We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem of a bed and breakfast”
Review of The Old Forge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Streatley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Forge B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Streatley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little gem of a bed and breakfast”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

You will receive a very warm welcome at the Old Forge. Hosts Kath and Roger make you feel at home straight away. Accommodation was very clean and tidy. Meals excellent. Any questions about local facilities or directions, all helpfully answered. To sum up, it is a lovely place run by lovely people, where nothing is too much trouble. So if you are looking for a place to stay near Luton, this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger S, Owner at The Old Forge B&B, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thank you John for your review it is very much appreciated. We really hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Roger & Kath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
25
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Met at the door by Kath and welcomed into the home. The kingham room is well equipped and a good size. Had a really great nights sleep both nights and the breakfast is as you like it. Your hosts Kath and roger really make you feel welcome and would have no hesitation in going to stay again. Honestly, if your in the Luton area and looking for a place, go to the old forge. Nice people, nice room, and much better value for money than the hotels. There is a good little pub 2 mins walk where you can get a nice meal, they take cards. WIFI INCLUDED - good speed too.

Room Tip: Just the two rooms so much less noise or chance of distraction. Upstairs is en-suite too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger S, Owner at The Old Forge B&B, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Thanks Dan for your great review.
It is much appreciated and hope to see you again in the future.
We will keep a razor to one side ready!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed here for a night in February 2013 so we could attend a local party. We were in the downstairs room, which is spotlessly clean, well equipped and recently decorated. Not a huge room and the newly decorated shower room is along a short corridor, but great for a short stay, and the hosts are very welcoming and provided a lovely cooked breakfast which we were ready for after the party the night before.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_stanton20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I was looking for somewhere to stay while working locally for the week. I'm so glad to have found this b+b. Kath and Roger are so welcoming on arrival. I was readily accepted in their lovely home where I felt very comfortable. The Kingham room was spotless and very well equipped with everything you may need. Had such a lovely stay, with a great breakfast to start the day to. Nothing seemed too much trouble, would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a great place to stay. It would be top of my list to return, so hopefully I'll get more work in the area! Thank you so much for everything. Regards, Paul.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

I stayed with Kathy and Roger for 5 nights whilst working in Luton and it was a most delightful experience - a veritable 'home from home'! The room was very comfortable and full of character, with plenty of draw/hanging space for storage. The full English breakfast was very scrumptious and left me well set up to face the rigours of the day when there was little time for lunch. When we awoke to find snow on the ground one morning Roger cleared a path to my car and scraped all the snow off it so that I could head off into town with no further ado - way beyond the call of duty but all very much appreciated. The two of them were kindness at every turn and couldn't have been more helpful - I spend a lot of time working away from home and this is most certainly high up in the Premier League of B & B accommodation - I couldn't recommend it more highly and look forward enormously to being back in the area so that I can enjoy another round of 1st class hospitality. Thank you both for such a delightful stay!

David Price

Room Tip: Where there is a lift, always ensure that your room isn't adjacent to it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at this excellent B&B when walking The Chiltern Way. The owners were very welcoming and helpful, and the accommodation very comfortable - just what you need after a long day's walking! I can definately recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misterpips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed on a Saturday when attending a friends party. The room was extremely comfortable and had a great nights sleep. nothing was too much trouble and the full english breakfast was delicious. Kathy and Roger were brilliant hosts and I would certainly recommend them to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Streatley
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Luton North
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Luton (Airport) Hotel
4.8 mi away
Icon Hotel Luton
Icon Hotel Luton
#4 of 25 in Luton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
4.3 mi away
King William Hotel
King William Hotel
#10 of 25 in Luton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Leaside
The Leaside
#3 of 25 in Luton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Forge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Forge B&B

Property: The Old Forge B&B
Address: 133 Sharpenhoe Road | Luton, Streatley, Luton LU3 3PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton > Streatley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Streatley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Forge is a very comfortable traditional bed and breakfast with an attractive rear garden, secure off road parking in semi-rural Bedfordshire. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Forge B&B Streatley, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing