We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good honest pub grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Malt Shovel

The Malt Shovel
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Gaydon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Home Counties UK
Level Contributor
231 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good honest pub grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

When you are responsible for feeding a crowd - thirteen in my case - it is not easy to select somewhere to please everyone. But as soon as we arrived at The Malt Shovel at Gaydon we knew we had chosen well.

Excellent road signage brought us quickly to the pretty gardens that surround this delightful restaurant. Once inside, Debi our friendly proprietress made us welcome and relaxed.

A comprehensive menu - just how can some Chefs cope when others demand five days notice? - made everyone's choice very easy.

Quaint 'beamed' charm and good service what more could you ask?

Well, good food of cousre and that is what we had with good portions as well.

All reasonably priced - we shall be back, all of us!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    53
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Tried this pub while staying locally. Staff good and welcoming but food a bit disappointing. Good car park and nice ambience. leek and potato soup thin and bland. Lamb pie was dominated by the gravy in which it sat, and did not seem to have met the pie before plating.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Quality food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

It's a pub, but the food was amazing. I had the haddock and yes it was great. Will go back again, although pricy, but I wasn't paying!!! Drinks are good. Only problem is that where I was sitting the floor boards were not even, making it uncomfortable to sit, but I have been a few times and that is a minor issue. Oh yeah and the lemon cheesecake was unbelievably good! Yum. Want to go again!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pritesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good pub near the motor museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We went to this pub twice while we were visiting the museum nearby, the ale was well kept and the food superb. A good range on the menu and a specials board. Friendly staff too what more do you want!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice lunch in a proper village local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I had the chicken hotpot special and M had a smoked salmon and prawn salad. To follow, bread and butter pudding and cheesecake respectively. All nice home made pub grub, very large portions, friendly service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank alc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Malt Shovel also viewed

Lighthorne, Warwickshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Ladbroke, Southam
 

Been to The Malt Shovel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing