We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely feel with great hospitality”
Review of East Burton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
East Burton House
Ranked #5 of 5 Wool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights as a couple in a double room. The cost was £85 per room with breakfast. When we first arrived the gate was closed but a note on the gate explained that the gate had to be closed at all times due to chickens being kept in the garden. Our first impression was what a lovely building it was. The front door leads into a large reception hall. This has lots of leaflets on attractions in the local area. There are also sofas if you wish to sit somewhere other than your room. We were greater with a warm welcome and shown to our room. We were in room 1 overlooking the rear garden. The room was a good size with a small table and chairs, plenty of drawer storage and a small corner hanging rail as opposed to a wardrobe. There were plenty of tea bags, coffee, hot chocolate etc, as well as biscuits and a small bottle of mineral water. They were replenished daily. The bathroom was large with a separate bath and corner shower. The shower was fairly small, although not a problem for us, it may be a bit of a tight squeeze for people of a larger stature. I feel the bathroom would benefit from a little bit of an update. The blackout roller blind was quite stained but needed as people in the garden have a good view of the large window. The towels are changed every other day but its not that easy to dry them as the radiator is under the window and difficult to put towels over it. This room would benefit from a heated towel rail. Overall the room was clean and comfortable. The garden is quite large and there are chickens and cockerels roaming around although in a fenced off area. If you want to sleep in, then this could prove difficult with the cockerels, although this wasn't a problem for us. We overlooked a small area used to dry the washing. Fine in itself but it appeared to be a bit of a dumping ground for unwanted items. It could do with a bit of a tidy up as it did spoil otherwise a nice view. The owners explained that they are in the process of sprucing up the garden, particularly after all the bad weather. The breakfast room overlooks the front garden. It's a nice sunny room and a couple of days we were fortunate to sit in the bay window. Breakfast was delicious. A choice of cereals, dried fruits, fresh fruit and a full English breakfast with toast jam and marmalade. Plenty of tea, coffee and fresh orange juice on offer too. Breakfast is served between 8 & 9 am. there are choices such as smoked salmon and scrambled egg but this requires 24 hours notice. Although they don't serve dinner, there are a few pubs in walking distance. The Severn Stars is a 5 minute walk away and is a good family pub with plenty of choice and you won't leave hungry! The owners are friendly, make conversation but not watching over you all the time. They're happy for you to cone and go as you please. We were advised on places to visit and made to feel very welcome. I think with a few updates and the garden finished, it could be really special. These are only minor criticisms I may add and I do feel it's value for money and I would certainly return. If you're looking for a traditional B & B, a warm welcome, great food, easy access to the coast, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

The cracking breakfast was accompanied by fresh orange juice - not the hideous sickly sweet pasteurised to oblivion bilge that hotels think passes for 'fresh'. What a start to the day. My room was very comfortable and had a lovely selection of tea/coffee + chocolate drinks etc. Ample parking and a very friendly & open atmosphere at this B&B.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

we stayed at east Burton house as my son wanted to go to monkey world for his birthday and not being local needed somewhere to stay! This place offered everything we needed, Shaun and Denise are very friendly and made us feel welcome straight away! The rooms were lovely,very comfortable and clean! Felt very homely and was lovely to get back after a busy day to find our rooms had been tidied which we didn't expect! Breakfast was lovely and very tasty! And a lovely restaurant with just a nice staff in there down the road! Overall . Would say this is a lovely family friendly B&B that I wouldn't hesitate to come back to :) t

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joelaurabt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

East Burton House is a lovely place to stay. Very well situated for a multitude of Dorset attractions, and run by very friendly people. The breakfasts were superb, and as a vegetarian, I was VERY well catered for. The rooms were a good size, very comfortable and had en-suite facilities. There are a good number of local pubs and restaurants for evening meals, and the location is very close to Swanage, Corfe Castle, Durdle Door and Lulworth Cove. Dorchester is not too far away, and there are a good number of local National Trust attractions. This was our first holiday away in several years, and I do not think we could have chosen anywhere better suited to our needs. Looking forward to our next visit very much, and we will not hesitate to use this B&B next time..

Room Tip: We had Room 3, which had plenty of storage space, a king sized bed and a very good en'suite show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterH0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at East Burton House for three days in August what a great place the owners can not do enough for you the position of the house is excellent for getting around dorset snd the breakfast is great there is a pub a couple of minutes walk down the lane called the seven stars if you like good food and plenty of it this is the place for you we will definitely be going back to East Burton House again and would recommend it to everyone

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Fantastic B&B, very friendly staff and one of the best hotel breakfasts we've ever had. It's in a very convenient location - only 10 mins drive to the beautiful coast line and also within easy reach of other tourist attractions such as Corfe Castle. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmtrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed here just before the start of Camp Bestival. I was performing as part of the festival and chose to spend the rest of the weekend with members of my group. I wished I had remained at East Burton House throughout the weekend, rather than camping for the next 2 days. Comfortable and clean room and lovely and hospitable hosts. Homemade marmalade and toast with my breakfast, simply divine. I definately plan to come back again, but stay for longer this time. No qualms recommending this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wool
5.7 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
383 reviews
4.0 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
473 reviews
5.5 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bere Regis
134 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Frome Dale
Frome Dale
#2 of 5 in Wool
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Burton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Burton House

Address: East Burton House East Burton Road, Wool BH20 6HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wool
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wool
Hotel Class:4 star — East Burton House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Burton House is ideally situated within almost 1 acre of gardens in a rural location less than 3/4 mile from the picturesque village of Wool. Wool is a beautiful village situated in the of the Isle of Purbeck on the south coast of Dorset. We are situated in the heart of Thomas Hardy country, Lawrence of Arabia's grave & cottage, Monkey World and Bovington tank museum are just five minutes drive. The sandy beaches of Weymouth, Swanage and Studland, the world heritage Jurassic coast line, Corfe Castle and the Purbeck Hills offering beautiful walks through some of the finest countryside in southern England are all within a short distance of East Burton House. These are just a few of the many attractions and things to do that are located close by. We are a non-smoking establishment and offer excellent accommodation with ample off road parking facilities. Whether you stay on business or pleasure, we are sure you will enjoy your stay with us. There are 3 local public houses within walking distance offering excellent lunch time and evening meals. Children welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your East Burton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Burton House Wool, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing