We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely site”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whitemead Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely site”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed here for a short break in glorious weather and had a most enjoyable time. The site is in a good location for exploring the surrounding area. We caught the train to Wareham and had fun on the river, messing about in boats and also thoroughly enjoyed a day at the Great Dorset Steam Fair. A great find was Tyneham village, well worth a visit.
Our pitches were well situated and with easy access to the shower block. The shower rooms were immaculate, the only downside being the lack of water pressure. It really was quite difficult to rinse your hair properly! There was plenty of space for the children to play without disturbing others and the playground was a great hit with them.
The site was kept very clean and tidy, with regular emptying of bins by the cheery staff who were very welcoming and helpful.
We didn't use the games room as the weather was glorious, but it would be a great bonus in wet weather.
There is some noise from the trains, but as they don't run late at night, this was not a problem.
All in all, a very nice site that I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memberiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    33
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
43
43
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Used this site for a long weekend break.A really good location with lots to do close by,more than can be done in one visit,so probably be returning to explore some more.Very nice site,reasonable charges and modern clean facilities.Railway station,bus stops,two pubs and shops in the village,everything you need.A 45 minute walk to Bovington Tank Museum,5 miles from Lulworth Cove.The only criticism was the onsite showers.No water pressure,a very fine spray,felt like you were being misted like you would a house plant.My wife wouldn't wash her hair because she wasn't confident she could rinse out the shampoo.I was amazed that you could get a shower with half a cup of water although I linger a bit longer than most so probably used a full cup.You get the idea.Apart from this everything good.Would have given 5 stars if showers were OK.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stotfold, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We have stayed here a few times and have just come back from a camping weekend. The staff are really welcoming and friendly. Our pitch was in a great location and lovely and quiet, the toilets and shower facilities are really clean and tidy. We were able to connect to free Wi-Fi and also make use of the games room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I came back from Whitemead on the 3rd August after spending 7 nights there.
Overall I enjoyed the stay. As other people have said there are loads of things to do in the area but if I went again I would avoid Monkey world. There seems to be a lack of monkeys and its not cheap but the job they do is invaluable in trying to protect the primates. If you've not been to the area before then an afternoon around the old harbour in Weymouth is a must do.Some lovely bars to sit in and watch the world pass by.The other must do is a trip to poole harbour the home of Sunseeker yachts. Put it this way if you win the lottery on Saturday night you still wouldn't be able to buy one.If you want to spend a lovely couple of hours and don't want to break the bank go and have a coffee at the local gliding club . I have genuinely never been made more welcome anywhere in my life. We sat right next to the tow plane on take off and my nephew got to sit in a glider. Anyway back to the site. Yes it's clean and tidy. Yes the trains make a noise but from my experience of camping you tend to get up early and go to bed at around 23.00 so they didn't bother me or the group I was part of. Infact if you want to go to Weymouth or Bournemouth it's the easiest way to travel and only cost us about £4.00 each and kids go for £1 return. The biggest down side was the group of thoughtless morons who camped behind us. I'm not a kill joy but playing a guitar and a mouth organ with a group of people singing until after midnight is not fair to other people who are camping. Yes the owner regularly travels around the site on his bike but he should be around later in the evening to have a word if things are still noisy. Pick your pitches carefully. We had 108 and 109 they're about a 30 second walk to the shower block and the pitches are nice and roomy. If you get the pitches past the showers it looks like your camping in someone's back garden. Last piece of advise try eating at the ship inn. It's not the cheapest pub in the world but its very nice and if you go to reception you get a voucher for a bottle of wine with every two main meals. The site owner forgot to mention this to us.
Would I return to the site ? Yes.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halsteren, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We spent about a week on this beatifull campsite near the Tank museum.
Lovely people, good service and very, very wel maintained and cleaned toilets and showers.
There,s tons of things to do in the area and we also liked Wool a lot, specially the Black Bear.
The trains and sometimes the tanks exercising can be heard but the noise never went on at night.
The owner is very helpfull and did regular inspection rounds to check everything is ok. During our stay there was a problem with the hot water pressure but as soon as this was detected people were personally informed and the repair was done immidiatly.
Very wel done! We,ll definitly will come back one day,
Rob and Iris from The Netherlands

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobPlas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights recently. Was a lovely, well kept campsite, very clean, hot showers. Nice little playground for children, easy to access everything on site. Owners are quite often around to ask questions and have a chat. Would defiantly go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just spent 6 nights camping at Whitemead and was very impressed with the site. On arrival we were shown to our pitch and it was a very good size. The showers were very clean and the shop had a good selection. It is very close to local shops and pubs including chinese and fish and chip shop. We took our dog and it was ideal for walking with plenty of fields close to the site. It is quite close to the train station but you soon get use to them. We would definately be booking to go next year.

Room Tip: middle field got the sun later in the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wool
5.2 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
8.2 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bere Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
8.7 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.0 mi away
Frome Dale
Frome Dale
#2 of 5 in Wool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitemead Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitemead Caravan Park

Property: Whitemead Caravan Park
Address: East Burton Road, Wool BH20 6HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Wool
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitemead Caravan Park 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Also Known As:
Whitemead Caravan Park Wool, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing