We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stop on the Ickneild Way”
Review of The Old Forge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Streatley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Forge B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Streatley B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stop on the Ickneild Way”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I was walking the Ridgeway / Ickneild Way, from Princes Risborough to Hitchin, and this was a great place to stop. Very kind, friendly hosts who welcomed me into their home, gave me a beautiful, comfortable room and an excellent breakfast. The place really is exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathrynSymons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger S, Owner at The Old Forge B&B, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased the weather was so good and you were able to enjoy walking the Ickneild Way which is beautiful. I have replenished my first-aid kit, so I am all prepared for anyone in need of a plaster, etc. in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
25
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Booked in for 6 month Mon to Thurs, never had anything to complain about. Always spotless, warm and welcoming and a good varity of 'suprise me' breakfasts which can be an issue when on a long stay.

Many thanks Roger and Cath for looking after me.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giles0T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger S, Owner at The Old Forge B&B, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you so much for writing your review, with your lovely comments. We very much enjoyed having you stay and it certainly didn't seem like six months you were with us! We hope you and your family are well and we wish you a very happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed one night to break the journey home north from Heathrow airport. A lovely characterful B&B and would thoroughly recommend it. Small, cosy, welcoming, spotlessly clean, very peaceful and an excellent breakfast. Just 45mins from Heathrow and easy to drive to off the M1. We will certainly be staying again and will recommend it to all our friends.
Phil & Julie Cawood

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger S, Owner at The Old Forge B&B, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a great review. We are glad that your stay was a convenient stopover on your journey back home and of course pleased you found your keys! We wish you both a happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We have just stayed 4 nights at the The Old Forge as we were escaping from the builders in our house! We arrived rather stressed and were immediately put at ease by the very friendly and warm welcome. The room was excellent and great attention to detail was evident. The breakfast was everything you could wish for. A big thank you to Cath for 'going' the extra mile' and being so helpful when my husband was feeling unwell. Thank you both for a very restful respite.

Room Tip: We had the Kingham room which was ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger S, Owner at The Old Forge B&B, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you so much for writing a great review, it is very much appreciated. We apologise for not responding earlier, it has been a oversight on our part. We sincerely hope you had a good Christmas with your family and we wish you both every happiness for 2014 in your new home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

thKath and Roger have a beautiful home where we spent three nights in an immaculately presented room: large comfortable bed; excellent ensuite; easy to access wifi; tea/coffee making; and plenty of space for cases and clothes. We slept very well with good heating and no noise, and were provided with a delicious cooked breakfast each morning. We enjoyed chatting with Kath and learning about the history of the house and the area. We chose a B&B over larger, more impersonal accommodation and were very pleased that we took the time and trouble to do so.
Juliet and Tom, now resident in Australia.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomCasey4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger S, Owner at The Old Forge B&B, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review, it was so very kind of you. I hope we are lucky enough to see you again before you fly back to Perth. In the meantime, we wish you both a very happy Christmas and that you see some snow!

Kind regards,
Roger and Kath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Woods, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The hosts were lovely. I arrived late, and they welcomed me warmly, and gave me a pitcher of milk to have with tea in my room. They helped me get a taxi in the morning, and told me where to walk in the country (which was beautiful). The room was small, as the building is several hundred years old, but beautifully appointed, and the bathroom had everything you could need. I would definitely recommend this Bed and Breakfast. It is very, very close to Luton airport, but it feels like you are a world away.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendylaguna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger S, Owner at The Old Forge B&B, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a very kind review. I am so pleased you enjoyed our quaint house and had time to see our beautiful countryside. I hope your taxi ride to London was o.k. and the rest of your holiday was enjoyable.

Kind regards,
Roger and Kath Sykes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We spent Sept. 5 and 6 here, and it was truly a breath of fresh air after busy, bustling London!
This is a charming house, with an interesting history, and charming hosts, Roger and Kath. Friendly and lovely hosts, and all will remember Kath's lovely laugh! We were looking for a place to go walking in the country side and this was perfect. We also enjoyed Wrest House with its famous formal gardens and 18th century French-style chateau- only a few minutes away by car. The bedroom was cozy, the bathroom was deluxe, and the breakfast devine- my husband had smoked salmon on toast! There is ample information in the room supplemented by great advice from our hosts. We also enjoyed the lovely backyard and protected, gated area for our rented car.
Want to go to a cozy, rural pub just a few minutes walk down the road? Check out Checkers!
We highly recommend this place also.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tippytoes245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger S, Owner at The Old Forge B&B, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review. We are sorry we are late to reply, but we have been on a well needed holiday. With regard to the bedroom it is not large due to our home being a cottage, but we have chosen very good quality beds, linen and incorporated books, etc. to make it as cosy as possible. With regard to value, we endeavour to provide as high a quality as possible and the fact our property is very high maintenance, we therefore feel our prices are fair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Streatley
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Luton North
4.3 mi away
The Leaside
The Leaside
#3 of 25 in Luton
513 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Chiltern Hotel
Chiltern Hotel
#19 of 25 in Luton
391 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
13.9 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 10 in St Albans
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Forge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Forge B&B

Property: The Old Forge B&B
Address: 133 Sharpenhoe Road | Luton, Streatley, Luton LU3 3PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton > Streatley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Streatley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Forge is a very comfortable traditional bed and breakfast with an attractive rear garden, secure off road parking in semi-rural Bedfordshire. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Forge B&B Streatley, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing