We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful week in West Cork”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Fawnmore

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Kilcrohane, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

tmw1708
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Peaceful week in West Cork”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Well appointed cottage with amazing views over the bay. Quiet location but only a 10 minute walk to pub and shop so not completely remote. Great location for a walking holiday or just for a bit of peace and quiet. Owner very helpful.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samiamosh...
Sallins, Ireland
1 review
“Ms”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had the most fabulous family holiday in this wonderfully located house against a backdrop of amazing views. It was an ideal location to get away from everything and spend good family time exploring the area!

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
18 Aug 2017
Thanks Sam, glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewsfa...
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cozy quiet cottage with ocean views in a wild and beautiful rural coastal area”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This traditional stone cottage in Kilcrohane was a welcome home to us and our 6 year old son on our vacation in Ireland. We were staying in B&B's on a road trip, and I found myself looking forward to the privacy and space that the cottage would provide and it did just that. The hosts were kind and welcoming, offering us help for anything we needed. They gave us some coffee for the morning because we arrived after the local shop was closed. The sheep's head peninsula is a beautiful coastal area of west cork. We could watch sheep grazing in the meadow from the cottage. The pub with guinness was just down the road, a 2 minute drive. A pub with really good food was in the next town, a fifteen minute drive.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreana...
Wexford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful traditional cosy comfortable cottage with ocean views on a beautiful peninsula, and lovely friendly owners!”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We recently stayed at this beautiful cottage for two weeks, it is close to the village of Kilcrohane on the Sheep's Head peninsula. We were attracted by the cottage itself, the quiet location, and the West Cork area in general.

From the moment of making the booking enquiry to the moment of departure, the owners were extremely prompt, helpful, and friendly...just lovely people! No question or inquiry was too much. Upon arrival at the cottage, we were delighted to find that it was as lovely as it looks in the photos...and settling in was effortless.

From the cottage, there are beautiful views of the ocean and surrounding landscape. We woke up every morning feeling like we were in a dream, it is just so beautiful! The house itself is very cosy and comfortable, well-equipped, and very user-friendly. The beds are very comfortable, and the central heating system is easy to use and heats up the house really well. There is also a stove fire which keeps the house toasty warm in winter time or on a cold evening, and Mary and Flor generously supplied abundant wood to keep the fire going. Mary and Flor were also extremely helpful and kind with directions and some other queries during the first day or two of our stay.

Sheep's Head peninsula is stunning from any viewing point, and there are great walks all over the peninsula, either on foot from the house, or drive just a few minutes to find a myriad of walking choices. Bantry is only a 30 minute drive and has beautiful restaurants, and the beautiful Glengarriff area is just a little further on from Bantry. Ballydehob, Schull, and Skibbereen are also within easy driving distance, and a visit to the Beara peninsula is easy and highly recommended.

All in all, we had a wonderful break, and loved the house and the whole area. We're already planning our next holiday there!

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
16 Apr 2017
Andrena was a great guest left the house in immaculate condition. I glad to hear you had a great trip to the sheepshead and we'd love to host you again.
Flor and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gannyr
Waringstown, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A great holiday”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed in this beautiful house with our son daughter in law 5 year old grandaughter 3 and 6 month old grandsons for a week in August. Views are amazing and garden very safe for grandchildren to play in. House was spotless and well kitted out. Mary was very helpful. Perhaps a book with information about the area would be helpful and where the nearest shops coffee stops etc are. The weather was great and this added to a wonderful holiday .

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Delighted to hear your had a good stay. General info for area is a great idea. I'll pull together a guide with links that I can email to guests prior to their stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonaldGas...
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location with stunning views”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Nicely renovated cottage which sleeps six + baby in a fantastic, quiet and beautiful area close to Kilcrohane village. Shower room should be upgraded though!! WiFi and/or Internet access would be a big improvement. Cottage is not suitable for guests with asthmatic illness!

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and space of the cottage
Liked least: showerroom and lack of Internet access
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin W
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay in tranquil setting”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

this place is a real gem - lots to do - Eileen's bar just down the road with cold guinness - the views from the house are spectacular, place is secluded and yet in easy reach of places to eat and drink. Property is lovely, large wood burning fire if cold and central heating, Mary left lots of logs for the fire and made sure everything in tip top condition before we arrived - we had our 10 year old boy with us and found plenty to keep us busy.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.