We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandford Springs Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Newbury Tot Hill(Newbury)(Great Value!)
US$53
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge(Newbury)
US$105
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
US$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queens Hotel(Newbury)
US$105
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
Travelodge
View Deal
US$98
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
151
84
27
13
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
151
84
27
13
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf clubgolf coursegolf breakgreat golfhalfway houseclubhouse barpro shopfamily weddingsuperior roomlovely hotelevening mealseparate buildinggolfing weekendround of golfrooms are greatgood sizegolf society
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

the hotel and rooms were excellent, golf course not bad, however restaurant and bar was very poor in fact we went to local pub rather than stay in the breakfast room as main bar, sky sports not available not the best for 32 guys not going back !!

3  Thank Deano06
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tom M, General Manager at Sandford Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2014

I am sure that the majority of people will see how pitiful your review is where you say the hotel is excellent yet rate it as one star. If indeed a local pub with sky sports was what you were looking for, I am glad that you found that in the local village. We do offer sky sports in both the hotel dining room and the clubhouse and I am also pleased to announce that the hotel dining room now offers a fully stocked bar.

We do our utmost to satisfy every one of our customers but we are not perfect. I would like to think that a balanced view of all of your reviews shows how hard we work on our guests satisfaction each and every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We have just spent 2 nights here.The room was large with a huge comfy bed & spotlessly clean but considering the price we paid for a superior room you would expect to get 2 bedside lamps & have a light over the dressing table.Now for the bad.....I booked a table for dinner on the first night for husbands 65th birthday.(this was done a few months ago) we went down to dinner we were informed that the dining room was closed & we should go to the club house bar. On arrival a young man looked surprised to see us but sat us at a table and bought cutlery then in formed that there was a problem with the gas & most things were off the menu. The menu that was shown to us was for the bar food & most of the items had black felt tip crosses by them. We were offered Lasagne! Considering the blurb that is on the website I find this totally unexceptable. We left & went to a pub down the road. Would stay again but certainly wouldn't risk booking a meal.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Lovely hotel, the room was clean and well appointed with everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The bed was huge and so very comfortable so I slept really well and woke refreshed. The bathroom was palatial and very clean. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of fruit and cereals and a very tasty freshly cooked hot breakfast - best poached eggs I've had for a long while. Would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie_Smith1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed for three nights for a wedding. great hotel, staff all very helpful and pleasant Breakfast excellent, room modern and extremely clean. Would recommend to anyone. Had Cauvery lunch which was good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank shegill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel complex is not pretty, in fact it looks like a block of flats but the rooms themselves were very well furnished and very clean with decent ensuite showers. We used the clock house meeting room which is good for a group of eight, however we were disturbed a lot by the Gardner so frequently had to close all the windows to drown out the noise of the lawn mower. Food was very good but limited choice. The bar in the clubhouse served some good real ales and the views were great. The venue is extremely good value for money for a business meeting for less than ten people.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank BankofPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews