We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chidenguele
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Beach Resort
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

After a couple of disappointing experiences in Mozambique this place was great. Each camp site has its own bathroom, the place is clean and the staff friendly.
There's a pool with a deck overlooking the sea which was great to relax on.
Really recommend this place

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SMWelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We spent one night camping at Sunset Beach Resort, but we would have happily spent a week! It cost 100 Rand per person per night or 330 mzn per person per night to camp. Each campsite had a personal ablution block with a shower, toilet, sink and hot and cold water and a power point!
The beach views are stunning and there is a bar and restaurant on the upper deck with beautiful views. It is like a mini paradise in the middle of nowhere, we only stumbled upon it because it came as a recommendation from the the last place we stayed. We are so glad we stopped by!

Room Tip: If you do take a 4x4 down to the beach, make sure you let air out of your tyres before attempting to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlust119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I have been wanting to visit Mozambique for quite a while now and decided to take a quick 5-day trip last week. We decided on Sunset Beach Lodge due to the fact that one does not require a 4x4 vehicle to get there (you will need it if you want to explore the area a bit, though...). A big thank you to all the staff for making us feel at home, being extremely helpful and serving us the most delicious meals! Will highly recommend the 'Baracca' camping accommodation - quite private and we appreciated the roof cover in both the heat and rain. Hoping to go there again soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElsabeVdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at this place two times on our recent trip to Mozambique as an overnight break on our travels up north and back down south.
They have a very good and clean campsite with private ablutions. We had our dinner and breakfast in the restaurant with a great view over the ocean (whale season!). They have a swimmingpool with oceanview as well. The service and food is personal and good, especially the curries!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Femmiline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed at Sunset Beach Lodge for a week in July 2013. The facilities where the best in the area, well equipped, clean - excellent. The staff were helpful, friendly and willing to go the extra mile to make sure that your every need was taken care of. The Restaurant was top class with wonderful food, great menu to order from and the service of the waiters were friendly, helpful and fast. The barmen also were well trained and friendly! The casa where I stayed was neat, clean, well maintained and had a great sea view. My overall experience - awesome! Would recommend this lodge to anyone looking for a great place to stay with warm and friendly people making your holiday even more relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene_Krause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We randomly picked this campsite whilst we were traveling north through Mozambique in December 2012. We weren't sure what we were getting ourselves into when we started driving through the sand to the camp but when we got there we knew we had made the right choice.

The staff were very friendly and showed us to our camp. We were surprised to find each site had it's own little "hut" with a private bathroom/electricity points etc. Was quite nice, definitely a rare luxury in Africa. The camps are setup on soft sand so you will definitely need a 4x4, as the place was full we had to take the last spot which was a little tricky to get our vehicle into but we managed in the end.

They also have an onsite bar with a restaurant which overlooks a pool and a vast beach which stretches as far as the eye can see. Was absolutely amazing at sunset to have a beer and talk about the day on that deck. We didn't have a meal there but did try breakfast one morning which we found to be reasonable.

We only spent one night, I'd probably stay longer next time as there is plenty to do including exploring the local villages (which we did but it was late at night and we were hunting for a guitar..) and fishing. Check it out!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djkillerlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Me and my wife love to go on travelling and we reject the rooms. We decided long time ago that Camping is a nice, good, and affordable way of getting nice accomodation. SunSet Beach Resort, at Chidenguele, Mozambique, is by far the best place we have been. Private toilet, own barbacue set, and kitchen area. The place is all in shade and the floor is sand, so it is very nice for campers with basic equipment.
The restaurant is not so good, but as you have your barbacue and electricity you can provide and store food for some (2-3) days.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mozambique247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Property: Sunset Beach Resort
Address: Chidenguele, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Chidenguele
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Chidenguele
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Resort Mozambique/Chidenguele

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing