We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business for sale - not very surprised”
Review of Beans - MOVED

Beans
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Description: Family run Café/Coffee shop specialising in Sweet and Savory Pancakes embracing the history of Olney being the home of the traditional Shrove Tuesday Pancake Race. We also sell a selection of freshly made hot and cold Breakfasts and Lunches, fantastic coffee, cakes and tray bakes.
Restaurant details
Description: Family run Café/Coffee shop specialising in Sweet and Savory Pancakes embracing the history of Olney being the home of the traditional Shrove Tuesday Pancake Race. We also sell a selection of freshly made hot and cold Breakfasts and Lunches, fantastic coffee, cakes and tray bakes.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Business for sale - not very surprised”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Sunday morning Full English breakfast seems like a good idea but not today. The bacon was overcooked though not burnt, the sausages were cheap and the egg was solid and rubbery.

It's a shame really. The cafe is in such a good location by the Market Square and it looks characterful but the service seems tired and just going through the motions.

There are lots of cafes offering breakfast and yes Costa Coffee is newish arrival close by too but the sign in the window says it all - business for sale.

I might come back when its under the new owners but not before.

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We've been here a few times for either a coffee and a bun or a light lunch, food is fab as is the service, wifi is available although in some areas of the café we've found we couldn't pick it up ( Might be due to the thick original walls of the buildings).
We'll always pop in now and again when we need refreshments, so much nicer and cheaper than the well known coffee shop chain opposite

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not magical Beans”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Despite living within two miles of this business if it was the only coffee shop in Olney I would never recommend it to people. Went in just before 3 pm on Friday 27/12 2013 ordered two paninis, a latte and a hot chocolate. The place had a few customers but was not busy. The two young women took the order and money and asked us to take a seat. It took nearly 5 minutes to produce the drinks. Latte was okay the hot chocolate seemed cool rather than hot however i wasn't fussed. By 3:15 no sign of the panini's however we now knew how good Beyonce's latest albumn was and now wished thatIi too had received it as a Christmas present. Went to the counter to ask for the panini's, shock horror all round, however it still took 5 minutes so they were obviously completely forgotten in the musical excitement. When the food was finally delivered there was no apology or sign of regret, it was put on the table with a cheery "there you go". The shop had started to fill up a bit with friends of the two staff which I presume explains why they were too busy chatting to clear the tables which customers had vacated 10 minutes beforehand. Will in future go to Costa or the Courtyard Brasserie. This was only my second time in Beans and the first was only marginally better. Whoever owns this establishment might want to start supervising the staff a bit better and maybe try a bit of customer service training. The Costa was so busy we couldn't get in and having sampled the service in Beans I understand why.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Most enjoyable”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

When I arrived I tried to decide what sandwich to have. The lady behind the counter asked what I would like and they made me a fresh BLT and a tes all for under a fiver.

Will definitely be back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Milkshake very big”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Nice place, service was good. The milkshakes are very good but big so I would by one and share between two children. Ours didn't finish there's and it was a waste of money.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ceri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beans also viewed

Olney, Buckinghamshire
Weston Underwood, Olney
 
Olney, Buckinghamshire
Olney, Buckinghamshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing