We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Golf Break Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandford Springs Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsclere
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Golf Break Location”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Went for a golf break as a pre stag do. The hotel is fairly new and rooms very nice providing two double beds and plenty of room so ideal for golf groups sharing rooms but equally would have been happy to take my partner here if she played golf. Evening Dinnner was included in our package and the chef did an excellent job and good choice and value. Restaurant looks out toward one of the tee's and is functional and modern but perhaps lacks a wow factor. The Hotel is within grounds but short walk to the Golf Club bar and Tees. The courses were great 3 nine hole courses from which they make various combinations depending on your stay. The courses offered good variety of water hazard and trees. Golf Bar afterwards was a bit quiet once local golfers left as hotel was quiet (hotel does not have a bar) The staff were very helpfuul though and suggested the 15 minute walk into the village which provided access to two nice local pubs. Would definitely consider for another golf break as accommodation and courses idel for that purpose. Apparently they do Sunday carverys but sadly we had to leave by then.

Room Tip: Looked like all rooms new and would either look out to course at front or behind it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkdon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff C, General Manager at Sandford Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your observations and I appreciate your kind words.
The hotel is still relatively new and continues to get very positive comments. However, there are still projects to complete, but the golf courses are now looking at their best and we continue to evolve our service delivery.
Our bar & restaurant is open all day, with wonderful views of the golf course and continues to attract more visitors, which in turn has improved the ambiance.
Our Sunday carvery is popular with the local community and we do serve dinner in the hotel, offering a fine dining experience to compliment the relaxed food of the bar.
All our restaurants are open to the public.
I am also exploring the possibility of putting a small bar in the hotel.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind regards
Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    67
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
26
60
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Overall this hotel is fantastic. Its quiet, set in excellent surroundings and the rooms are furnished to a very high standard.

My room was really nice furnishing, soft quality bedding, a large and clean bathroom, a good sized flat screen tv that works and above all it was quiet!

I did feel the staff could have been a little more friendly. In the morning as I sat for breakfast I had to pick a table as no one was available and then I had to wait quite a while for someone to take my order. When the lady did take my order she was quite abrupt and clearly having a busy morning. Which I wouldn't have minded except there was only me and a three other tables taken.

I really would recommend this place to stay though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tfeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff C, General Manager at Sandford Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and I apologise for the delay in responding.
Your comments regarding the hotel are appreciated and your observations regarding the member of staff serving breakfast have been discussed.
I trust there won't be a repeat of this comment in the future and we hope that you will visit again very soon.

Kind regards
Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just had a golfing weekend at this fine establishment. The hotel has tremendous facilities, the staff are helpful and welcoming. Food is plentiful and well presented. The 3 golf courses are challenging and not for the faint-hearted. A delightful weekend was had by the 4 of us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACF75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff C, General Manager at Sandford Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Great to hear that you enjoyed your break with us so much and that the course lived up to your expectations. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a one night stay at Sandford Springs Hotel to celebrate our friends birthday and the men playing golf, I would like to write a review because it was so lovely to check into a hotel room with everything absolutely top notch, although we only had a standard room it was beautifully furnished and you could not fault a thing even walking on the carpet was lovely and bouncy with everything being high standard and completely spotless, sadly because of a very inconsiderate loud bunch of golfers our sleep wasn't as peacefull to what we were looking forward to with them banging doors and being extremely load at 2.30 am, obviously this is not the hotel fault but still very annoying that some people cannot respect their surroundings or other guest around them. We had to have our evening meal over in the golf bar so did have to walk outside but on a summers eve could imagine looking over the golf course would be lovely, breakfast we feel was a let down because we had to continuously chase the waiter for our teas first then toast which we must have waited a good 30 mins then only cold brown served and yet again had to chase for the white the Restuarant wasn't even full so I dread to think how long breakfast would take if busy we were in there 11/2 hours, I would like to say though how friendly and helpfull Louisa McNutly was from first point of contact to make booking until we finished break.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank elladavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff C, General Manager at Sandford Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and I appreciate your comments about the hotel.
I am sorry that your stay was somewhat spoiled by a group of noisy golfing guests. We do try to keep any groups away from the bedrooms until they retire to bed and then ask them to be quiet as a courtesy to other guests.
Sadly, on this occasion, we were let down by a small minority of guests in the group.
In regard to the delay with your toast, I can only assume your were overlooked and for that I am sorry.
I do hope it won't put you off from returning in the future and we look forward to seeing you again.

Many thanks
Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsclere
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

As has been mentioned by other reviewer this hotel is very new and only opened last year however although the whole building is very modern it still however manages to maintain a feeling of cosiness that maybe you may not expect.

The rooms are well equipped and you get the feeling that whoever designed the rooms put a great deal of thought into what would be the most suitable environment for the occupants.

We had our dinner in the hotel restaurant where there was good choice on the menu which was served cooked to perfection.

As mentioned the hotel restaurant is very good however should you wish to have more choice and maybe a little less formal further options are available in the Clubhouse. It should be noted however that the Clubhouse is situated a short walk across the car park, however should the weather be inclement umbrellas are provided in your room.

The staff from booking to check out was extremely pleasant, welcoming and helpful and they contributed to the enjoyment of our stay
.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and to also mention that the cost of staying their represents good value

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnedaKingsclere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff C, General Manager at Sandford Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your meal in The Dining Room Restaurant which has been recently opened.

I will pass on your praise to the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We have just spent two days stay at sandford fantastic hotel great golf and outstanding food the service and friendly staff made the stay . The quality of the greens and the condition of the course is first class it's challenging. 27 holes you can play a combination .

Room Tip: Room 35 , 5 star excellently appointed room , very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff C, General Manager at Sandford Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you very much for the wonderful review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay I will pass on your kind words to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed for two nights in the very well appointed comfortable hotel. 6 foot bed, large shower and decent tele. Good tea and coffee with biscuits in the room. A lovely setting for the wedding reception, where the food was first class and the staff lovely.
I would have liked to have worked ou thow to switch off the climate control fans as noisy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnEarlsdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff C, General Manager at Sandford Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Ann,

Thank you for posting a review for us and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the wedding.

I am sorry that the climate control was noisy we can control this from reception and would have been able to turn it off for you if requested. In future we will look at improving the instructions that are displayed on the units.

Many thanks,
Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsclere
5.5 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,150 reviews
8.2 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.6 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
11.7 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,169 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandford Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandford Springs Hotel

Property: Sandford Springs Hotel
Address: Wolverton, Kingsclere RG26 5RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Kingsclere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingsclere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandford Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandford Springs is set among the beautiful rolling hills of Watership Down in Hampshire, a luxury 40 bedroom Hotel and Golf Course of outstanding quality. Ideally situated for easy access from both London and the South, Sandford Springs is perfectly positioned for both leisure and corporate stays.The stunning luxury 40 bedroom hotel offers complimentary parking and preferred resident green fees.Our hotel provides guests with bright and spacious rooms, elegantly furnished to the highest standards. Each room offers en-suite facilities with power showers along with luxury designer toiletries for your convenience. Bedrooms are fully air conditioned with tea and coffee facilities and flat-screen TV's.The Hotel is partnered by the clubhouse at Sandford Springs which has the fabulous Kingsclere Bar & Restaurant, with wonderful panoramic views overlooking the golf course and Hampshire countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Sandford Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing