dale
#2 of 5 in Wool
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fingle Bridge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fingle Bridge Bed and Breakfast

Address: Fingle Bridge Duck Street | Wool, Wool BH20 6DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wool
Price Range: £32 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fingle Bridge is a detached house set in a 1/2acre plot on the edge of the village of Wool. It's location on a private drive with ample off-road parking provides a peaceful setting for you to enjoy our large garden. There are chickens in the orchard and ducks on the stream which borders the garden.We have 2 rooms available. Bedroom 1 is a large family room with a super-king double bed,2 full size singles and 2 reclining chairs to relax in after a busy day sightseeing. There is also a table and 2 dining chairs.Bedroom 2 has a super-king double (which can be divided to provide twin accommodation). This room also has a small table & 2 dining chairsBoth rooms are en-suite with full size bathrooms and equipped with a free-view TV with DVD player, a hairdryer. a small fridge containing chilled water and fresh milk, and a microwave should you wish to eat in.There is a seating area on the landing equipped with brochures, local guides and maps, and books for your enjoyment.Free wifi is available.Breakfast is served in our dining room which has patio doors on to the stream-side terrace.We serve a range of cereals, a full English breakfast and homemade bread, jams and marmalade, tea and coffee.There are 2 local pubs offering evening meals both within walking distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fingle Bridge Bed And Breakfast Wool, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing