We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff”
Review of The Hind's Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hind's Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Aldermaston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eastry
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
Reviewed 13 June 2012 via mobile

Lovely place to stay. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Food is lovely. Breakfast great. Room was quirky and comfortable. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squiddyEastry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    77
    51
    27
    8
See reviews for
71
98
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed here for one night following a wedding nearby and were in one of the bungalows (no. 17) in the grounds of the hotel.. We really enjoyed our stay, and thought the hotel was charming and full of character - a bit quirky, but we love that. The staff were very pleasant and friendly, and the food (evening bar meal and breakfast) was excellent and plentiful. Our room was comfortable and well equipped with toiletries; plenty of towels (including face flannels); tea, coffee and free bottled water. All in all a very pleasant experience. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and I had no problems sleeping - unusual for me.

The only downside was that in the bathroom the loo seat was loose - which my husband sorted - and the shower lacked power, but we understand that the rooms are being upgraded so I am sure that this will be sorted. I would definitely stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed here to attend a wedding at Wasing Park. We paid £90 for a double room which was comfortable, very clean and well equipped, if small.

Really surprised to see previous reviews of grumpy staff as we found them to be absolutely charming; got a night cap on returning from the wedding, late check out no trouble and a very warm welcome.

Breakfast was very good although service quite slow.

If we were in the area we would stay again.

Room Tip: maybe ask for a room at the back of the inn, away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mervina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2012

dissapointing for the money.
Staff were fine, service in the bar was a little slow. Lots of excuses about being "very busy"! Er - I don't think so!
although the place is advertised as a old Inn, with period rooms, we were put in the chalets in the car park. room was adequate with nice bed, but shower closet and floor had mould in the grout and corners (room 15)
There is a certificate in Reception saying the place is rated at 4 stars - out of 10 I would say.
Typical UK hotel - dirty and overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Firstly I would like to say that I stay at the Hinds Head on a regular basis for business and having read recent comments I have found to be a little strange as the building is a grade 2 listed building which gives it character so to expect a perfect square room like a purpose built hotel then you will be disappointed as this building used to be a brewery and had a conversion so lots of quirkiness to it.
The staff I find to be very helpful and always have time to talk to guests presenting a home from home feel which I much prefer rather than the rigid corporate hotels out there, so may cheaper some are more expensive but I choose to stay at the Hinds Head for that cosy homely feel which you miss when travelling away for great lengths of time.
If you want a hotel with corporate style identical square rooms then you will be disappointed but if you want to stay in a hotel with over 400 years of history where every room is different and you feel part of a country village then this is hotel is for you.
It is such a shame that the internet has become a place for slander at a personal level, I have stayed at this hotel for 4 years and have seen the changes and would say it is at its current best, I have written this because the internet should also be about sharing great experiences try and feel part of an old historical village.

Room Tip: it is a 400 year old building, not corporate identical boxes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ustraveller60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed here for one night whist attending a wedding at Wasing Park. Upon arrival we were checked in by a very harrassed lady who informed us that our room wasn't ready (we were early) but we were able leave our bags in the room. There were a team of 3 people cleaning rooms at a frantic pace and it appeared just this one lady manning check in and the bar.

We returned after the wedding at 11.30pm and decided to grab a night cap to take back to our room (which I have to say was very clean and comfortable) but we were informed by the same lady who had checked us in that the bar was now closed. The paperwork in the rooms state the bar is available to guests until midnight and there were people still sitting in the main bar finishing their drinks. After informing us it was closed she turned her back on us and went and stood at the entrance to smoke, we politely pointed out that the paperwork stated the bar was available until midnight and she replied 'I can shut the bar whenever I like and its shut now'. I have to say we were disappointed and felt that she was being difficult. Whilst empathising that she had probably had a long day and had had enough of guests demands we felt that the hotel should of had more staff working if the result of just having this one person is rudeness to paying guests.

The next morning at breakfast it was again the same lady manning check out and taking breakfast orders and running the dining room. Breakfast was lovely and fairly prompt considering how busy it was, no complaints there.

The room was very comfortable and overall the hotel had a nice feel about it but we felt that it was understaffed and the only member of staff that was available was totally overworked and rude as a result. What a shame, don't think we'd return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosie31Portsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

When I read some of the other reports I had some trepidation about visiting the Hinds Head. But I need not have worried, we had an excellent stay. The room (12) was very quiet, although it was right next to the road. It was also very clean, and the shower was excellent. The menu was wide ranging, and while it is true some of our party had to wait a short while for their main course, we recognised that it wasn’t realistic for the kitchen to be able to serve nearly thirty meals all at the same time. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Oh, and the beer was, of course, excellent!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BikerMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldermaston
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading West
8.5 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
614 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western West Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
5.1 mi away
De Vere Wokefield Estate
De Vere Wokefield Estate
#1 of 1 in Stratfield Mortimer
1,879 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hind's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hind's Head

Property: The Hind's Head
Address: Wasing Lane, Aldermaston RG7 4LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Aldermaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Aldermaston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hind's Head 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming you to the wonderful Berkshire countryside is The Hind's Head - a beautifully restored 15th Century coaching inn in Aldermaston. With fresh food, real ales on tap and 15 superb bedrooms, the pub promises a great place to dine, drink and stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Hind's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hinds Head Hotel Aldermaston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing