We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Reading West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Reading West
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Padworth
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

As Platinum member have stayed here on 2 business trips in the last month and have just left following a 3 nights stay. Exceptional service and care from all staff, especially Charlotte & Alena on reception and Shelley in the restaurant who all went the extra mile throughout our stay. Will definitely be using this Holiday Inn on future business trips.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you veru much indeed for taking the time to post a review and for your very kind words.

All the team at Holiday Inn Reading West work hard to make sure we put our guests at the heart of everything we do and try hard to ensure everyone has a great experience whilst staying with us. I know Charlotte, Alena and Shelly wil be thrilled you have mentioned their efforts.

We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    72
    76
    25
    22
See reviews for
54
51
11
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
east anglia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

receptionist / staff very helpful. reasonable price for a weekend wedding at Wasing Park - taxi bout £13-15 each way
Breakfast was bout £10 if booked in advance - another fiver ish if not pre booked
good location, hotel little tired but great beds and pillows! just a shame you cant open a window for fresh air - not even on 1st floor

Room Tip: even room near bar was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trak01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, we do appreciate your feedback and kind words.

Just for information, the bedroom windows are sealed units primarily to ensure quality sound proofing due to our location on the A4 and next to the railway line, as well as security. We do hope that when it comes to replacing the windows we can find a more modern product that will allow some opening whilst not compromise the sound proofing.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This hotel was rebadged from another hotel chain and has had little cosmetic work carried out on the years since. The lack of accommodation in the surrounding area means that a typical stay is in excess of £100/night. As a Club card holder, I regularly receive in invitation to do a customer feedback. After a recent stay, I noted that there was limescale build up on the shower head and that mold was growing around the grab rail in the bath. I also commented that there were insufficient power sockets near the bed to allow for phone charging/laptop use whilst lounging on the bed.

This occasion, whilst preparing to iron a shirt, I noted that the cable going into the connection box had been strained leaving the inner cores taking the strain instead of the outer cover. It was also noticeable that the latest PAT certificate had not been placed on the connector box, it was on the iron itself, looking up, it was also obvious that the desk and bedside lamps were out of date for their Portable Electrical Test. Heading out to the local hostelry for a meal and drink, I noted these shortcomings to the receptionist.

The following morning, whilst checking out, I was verbally accosted by the duty manageress. It appears that my previous feedback, which she informed me are called 'Heartbeats', she considered that I had 'exacting standards' and that it would be better if in future I chose one of the other hotels in the area. I took back the key card and escorted the manageress to the room and showed her the failing points which she agreed were substandard, I also showed her the dust collection on the various flat surfaces in the bathroom; apparently room services would normally do dust! Heading back to the reception, no comment was needed as pointed out the cracked window pane in the passageway window; once more on arrival I was informed that due to my 'exacting standards' I should not book into the Holiday Inn again! So, it seems that a clean and electrically safe room are to high a target for this particular hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheWhiteHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

The team at Holiday Inn Reading West are very passionate about guest feedback and work hard to try and ensure all guests leave having had a great experience. We do value feedback from our guests, especially if given in an honest, polite and pro-active manner. I do apologise if on this occasion you felt their desire to better understand your earlier comments and feedback and to seek clarification came over as being defensive, this was certainly not the intention.

I would like to put the record straight and clarify that, despite the misleading heading you have given your review, you are not 'banned' and indeed we have never banned anyone form our hotel! The team were concerned that, despite several stays over the last few months, you were not happy with the hotel and our product and in fact they offered you a full refund, something you chose to refused.

I can confirm that not only is our portable appliance testing all up to date but so is our electrical mains testing. Our records and electrical registers were all checked and verified during an independent, unannounced H&S and Food Safety audit carried out at the hotel only last week; this is an audit we have twice a year and is in addition to our Mystery Brand Audits - we could not operate without this in place. These audits also check our water hygiene records and legionella testing which again are all up to date and compliant.

We appreciate that guests have a choice when it comes to booking hotels. Your feedback suggests their is limited choice however there are a number of properties within close proximity to us and you go on to list two of them in your review. Whilst we would much prefer you choose to use Holiday Inn Reading West that our competition but don't ever want to think anyone has stayed with us under sufferance.

I hope readers of the reviews on Trip Advisor (and indeed other sights) will look carefully over the reviews posted over recent months and will be able to make a balance judgement on the service, caring attitude, safety and value of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Padworth hotels

Leeds, Yorks
Level Contributor
231 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hotel is in a good location for Reading and is a bit quieter, than others in the area, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the room was a nice size, and very clean , usual big TV and tea making facilities, the only thing would be it needs an update, it is a bit tired in the bathroom and bedroom, the fitness room is a bit small with only a few pieces of equipment, however I would stay here again and would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prs54fmpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Holiday Inn Reading West.

I am pleased you had a comfortable stay and the team will appreciate your comments about them being friendly and helpful.

Thank you for your feedback with regards the bedroom and bathroom. I'm sure you'll be pleased to learn that, as part of an on-going refurbishment plan acorss the Kew Green Hotels estate, we are scheduled for a bedroom refurb hopefully around spring time. In the meantime the team on site continue to ensure the rooms are kept clean and tidy.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Ww stayed there during the Reading festival but the hotel is a bit far from the arena but worth the while to stay in a bed rather than a tent. We enjoyed our stay there and the hotel staff was very nice and very helpful as well. We needed help to get to Gatwick airport after our stay and got help from the staff to get us there in the most cheepest way possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaCB1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review, we really do value your feedback and comments and the team will appreciate your kind words.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crayford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights while attending Reading festival as we are now a bit too old for camping. The hotel was in a great location for this. Prior to arriving I had requested a quiet room and we were given one overlooking the courtyard which was great. The room was very comfy and clean. Check in and check out speedy and efficient with very helpful staff. We pre booked breakfast at check in as it was cheaper and we were not disappointed. The quality of the food was excellent as was the service in the restaurant.
Overall, I think this is a lovely little hotel and we will return next year!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraMcG17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you very much for your review and kind words, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and we all look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a great deal including two days at Legoland and a night at the hotel for myself, hubbie and two grandsons. Hotel is about 30 minutes drive from Legoland but was ideal for us.

We had asked for a quiet room and were given one overlooking the large garden at the back if the hotel. Room was adequate size. Bed settee was out and made up for the boys to share. Everything clean and comfortable including the bathroom. Plenty of big bath towels and good pressure in shower.

Check in was speedy and the lady on reception was friendly and welcoming - a big smile as we walked through the door. She was great with the kids and chatted to them while I filled in the form.

We didn't use the restaurant in the evening as we'd had a long day at the park so it was picnic in the room courtesy of Sainsbury which is on the route from Legoland to the hotel.

We did book breakfast as we checked in as it was cheaper to pre book and the kids ate free, so just under £20 for all of us. Plenty of choice - one criticism is the toasters. It seems to get anything reasonably brown it has to go through twice and one side of the four slot toaster I used didn't work at all. Other than that it was fine.

Would definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NannyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you very much for you feedback, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Reading West and I hope your grandsons enjoyed Legoland.

Thank you for your comments regarding the toaster, we will of course check this over.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padworth
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN West Grange Hotel
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Reading South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel
4.4 mi away
De Vere Wokefield Estate
De Vere Wokefield Estate
#1 of 1 in Stratfield Mortimer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Reading West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Reading West

Property: Holiday Inn Reading West
Address: Bath Road | Padworth Lane, Padworth RG7 5HT, England (Formerly Padworth Court)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Padworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Padworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Reading West 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Reading West is one of the best located hotels in the Reading/Newbury area with ample free car parking. We are very close to Arlington, Calleva, Colthrop and Easter Business Parks and within easy reach of Green Park. We are only 3 miles from M4 junction 12 on the A4 Bath Road between Theale and Thatcham. Nearby attractions include the Oracle Shopping Centre, Madejski Stadium, Newbury Race Course, Beale Park, Basildon House, Legoland and Windsor Castle. All our guest bedrooms have air conditioning and have been designed to have comfort in mind as well as space to work. We have 2 accessible rooms and 2 suites. All rooms have ensuite facilities, direct dial telephones, TV with a good selection of channels, pay movies, trouser press, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. There is also Wi-Fi available throughout the property. The Padworth Restaurant and Bar are available for breakfast, light snacks, full meals, tea & coffee and selection of beverages to both residents and non residents.Holiday Inn Reading West is an ideal Wedding, function, party, meeting and conference venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Reading West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Reading West Hotel Reading
Reading Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing