We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by staffing”
Review of The Hind's Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hind's Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Aldermaston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed here for one night whist attending a wedding at Wasing Park. Upon arrival we were checked in by a very harrassed lady who informed us that our room wasn't ready (we were early) but we were able leave our bags in the room. There were a team of 3 people cleaning rooms at a frantic pace and it appeared just this one lady manning check in and the bar.

We returned after the wedding at 11.30pm and decided to grab a night cap to take back to our room (which I have to say was very clean and comfortable) but we were informed by the same lady who had checked us in that the bar was now closed. The paperwork in the rooms state the bar is available to guests until midnight and there were people still sitting in the main bar finishing their drinks. After informing us it was closed she turned her back on us and went and stood at the entrance to smoke, we politely pointed out that the paperwork stated the bar was available until midnight and she replied 'I can shut the bar whenever I like and its shut now'. I have to say we were disappointed and felt that she was being difficult. Whilst empathising that she had probably had a long day and had had enough of guests demands we felt that the hotel should of had more staff working if the result of just having this one person is rudeness to paying guests.

The next morning at breakfast it was again the same lady manning check out and taking breakfast orders and running the dining room. Breakfast was lovely and fairly prompt considering how busy it was, no complaints there.

The room was very comfortable and overall the hotel had a nice feel about it but we felt that it was understaffed and the only member of staff that was available was totally overworked and rude as a result. What a shame, don't think we'd return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rosie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2011

When I read some of the other reports I had some trepidation about visiting the Hinds Head. But I need not have worried, we had an excellent stay. The room (12) was very quiet, although it was right next to the road. It was also very clean, and the shower was excellent. The menu was wide ranging, and while it is true some of our party had to wait a short while for their main course, we recognised that it wasn’t realistic for the kitchen to be able to serve nearly thirty meals all at the same time. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Oh, and the beer was, of course, excellent!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BikerMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

A lovely hotel with fantastic staff. Rooms comfortable and clean. Excellent food (huge breakfast). Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ems999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Went to the Hinds Head for Sunday lunch with the family eagerly anticipating a delicious Sunday Roast. Oh dear. Over an hour's wait (with a very hungry toddler), all our requests for food were met with a surly glare from the waitress and the excuse "We've got a large party in to serve" (which they hadn't, we checked!) Eventually, only two meals were served whilst the other two waited a further 15 minutes - and sadly, the food wasn't worth waiting for. Tepid, tasteless and obviously cooked by an overwrought and resentful chef. No apology was given and we gently asked for an adjustment to the bill which was grudgingly given. Will certainly not be returning there!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
8  Thank jelica39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

When we arrived we had a great reception. The check in was easiest ever, with all paperwork being filled out and only car reg and signatures being required. We arrived before the check in time but our room was already for us. The room ( 19 or Tun) was beautifully decorated with all facilities provided. The only down side to the room was the shower. On entering my partner found some long hairs, which was off putting. He also noticed mould in the grouting. The shower also resembled a leak in an outside pipe as there was hardly any water pressure and we had to move around to make sure we got covered by the water. Although we weren't going to use the cups in the room (which was part of a fully stocked amenities tray) we did notice they weren't cleaned properly. The bed was extremely comfortable and all staff were very friendly.
We would definitely stay again in the same room but would request that the shower was given some attention.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrystalPalaceLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We had a family meal here for a birthday. The service was appalling, the staff couldn't have cared less, the menu choice was limited and the food certainly not good value for money. We had to wait 40 minutes for our starters, the water we asked for had to be asked for three times; there was a 40 minute wait after the starters before the main course arrived and the starter plates hadn't even been cleared. Nobody asked if the food was acceptable. The steak came with onion rings which had not been mentioned on the menu - and which were not wanted by one member of the party who has to follow a strict gluten free menu. The next morning I had an upset stomach - possibly from the cold chicken in the chicken caesar salad.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 250,755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I disagree with anyone who has given a negative review about the staff at the Hinds Head. In my experience the service was excellent from start to finish. Sue who I made the booking with was extremely helpful, suggesting a taxi company for us to use to get us to our event at Wasing Park (there is a good reason that they recommend this company as the other local taxi company is awful). She arranged for us to check in early so that we had time to get ready for our wedding at Wasing Park and as soon as we arrived at the Hinds Head on the day I was blown away by how friendly and accommodating the staff were. Our room was in a separate building to the main pub, we had opted for a standard room and it was a good size, very clean and the bed was incredibly comfortable. We did not have any trouble with noise at all. The only vehicles I heard were the bin men the next morning but apart from that it was very peaceful. Im sure this depends on the day of the week you stay but we had no problems. Our room itself didn't have that much character being part of a new building instead of the old pub, if I had known this in advance I prob would have requested a room in the original building, however I am sure that if I had asked for a room in the main building specifically then the Hinds Head staff would have been happy to accommodate this request. There was a great selection at Breakfast - my boyfriend found the full english breakfast a bit greasy as reported by another reviewer however there were fresh strawberries and other fruits which I enjoyed. Overall we were pleased with our stay and will always remember the warm welcome and kindness of the staff. Just a warning to anyone needing to book a taxi in Aldermaston. Use the company the Hinds Head recommends (Ancient Services) and book them in advance ,do not make the mistake we did and leave it to the day before to book as you will be left with 1st Call private hire who were 40 mins late to pick us up and as a result caused us to miss the entire wedding ceremony!

Room Tip: Check if your room is in the original building or in the separate building - this will prob dictate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lozzas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldermaston
4.9 mi away
De Vere Wokefield Estate
De Vere Wokefield Estate
#1 of 1 in Stratfield Mortimer
1,990 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading West
2.3 mi away
The Broomsquire
The Broomsquire
#5 of 6 in Tadley
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hind's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hind's Head

Address: Wasing Lane, Aldermaston RG7 4LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Aldermaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Aldermaston
Price Range: £61 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hind's Head 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming you to the wonderful Berkshire countryside is The Hind's Head - a beautifully restored 15th Century coaching inn in Aldermaston. With fresh food, real ales on tap and 15 superb bedrooms, the pub promises a great place to dine, drink and stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Hind's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hinds Head Hotel Aldermaston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing