We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed my stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jubilee Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jubilee Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Bath B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed my stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I was cycle touring Amherst Island for a week and this place was ideal for getting to and from the ferry as it was on the cliff overlooking the dock and literally a few minute ride coasting down the hill to the ferry. The hosts were welcoming and and if you like kids their son soon became your best buddy. The room was clean and the bed comfortable and the breakfast although it might not have been up to everyone's taste was fine with a variety of cereals and breads.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank DavidHustler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    6
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
4
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed because I have friends in Bath. This B & B is said to be "dog friendly" but in fact the dog was barely tolerated. I had never stayed in a B & B and was shocked when it was time for breakfast. The food consisted of cold cereal and stale buns or muffins. Kitchen closed immediately and if another cup of coffee was wanted it was said help yourself and wash up. The owners were in such a hurry to get to work that there was no consideration given for the guest. I was the only guest at that time. I have been assured by friends that this is not the norm for a B & B it is the exception. The owners purport to be devout Christians and this is an extremely Christian household but they let their guests go hungry and are barely civil. I did not want to be entertained, just to be treated courteously and receive value for my money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richassefras, Owner at Jubilee Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
We have no record of your stay with us. These comments were made a year after the alleged visit. However, we do love our dog and our kitchen is open from 6:30 AM until 9:00 AM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were attending a wedding on Amhurst Island which is why we chose this B&B. We were told that 9 o'clock was last call for breakfast with no exceptions-- which was a bit off-putting. But I guess you have to have a cut off. In the VERY early morning, we were awoken by the owner's rambunctious 5 or 6 year old -- he's just a kid having fun, but it's just not the kind of environment you're looking for when staying at a B&B, you know? I feel like maybe you would maybe tell him to play outside, or at least keep it down?

So we dragged ourselves out of bed since there was no getting any sleep-- it was slim pickings for breakfast. Cereal and a few pastries and MICROWAVED eggs. That seemed odd. Since we were at a wedding the night before, we were pretty hung over, so the kid being loud and in your face through breakfast wasn't ideal. Other B&Bs that we have stayed at provide epic breakfasts and try and cater to the needs of the people staying there. I would say this B&B expects you to adapt to them.

If you're looking for a romantic get-away, or quiet B&B, I wouldn't recommend this place. If you're looking for a very short walk to the Amhurst island ferry, and sleep or food aren't important, then this place works! Also, this doesn't have anything to do with our stay, but I felt really bad for the horse. The pen was quite small and it was mid-shin high with manure :(

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alicia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richassefras, Owner at Jubilee Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
I find it odd when someone comes to our home, and they feel that sitting with my family for breakfast with a hangover is acceptable. Other B & B's we network with also wonder why these people choose them over a motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

This paradise on the outside was paradoxically disappointing on the inside. Situated in the inviting, rugged Eastern Ontario countryside in Millhaven, with trails and a waterfall onsite, this small family (including a darling 5 yr. old and horse!) welcomed us warmly. However, light sleepers beware; there's little interior insulation; one can hear all waterworks - from the two unclean bathrooms servicing four bedrooms. We stayed in two rooms over two nights. The second one was unclean but more private. Requests for standard items (such as a yoghurt which I skipped at breakfast - to go - and an iron) were met with 'no' or not followed up. Will not be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dorothy024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

It took us a while to write this review, because we are very busy, but since we've seen Richard G's review, we feel obliged to respond.
We've stayed at Jubilee B&B twice, on July - first time, and were so impressed, and came back again on September. Certainly, both times were absolutely wonderful. We are not as experienced as Richard G, we have been travelling all over Europe and North America only for 10 years, and always stay at B&Bs, but we can assure you that Jubilee was our trouvaille.
The location is really superb: while being on the road, it is extremely quiet and secluded. The road is neither seen nor heard because of landscape features. The house is on the cliff with the spectacular front view onto St Laurent river, and with the fairy tales' forest at the back side. There is a whispering creek with small falls in a couple-minute walking distance along a fresh fragrant forest.
The house is outstanding, cozy, very clean and well kept. We tried all four guest rooms, that are very stylish, comfortable with all what you really need. You'll find welcome treat and snacks waiting for you on each bed. The night sleep is absolutely fabulous, forest scented, with gentle birdsong. In the evening you can have a seat on the terrace with a bottle of wine, have a look on the river and enjoy life and the ambiance.
The hosts, Jackie and Richard are very nice and hospitable people. Almost all their house, including balconies and a living room with a fireplace and books are at your service. They are respectful, but they provide you with absolute freedom and independence. They do not interfere and let you have a rest at your own way. But if you need something - they are very helpful and friendly.
The true godsend is Jackie's meals. You will never forget it. The True Canadian Dinner is absolutely masterpiece. You get high level restaurant food for very reasonable price. Every breakfast will satisfy and delight the most demanding connoisseur.
And the last delightful touch is Josef, their extremely nice and sweet son. Come and see!

We extremely thankful to Jackie and Richard for amazing, outstanding stay and strongly recommend their place to everyone.

Elena and Alexander

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richassefras, Owner at Jubilee Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
It is our greatest reward when our guests experience to the fullest what we have to offer while visiting our home, our property this area and our family. Our son has grow up knowing the kindness of our guests and we are truly grateful for your company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

We have stayed there on 2 different occasions and both met our expectations. The house is situated on top of a limestone hill therefore providing a spectacular view of the lake. It is opposite the ferry that takes you to Amherst Island, which has room for many cars but if you go by foot it is free. Bath is just outside of Kingston so the location is so peaceful. It has a horse onsite to ride the trails that the property provides, plus it has beautiful falls as well.
Our first visit we stayed on the side with the lake view, but the bonus is that it opens out to a very large deck that wraps around to the great room. We sat outside and enjoyed the sun on that visit. The second time we were on the other side and it had a view of the forest behind the property, still quite picturesque, especially with all the wild birds such as blue jays and cardinals in them.
Across from the property is a barn for their dog to stay in overnight to guard the 3 hens that provide fresh eggs for the breakfast. The hens are quite friendly and will come out to see you if you venture over to them (in hope of food, I am sure!).
The owners Richard and Jackie are super friendly and full of knowledge about the area, just be weary of their little boy who's 4! He's super affectionate and friendly, but to a point...He will be demanding at times since he is desperate for a playmate. My wish was that someone would tell the parents to tell him to perhaps not "disturb the guests", instead of allowing him to ask for food off of their plates. I love kids but when I go away on a getaway, I leave my kids at home for a reason....;).
We enjoyed the walk around the property and noticed that they had quite a few cottages for rent on the property as well. The rooms were very clean, the washroom was as well, and the breakfast was superb. Great variety of hot and cold foods.
Overall, it was a fun trip again and would recommend this b&b to anyone who is wanting to visit Kingston or it's surrounding area. We took the 33 so that we could pop into the local vineyards,plus it's a very scenic route, great for bicyclists and motorcyclists.
NOTE: They do get up early (6:30) on a Sunday for church, so you will hear them above your heads unless you are a very sound sleeper.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the balcony in order to enjoy the view of the lake and the sky at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

I have been going to Bed and Breakfast accomodations
in North America and Europe for over forty years.
I have never been treated with such disrespect as
my recent stay (Aug 25th) at the Jubilee B&B in Millhaven, Ontario.
We were with and couple of good friehds.
We were attending a wedding in Bath, so it was convenient.

Sunday morning all we could hear was kids running around and
making noise on our floor, and all our friends heard was the
same above their heads.
It finally stopped when the guests left with their kids
at about 09:00.
Where is the respect for the other guests ?

We were told the previous day that the owners wanted to
get breakfast over by 08:30 or 09:00 so they could
attend mass.

I tried to take a shower on our floor but it wasn't
working, so I went down to the first floor to take one.

After my shower I walked into the kitchen at 09:05 and was
told the kitchen was closed. I was not looking for a full
breakfast, just something to put in my stomach, as I
am on heart medication. I had to practically beg the
wife to let me have a stale cinnamon bun. I think
if you are running a business the guests should
be given some leaway. Perhaps just leave some buns out
for late rising guests. This requires no work on the part
of the owners.
After all wouldn't that be the Christian thing to do ?

When you are running a B&B it is all about the guests,
not about you. If you cannot, or will not, supply some
sort of basic nourishment in the morning for your guests,
then I suggest that you either get out of the B&B business,
or at the very least change your name to the
Jubilee Bed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richassefras, Owner at Jubilee Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
We have to admit that recovering from a hangover may impair a guests ability to enjoy our home and our lifestyle. As there were other guests in our home that night noisy late arrivals and purging through the night surely made their stay uncomfortable. We hope this never happens again. I apologize for this late response but I only recently discovered this listing, which we did not create, on trip advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bath
10.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Napanee-Ontario
12.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Green Acres Inn
Green Acres Inn
#5 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
13.1 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
11.4 mi away
Fox Motor Inn
Fox Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Napanee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jubilee Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jubilee Bed & Breakfast

Property: Jubilee Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5603 Bath Road, Bath, Ontario K0H 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Lennox and Addington County > Bath
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Jubilee Bed & Breakfast Bath, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing