We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Good Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Reading West
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Padworth
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Great hotel, rooms maybe smaller than usual for a Holiday Inn (more like a travelodge really) but everything worked and everything was clean and there was a large comfortable bed.

Plenty of parking and no extra charge for this.

WiFi is extra though and not very reliable.

Good cooked breakfast, tasted fresh and was hot - Real toaster too instead of those horrible conveyors

Only negative was the sandwich we had - white bread was quite dry which was dissapointing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnC_883186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear JohnC_883186337 - many thanks for your review, we really appreciate the feedback. I'm delighted you enjoyed the breakfast; we've put a lot of effort into this and always offer a fresh, cooked to order, hot breakfast for those than want and yes, a lot of our guests appreciate the toasters and being to do their toast when they want it.

I'm sorry about the sandwich, the bread does come in daily but we will of course look into this and value your feedback.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have stayed at a lot of Holiday Inns, including most around Reading. This was a nice surprise and is possibly the best we have stayed in.

Staff were very welcoming, rooms were warm and clean and the breakfast was plentiful.

No negatives to mention here!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Lee W, wow, fantstic, I am delighted you had such a great stay with us at Holiday Inn Reading West. The team work very hard to try and ensure every guest leaves here loving the hotel and the service and it is always appreciated when guests take the trouble to post such great feedback, thank you.

I look forward to welcoming you back before too long

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

we loved our stay, lovely comfy beds, big spacious room and bathroom, no problems parking, there is a lovely walk along the avon and kennet canal just a couple of minutes from the hotel. stayed on a superbreak, visiting family just £65 per person for 2 nights b & b with dinner I night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kairron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Kairron, brilliant, thank you very much for your kind review, we are all delighted you had such a great stay at Holiday Inn Reading West.

I hope you enjoyed your walk along the canal footpath and managed to avoid the rain!

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are visiting family in the area.

Kind regard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I last stayed at this hotel about five years ago for a friend's wedding. This time was just a one night stay to attend a function nearby. Check in was very efficient and friendly, as a Platinum member we were upgraded to an Executive Room. On the whole the room was very nice with just a couple of niggles. The tiles on the bathroom floor are a little uneven and as they are square edged tiles, a little uncomfortable on the feet. The radiator in the bathroom was full of air and consequently rather noisy, the TRV on the radiator would not turn it off. The Wifi was slow, 0.3MB, being used to 100MB at home this felt very pedestrian! Breakfast was adequate, freshly cooked, reasonable value at approx £10 per head as long as you have the full breakfast. On reporting the issues with the room at checkout, the receptionist was very apologetic and said that they would have moved us if requested. As we were only there for one night and got back from our function after midnight this wasn't really practical. All in all a good hotel and will stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: No lift so if you have trouble with stairs request a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Hi MikeBracknell, fantastic, thank you vey much for your feedback, I'm thrilled you had a great check-in experience and that you were recognised as an IHG Platinum Rewards Member and had your room upgraded. I do hope you had a great time at the function you attended.

Thanks also for the feedback regarding the bathroom and internet. I know the radiator was sorted after you reported it upon your departure and of course we will follow up on the comments about internet speed.

Many thanks for your valued custom and I do hope we won’t have to wait another five years to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Greeted amazingly by Charlotte. Was staying at the hotel for Ascort horse racing and made to feel extremely welcomed. Wanted food during my stay and had most amazingly delicious food that with a great service from restaurant team, Nice clean comfortable room with good breakfast. Staff made my trip away from home seem like a pleasant dream! Would highly recommend this hotel experience to any guest - Thank You!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review, I am delighted you had such a great stay and I know Charlotte and the rest of the team will be thrilled by your feedback.

We always strive to put our guests at the heart of everything we do and it is really appreciated when this gets recognised.

I hope you had an enjoyable day at the races and that we will see you again in the not too distant future at Holiday Inn Reading West.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

As Platinum member have stayed here on 2 business trips in the last month and have just left following a 3 nights stay. Exceptional service and care from all staff, especially Charlotte & Alena on reception and Shelley in the restaurant who all went the extra mile throughout our stay. Will definitely be using this Holiday Inn on future business trips.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you veru much indeed for taking the time to post a review and for your very kind words.

All the team at Holiday Inn Reading West work hard to make sure we put our guests at the heart of everything we do and try hard to ensure everyone has a great experience whilst staying with us. I know Charlotte, Alena and Shelly wil be thrilled you have mentioned their efforts.

We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

receptionist / staff very helpful. reasonable price for a weekend wedding at Wasing Park - taxi bout £13-15 each way
Breakfast was bout £10 if booked in advance - another fiver ish if not pre booked
good location, hotel little tired but great beds and pillows! just a shame you cant open a window for fresh air - not even on 1st floor

Room Tip: even room near bar was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trak01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review, we do appreciate your feedback and kind words.

Just for information, the bedroom windows are sealed units primarily to ensure quality sound proofing due to our location on the A4 and next to the railway line, as well as security. We do hope that when it comes to replacing the windows we can find a more modern product that will allow some opening whilst not compromise the sound proofing.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padworth
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
3.9 mi away
Best Western West Grange Hotel
3.7 mi away
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
6.1 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
805 reviews
4.5 mi away
De Vere Wokefield Estate
De Vere Wokefield Estate
#1 of 1 in Stratfield Mortimer
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Reading West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Reading West

Address: Bath Road | Padworth Lane, Padworth RG7 5HT, England (Formerly Padworth Court)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Padworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Padworth
Price Range: £48 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Reading West 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Reading West is one of the best located hotels in the Reading/Newbury area with ample free car parking. We are very close to Arlington, Calleva, Colthrop and Easter Business Parks and within easy reach of Green Park. We are only 3 miles from M4 junction 12 on the A4 Bath Road between Theale and Thatcham. Nearby attractions include the Oracle Shopping Centre, Madejski Stadium, Newbury Race Course, Beale Park, Basildon House, Legoland and Windsor Castle. All our guest bedrooms have air conditioning and have been designed to have comfort in mind as well as space to work. We have 2 accessible rooms and 2 suites. All rooms have ensuite facilities, direct dial telephones, TV with a good selection of channels, pay movies, trouser press, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. There is also Wi-Fi available throughout the property. The Padworth Restaurant and Bar are available for breakfast, light snacks, full meals, tea & coffee and selection of beverages to both residents and non residents.Holiday Inn Reading West is an ideal Wedding, function, party, meeting and conference venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Reading West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Reading West Hotel Reading
Reading Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing