We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bridge View House B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Kilcrohane B&B and Inns
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“ok stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

This b&b is right in the middle of the village. Unfortunately we were in the 'overflow house' which is not. It did mean a drive after the pub which is not ideal. Breakfast was good, though again a drive to the main b&b in the morning. House was nice, if a bit strange that we were sharing with a strange couple in what was essentially a house to be rented in the entirety. Hostess was kind and welcoming.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank River0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    4
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle under Lyme
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed at Bridge View House for 3 nights from the 2nd March 2012. We arrived to a very warm welcome, and homemade scones with tea or coffee. The bedroom was simply furnished and spotlessly clean with an en-suite, coffee and tea tray, hairdryer, and a most comfortable bed. The view from the bedroom was across the village to the sea. Our hosts Ann, Cornelius, Rita and family are really lovely, and the food was good home cooking, mouthwatering and delicious, The breakfast was superb, with lots of choice including porridge, fruit juice, full irish, poached eggs on toast with bacon or tomato, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, boiled eggs, served with toast, lovely soda bread and finally homemade scones, with plenty of tea and coffee, and we were asked if there was anything else we wanted. Next came the request ,what sandwich would we like for our packed lunch? which came with a chocolate biscuit and fresh fruit, if you want a hot drink, then you would have to take your own flasks. The evening meals were superb, again nothing was to much trouble, the home bred slow roast pork was melt in the mouth, the roast beef was too, and the home made soups were delicious. At 45 euros per night per person for Bed Breakfast, Packed Lunch and Dinner was exceptional value for money. The short walk along the stream and over a small bridge to Eileen Fitzpatricks traditional Irish pub, was well worth it, and the welcome and the Guiness was very good too. We would recommend it to anyone, that wants to explore the area of the Sheeps Head Peninsula.
If you want to explore the Beare Peninsula and the coastline of County Cork, it does take about 20/25mins to reach the mainland from the peninsula, but the thought of the welcome and dinner at night draws you back to this peaceful haven.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the house have the view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbbeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
373 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 577 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

I stayed here with some hiking friends in March. It was a return visit after a few years. The per night package at €45 per person sharing (€55 for single occupancy) was exceptional value. It included Bed with huge breakfast, evening meal and a packed lunch. Superb value when you consider that most B&B's charge that price alone for B&B.
3 of us shared room 2 which is a great family room. Two of us slept in a single and double bed in the main part of the room and the other slept in the attached room with it's comfortable double bed. Each room has an en suite. Our other friend had a double room to herself. Fresh scones were in our room on arrival and they have tea and coffee making facilities there.
Dinner consisted of a choice of two starters, two mains, two desserts, tea/coffee. it was delicious. Soup or Salad, Beef or Fish and fruit meringue or banana split. Four vegetables were served with the main course. Service was excellent, not rushed, just right. I chose the home made vegetable soup. The main course beef was melt in the mouth and the vegetables cooked to perfection.
The following morning we had a huge breakfast served to our table with plenty of everything, right down to the honey for our porridge and a plate of toast, freshly baked brown bread and white scones.

Just before we departed for our day exploring the sheeps head peninsula, our flasks were filled and we were given a well wrapped freshly made doorstop ham and salad sandwich, a piece of fruit and a chocolate bar.

I slept like a log there, the house is in an exceptionally quiet part of the peninsula and as it is stepped back from the road there are no car noises to disturb.

Ann Donegan, and her family (Rita was our chef for the two days), continue to provide a warm warm welcome where nothing is too much trouble for them.

The rooms are simple, yet comfortable. The TV reception isn't great, but that's not what you go to Sheeps head for.

The village of Kilcrohane is tiny. One shop, two pubs, a church and a few more buildings is the extent of it. Fitzpatricks pub which is just a two minute walk from the B&B (yet far enough away to be quiet) is a really quaint place for a pint and is run by the infamous Eileen, who is some character. Here you can meet and chat to the locals who are very friendly and waste no time in giving you advice about the area. The roaring fire there is a bonus and you really know you are in Ireland when you visit Eileens pub. Not to disappoint sporting fans, Eileen has installed a very large wide screen TV on one of the bar walls but it rarely encroaches on conversation.

I would highly recommend this B&B to you if you want to explore beautiful west cork and in particular this peninsula which in my mind is one of the most beautiful in the country.

You can also eat at the restaurant in Bridgeview House, and you don't have to be a resident to do so.
www.bridgeviewhouse.com

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bryno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

This was truly a little gem, a lovely no nonsense B&B set in magnificent settings., we really enjoyed our stay here. Host was so nice & lovely food, a stay here and you will not be let down. in this gorgeous location.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redstone909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

I stayed in bridge view house last month. I would recommend it to any one, it fantastic for couple, family's and small groups. With there warm welcome and wholesome food, you will be well looked after... And at a very good rate too. :) With its recent refurbishments, with Eileen's old Irish traditional pub and fantastic views through the scenic walks along sheep's head peninsula. its a trip to remember!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank p0sitivethinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
373 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 577 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2007

This is a simple B&B run by Ann Donegan and her family located in the tiny village of Kilcrohane on the Sheeps Head Peninsula, South West of the town of Bantry, County Cork.
The rooms are olde worlde (90's) but spotlessly clean and have TV, Kettle for Tea, En Suite. Towels are provided but no shampoos, soaps etc, so bring those with you
It is most suited for anyone who wants to explore the superb Sheeps Head Peninsula, and wants a few days peace and quiet.

Ann and her family do an excellent B&B at 30 euro per person per night. (prices at April '07) The breakfast is traditional Irish and very generous, just like the family. You can have full Irish, Poached eggs with bacon, scrambled eggs with salmon, all very wholesome and delicious.
They will make up packed lunches for walkers but do not provide flasks so if you want a hot drink, bring your own flask and they will fill it.
Anns eldest daughter is a trained chef and provides evening meals. A two course meal with a generous glass of wine costs about 25 euro and the main courses when I stayed there were Steak (Sirloin or Fillet) Monkfish, Chicken in a Baileys Sauce, Duck a l'Orange with enough potatoes and vegetables to feed an army. There is a wine list and they also serve some draught beers. You will have a most peaceful sleep in this simple home where the welcome and service has to be seen to be believed.
The family will be extending the house soon so get there before that happens and it becomes too popular.
The village of Kilcrohane has two pubs, a post office, small shop and church and is a jewel tucked away in a South Westerly corner of Ireland. Miss it at your peril.

  • Liked — The Welcome, the location, the food
  • Disliked — That I did not book another night
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bryno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilcrohane
12.6 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
11.6 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
17.8 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Carbery Cottage Guest Lodge
8.3 mi away
Rock Hill House
Rock Hill House
#3 of 10 in Schull
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sea Lodge B & B
Sea Lodge B & B
#3 of 6 in Durrus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge View House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge View House B&B

Property: Bridge View House B&B
Address: | Bantry, Kilcrohane, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kilcrohane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kilcrohane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridge View House Bed & Breakfast and restaurant overlooking Dunmanus Bay . Bridge View has been newly decorated. This is a family run Bed & Breakfast near Bantry owned by the Donegan family. We have a large garden for you to sit back and relax and enjoy a little bit of heaven. It is situated on the outskirts of Kilcrohane village close by to the church and within walking distance of local hostelries. It is ideal for a quiet relaxing holiday for both adults and children. Kilcrohane is located at the western side of the famous Sheeps Head peninsula on the wild Atlantic way, renowned for its magnificent scenery, beautiful hill walks such as our Sheeps Head Way and cycling route. The Sheeps Head Way has proudly won two fabulous awards in 2009. There are many secluded unspoilt beaches. The area is well known for its sea fishing and if one fancies diving we have some of the finest dive sites in the country in the area with its clear waters. In our restaurant we have have a la carte meanu where we cater to suite your dietary needs. A warm welcome awaits you at Bridge View House; on arrival you will be served tea/coffee and some treats . We ensure you will have a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bridge View House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing