We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost Booking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Reading West
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Padworth
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Arrived at hotel last Thursday to find we had no booking. Room had been booked in Jan for my son's wedding. Reception not helpful, computer says No... Turned out my booking was lost during computer system upgrade in Feb. Room for 1 night but no chance for actual wedding night. Luckily we found a room at local pub nearby so could join family for breakfast on day after the wedding. All ended well despite the Holiday Inn.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank pdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Pdownunder, thank you for your review, we are all desperately sorry for the mix up with your recent reservation and for the stress this may have caused you.

I know the team that were on duty on the Thursday evening when you arrived got you checked straight into a bedroom and advised that we would look into the matter and find you a solution. Our Reservations Manager then made contact with you on Friday morning to apologise for the issue and to advise you that we did have a room available for you on the Friday and that we would like to offer this to you on a complimentary bed and breakfast basis to make up for our error; this in addition to having already reduced the charge for the Thursday night. Regrettably you declined our offer.

Pdownunder, we are very sorry for our error, we did put our hands up at the time and at no point did we try and blame any one else. I’m not quite sure what more we could have done to rescue the situation for you, we certainly don’t set out to upset guests.

Thank you for your comments and I do hope your experience with us won’t put you off using other Holiday Inn properties in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here for convenience as it is very close to the Arlington Business Park where I was visiting on business for a couple of days. The Staff are lovely, very friendly and welcoming, food was first class (only had bar meals) if perhaps a shade overpriced (but typical for a hotel).
The only downside was the rooms - they are looking very tired and worn - they were spotlessly clean but in dire need of re-papering and some new furniture

Room Tip: The Hotel does border a main railway line, however, although my room appeared to face that direction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Chris C, fantastic, the team will be delighted by your comments, it is the staff that make Holiday Inn Reading West so great and I'm very pleased you found this to be the case. We are also very happy to read you positive feedback about the food quality and I will pass this on.

Chris C, I'm sure you will also be pleased to learn that we are scheduled to get our bedrooms refurbished soon. You will have noticed the bedrooms corridors have already been completed and the bedrooms are, as things stand, due to follow within the next few months or so - we are all very excited and can't wait and hope you will have the opportunity to stay again once they are completed.

Kind regards

Philip
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Booked this as last minute option to avoid battling rush hour M25&M3 for business. The bonus was it only cost 5000 points on HI loyalty programme. Old style country hotel with lovely helpful staff only slightly let down by 1980s bathroom and stairs

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank PaulMandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear PaulMandon, thank you so much for your review. I will ensure the team see your feedback; they will really appreciate this as this work very hard to try and ensure they deliver a great, friendly service to all our guests.

Thank you also for you observations on the bathrooms and stairwells, we are hopeful that these areas will be included in a planned bedroom refurbishment we have coming up and I will pass this on to our central team.

Kind regards

Philip
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed for one night with my boyfriend for a family gathering.
Check in was good, very welcoming and all our questions were answered.
The room its self was okay, very dated but clean and more than adequate storage space, the only flaws with the room was the shower (took forever to heat up and was pretty poor) and the lack of electric sockets by the bed.
Before we ventured out for the evening we went down to the bar, very unimpressed extremely limited selection and very pricey. £7.90 for two drinks!
Breakfast was excellent, brilliant service, good food.
So yes, I would stay here again but there are a few little things that need sorting before I'd give it 5*.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Holly M, fantastic, thank you very much for your kind words about the team and the service you received whilst staying with us at Holiday Inn Reading West, this is just what the guys strive for and they will be delighted by your comments. However, we are saddened that you felt we only deserved 3/5

Thanks for your comments about the shower, power points and bar; we are always grateful for feedback.

We do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed one night on business and my comments are mostly good: plentiful parking, very welcoming, perfectly adequate room, good value for money. I can't comment on dinner as I didn't eat in, but breakfast was good.

Yes, it's a little dated but I was really impressed with the staff - uniformly friendly and pleasant.

Only a couple of things that would make me think twice about staying there again: painfully slow internet access, and no temperature control in the room (sealed windows and no radiator or aircon).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear redwinter, thank you very much for your review, I'm delighted by your kind comments about the team and value your stay represented.

Thank you for your feedback on the temperature controls and internet. I'm a little puzzled as all our bedrooms have individual thermostats and the system is both a heating and cooling system. Perhaps next time you are with us we can explain better how to operate.

If you find the internet a little slow on you next visit please let us know at the time. It may be due to demand but we can always put a quick call in to the ISP helpdesk to check the bandwidth availability and any restrictions. The team are always happy to help.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Reading West and to making your next stay even better.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Hotel looks very dated on entry, and compared to other IHG hotels in the Reading area. The bar service was prompt but the seating arrangement consisted of very few tables, but many chairs. This meant that as 3/4 guests or more were in the bar, that if i wanted to sit down i had to sit next to a stranger at the end of a working day!

The food was served very well, but again in an awkward set up where the empty floor space was huge! To be honest the food served was edible but very poor in comparison other Holiday Inns in the area, and not cheap either.

Executive room was given as an upgrade as IHG Platinum, but to be honest have had better rooms at an HI Express, albeit without the comp' water and chocolates...

Have no major problem(s) with this hotel, just think it is leagues behind the competition in the area.

Would not use again (unless the other hotels in Reading were full)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveGrid2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear SteveGrid2012, thank you very much for posting your review, your feedback is very useful and much appreciated.

I am really sorry you found the hotel awkward and I will certainly share your comments with our design team at Head Office.

On a positive note, thank you very much for your kind comments about the team, they really do make the difference here and work hard to look after all our guests. I'm pleased also to see your IHG Rewards Platinum Membership was recognised and that you given a complimentary bedroom upgrade; this really is a great loyalty programme.

SteveGrid2012, I do hope you will reconsider and choose to stay at Holiday Inn Reading West again when you are next in the area. We do value your business and it would be great to meet and catch up to discuss your feedback, thoughts and ideas.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel is a little dated but charming and welcoming. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Our room was nice and quiet, impeccably clean and a good size. The bed was comfortable and the shower was powerful. There was plenty of free parking. The location was handy for Reading: but it’s a 2 min drive/ 10 min walk to Aldermaston station, from which it’s an under-20 min ride into Reading (check train times beforehand as they are not very frequent).

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank airstream77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading West, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear airstream77, brilliant, many thanks for your review I'm delighted that you found the team friendly and very helpful, they will really appreciate you taking the time to write.

It's great also that you found your bedroom was nice and quiet, impeccably clean and a good size. and that your bed was comfortable and the shower was powerful - these are the same standard throughout all our bedrooms.

We all look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padworth
7 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
3.7 mi away
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western West Grange Hotel
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Reading West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Reading West

Address: Bath Road | Padworth Lane, Padworth RG7 5HT, England (Formerly Padworth Court)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Padworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Padworth
Price Range: £49 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Reading West 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Reading West is one of the best located hotels in the Reading/Newbury area with ample free car parking. We are very close to Arlington, Calleva, Colthrop and Easter Business Parks and within easy reach of Green Park. We are only 3 miles from M4 junction 12 on the A4 Bath Road between Theale and Thatcham. Nearby attractions include the Oracle Shopping Centre, Madejski Stadium, Newbury Race Course, Beale Park, Basildon House, Legoland and Windsor Castle. All our guest bedrooms have air conditioning and have been designed to have comfort in mind as well as space to work. We have 2 accessible rooms and 2 suites. All rooms have ensuite facilities, direct dial telephones, TV with a good selection of channels, pay movies, trouser press, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. There is also Wi-Fi available throughout the property. The Padworth Restaurant and Bar are available for breakfast, light snacks, full meals, tea & coffee and selection of beverages to both residents and non residents.Holiday Inn Reading West is an ideal Wedding, function, party, meeting and conference venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Reading West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Reading West Hotel Reading
Reading Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing