We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”
Review of Portchester Castle

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Portchester Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Portchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a local attraction for my family and one of considerable historic importance. The views from the keep are impressive! Parking is free and the surrounding grounds and walks along the shore are very pleasant. Opening times vary during the year, so check before arriving. The small church in the castle grounds is worth a visit and also has a small cafe.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank julie56smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    167
    32
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed not to be given an audio tour”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Having lived in Portsmouth for twenty-four years and not having visited Porchester Castle since 1995 I eventually visited with a friend in May 2014 because we both had English Heritage membership. We were totally unaware at the time that an audio tour is (free) to everybody.

Of course there is no such thing as free as it is included in the entry fee but we felt cheated not to have been offered audio tour and are unsure if in fact it is not offered to members.

Naughty either way and English Heritage should look into that as realistically members have paid too.

It is anyway a lovely castle to visit with loaded history going back to the third century, the grounds are immaculate and very interesting. The grounds themselves are free of charge to walk around and a lovely beach to stroll along so well worth visiting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julia P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“nice day out with family”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A really good place for family day out; there is a car park next to the castle; you can have a picnic on the grass; there is a charge to enter the tower; it`s a bit expensive for a family visit - about £13.50; we used our EH cards so we paid no fee; we did a nice walk around the castle too; definitely will recommend;

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank desito07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nice walk”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've grown up with Portchester Castle on the door step. It's a nice dog walk as a free attraction. If you want to pay extra you can go inside, but there's not anything inside, the main attraction of paying to go inside is the ability to go to the top of the keep and see the views over portchester nd the Solent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Portchester Castle”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A pleasant place to visit on a sunny day. The climb of 138 steps to the roof of the castle is worth the view if you are fit enough.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MBKOKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portchester Castle also viewed

 
Milford on Sea, Lymington
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Portchester Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing