We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love visiting here”
Review of River Spice

River Spice
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Portchester
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love visiting here”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

It's been a while since I visited, 1st time since the re-brand from the Clay Oven to River Spice. I've never had a bad meal here, and I have used it for both sit in and takeaway's. However what really makes this place is Sammy, the man with an address book in his head, once you have been there it is rare that he will forget your name, and ask after your family. Friendly, efficient, excellent food, you really cannot go wrong here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Namretaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    10
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
fareham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Famoulous food and surroundings”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We regularly visit the river spice and always find the food wonderfull and the staff very friendly. The surroundings are very pleasing on the eye and the menu is very comprehensive keep up the giod work !

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 123marknt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delish”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We've been here a couple of times now and every time the food is fabulous. We've tried a wide range of dishes and not once been disappointed. Staff are friendly, helpful and chatty which is nice. They also remember you if you go back again and make you feel like a welcome old friend. Can't fault it

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaSigalet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food!!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Restaurant revamped in 2013. Very contemporary feel, modern, plenty of space at the tables. Food is really very good. Service attentive and the owner Sammy is very involved. Hard to describe but the food is slightly different from run of the mill Indian cuisine, feels fresher and more vibrant, with good variety. Would certainly recommend.

Helpful?
2 Thank paxopaxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here, four of us came and the service was its usual high standard, we would definitely highly recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank 727Lisa727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Spice also viewed

Portchester, Hampshire
 

Been to River Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing