We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Reading West
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Padworth
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“An ok stay...”
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as was attending a nearby wedding. The hotel is nice enough but it is pretty dated. The receptionist was lovely but the night porter was an absolute disgrace. In the morning I complained about him and I was informed that he was actually leaving. Good! I was given some drinks on my bill for free to say sorry which I was happy with. I wouldn't rush back here but it was a nice enough stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate your feedback.

I am disappointed that you found the hotel only OK and I am very sorry that you found a member of the team to be so unhelpful, as you will see reading through our reviews the professional attitude and friendliness of the team stands out. I am pleased that one of my colleagues acknowledged your feedback at the time and made a gesture on your bill.

All your feedback will be shared with the team.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    75
    76
    26
    23
See reviews for
57
54
11
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel shares the same postcode as the comfort inn next door, which is confusing! When we checked in the girl on recetion added £50 to my card without explaining what it was for which led me to ask about it, would have been iseful if she had explained first. We had a nice dinner in the restaurant, the staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms lovely and quiet, no noise from the a4. Breakfast was good, although it would be good if in the summer months when the doors are open the pastries etc are covered by guards as there were flies around and one landed on a pastries which put me off a bit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fallon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, we do appreciate your feedback.

The £50 you mention is not a charge but a pre-authorisation to cover for any incidental charges incurred during your stay, the team should explain this at check-in so I apologise if this wasn't the case.

Thank you for your comments about breakfast, I will certainly take these on board.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed here during a visit to the reading area. The hotel is situated next to the main A4 just south west of Reading. Although there was traffic noise outside, I didn't detect any of this in my room so I presume the insulation must be good. The hotel is very presentable but has a slightly dated feel to it - nothing badly worn or tatty in appearance but could probably do with a 10 year makeover. This said, my room was in good order and very clean and I had a comfortable night's sleep. The reception and bar staff were all very pleasant and appeared to care about making a good impression. My only criticism was a fairly minor one although I did find it irritating and I don't think the hotel handled it very well. Having enjoyed a main course dinner in the restaurant I decided to order strawberries and cream for dessert. When this arrived there was a bowl 3/4 full of whipped cream with what appeared to be no more than 3 or 4 sliced strawberries inserted on top. Far too much cream and hardly any strawberries - not great value at £5.50. When I pointed this out to the waitress she merely commented that 'that's the way they do it here' which I didn't find very satisfactory. For the price of another handful of strawberries my irritation could have been alleviated and the matter resolved.

All in all though, I did enjoy the stay and the hotel was good value at the price I paid.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, we do appreciate all the comments we receive.

I'm pleased you had such a good stay and I take on board your feedback about your dessert and in particular the way the situation was dealt with.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Having got this hotel as part of a budget package with a trip to Legoland, we were very pleasantly surprised at how good this hotel was. I emailed ahead to ask for a quiet room, which we got (had an answer almost straight away). We were allocated a room furthest away from Reception so we didn't have any through traffic.We decided to eat in the restaurant: they offer a kids eat free package but my daughter chose the Chow Mein with duck which she enjoyed (a full price meal) whilst I had the Veggie Burger which was also nice. For signing up for emails we also received a 10% discount on the meal. The breakfast in the morning offered good value, there was a spread equal to that in higher starred hotels and especially good considering the hotel is fairly small (by Hotel Inn standards) and didn't seem especially full. All the staff I spoke to were helpful and polite and the room was spotlessly clean. The shower was very powerful and I felt like I had been in a jet wash. If you want a decent hotel at a good price, I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room, furthest away from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 030112d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, I'm delighted your stay was so great. I will make the team aware of your feedback, they will very much appreciate you taking the time to write.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
177 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Perfectly acceptable but like going back 15/20 years. It was all just 'alright' but in need of an overhaul/renovation to bring into the 21st century. Friendly staff and decent enough breakfast so did the job.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank davehelen1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for your review. I am disappointed you found us 'unremarkable' and I will certainly forward your feedback regarding renovation, etc... to my colleagues at Head Office

I am please however that you found our breakfast offerings to be decent and more importantly the staff to be warm and friendly; being only a 50 bed hotel we certainly focus on trying to deliver a personal and individual touch and would much prefer this to having an all singing all dancing modern product that has no personality and where the staff don't care.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Visiting the hotel for a function in their function room, staying only one night. Checking in the staff were helpful and asked if we needed any assistance, however as the day came to an end they became extremely unhelpful, didnt seem to want to cooperate or give any advice. Poor attitude for staff working in a 4* hotel! Had to walk to reception every single time we wanted to order a drink because the bar was completely unstaffed. Food was very good however.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrlbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

Whilst delighted you had a comfortable stay I am very disappointed to read you had issues with the team after the function you were attending ended; this is very unusual, as supported by the very positive feedback about the team in the vast majority of posts we have on Trip Advisor. However, I will of course address your feedback with the team, ensure we learn any lessons and I apologise for any shortcomings you experienced.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The room was clean and had all the usual amenities, we had a family room with a sofa bed. The first night was the worst night ever spent at a hotel as the sofa bed was ridiculously uncomfortable and the four of us, two adults and two children slept on the double bed, so I hardly slept. However, I was accommodated another room after complaining the next morning so our second nights stay was fine. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Internet use pricey though we paid £12.50 for the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, your feedback is much appreciated.

I am sorry you found the sofa bed so uncomfortable. I note that you booked through a 3rd party site - we do clearly advise them that our family rooms are equipped with a sofa bed as the second bed, I am sorry if this was not made clear to you when you booked with them.

I am however delighted that the team at the hotel went out of the way to make a 2nd bedroom available to you, free of charge, on the 2nd night of your stay after you brought the matter to our attention.

Thank you for your kind words about the staff, as the vast majority of the postings on Trip Advisor would support, it is the team that make the real difference at this hotel.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padworth
3.9 mi away
Best Western West Grange Hotel
4.5 mi away
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
De Vere Wokefield Estate
De Vere Wokefield Estate
#1 of 1 in Stratfield Mortimer
1,879 reviews
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Reading M4 Westbound
9.3 mi away
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Reading West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Reading West

Property: Holiday Inn Reading West
Address: Bath Road | Padworth Lane, Padworth RG7 5HT, England (Formerly Padworth Court)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Padworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Padworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Reading West 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Reading West is one of the best located hotels in the Reading/Newbury area with ample free car parking. We are very close to Arlington, Calleva, Colthrop and Easter Business Parks and within easy reach of Green Park. We are only 3 miles from M4 junction 12 on the A4 Bath Road between Theale and Thatcham. Nearby attractions include the Oracle Shopping Centre, Madejski Stadium, Newbury Race Course, Beale Park, Basildon House, Legoland and Windsor Castle. All our guest bedrooms have air conditioning and have been designed to have comfort in mind as well as space to work. We have 2 accessible rooms and 2 suites. All rooms have ensuite facilities, direct dial telephones, TV with a good selection of channels, pay movies, trouser press, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. There is also Wi-Fi available throughout the property. The Padworth Restaurant and Bar are available for breakfast, light snacks, full meals, tea & coffee and selection of beverages to both residents and non residents.Holiday Inn Reading West is an ideal Wedding, function, party, meeting and conference venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Reading West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Reading West Hotel Reading
Reading Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing