We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mai Chau lodge”
Review of Mai Chau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mai Chau Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mai Chau
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mai Chau lodge”
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

A welcoming accommodation in a truly lovely setting by a lake.
Lake pretty and full of water Lillie's to add to the charm of the place.
Our room on 2nd floor nicely appointed and comfortable.
Restaurant food well presented and plentiful and well located looking over the lake
I would love to gave seen this area when sunny but this was not to be in November
A pleasant walk to nearby local village where one was able to talk to and experience life of the village people.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Susie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaiChauLodge2011, General Manager at Mai Chau Lodge, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Mrs. L.,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and for having chosen our hotel whilst recently in Mai Chau.

It was a pleasure to read that you were overall highly satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad that despite the foggy and cold weather, you could see the charm of our beautiful valley. Your enthusiasm for our hotel , from the room to the water lily pond, is very much appreciated and is a great source of motivation for all of us at the Mai Chau Lodge.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future (hopefully when the weather is clear, sunny and warmer), and meanwhile, I wish you an excellent continuation of your journey! I hope that you will go back home with the heart full of beautiful memories from Vietnam.

Warmest Regards,

Mae Monnet
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    141
    31
    11
    2
See reviews for
73
153
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

After reading several negative reviews about Mai Chau Lodge, we set forth on our visit with a slight bit of hesitation. Our worries, however were completely unfounded as our entire experience (3 days/2 nights) was nothing but positive. Yes, the lodge is located on a road that is very busy during the daytime. If you are a late riser, simply request a pool-view room and you should be absolutely fine. The rooms are decorated in a very tropical style and are more than comfortable. The food was excellent - breakfast is buffet style with eggs cooked to order, lunch is either a set menu or ala carte. Dinner was a set menu on one night and ala carte on the next but both evenings the food was really good.

The highlight of our stay was participating in all of the lodge activities with our guide Cuong. We enjoyed doing all the best that the lodge has to offer - from a private visit to Soldier Cave, to a walk-about at the nearby village and trek to a couple of Hmong Villages about 50 minutes away to mountain biking through the valley and having tea in a local family's home. Our brief 3 day visit to Mai Chau was one of our highlights during our visit to Vietnam.

A stay here is comparatively expensive but not at all in relation to many other places in the world. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience and would heartily recommend it!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaiChauLodge2011, General Manager at Mai Chau Lodge, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Mr. and Mrs. H,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor and for having chosen the Mai Chau Lodge whilst recently in Vietnam.
It is so wonderful to know that we were able to provide you with an authentic experience of rural Vietnam and that your stay in our beautiful valley has been the highlight of your trip in Vietnam!

Your kind comments about the room and the food are greatly appreciated. Customer care is among our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.
Be assured that all team members have been informed of your positive feedback and we all look forward to renewing this experience to you soon. I have also brought your comments to the attention of Cuong, your local guide, who was very pleased to learn how much you appreciated his service and that you enjoyed discovering his hometown.

Thanking you again for your kind words, I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Mae Monnet
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Mai Chau is really worth seeing, and the Lodge has a good package of excursions to give you a flavour of it. Their guide is really the highlight of staying here. As others have mentioned, the facility itself has seen better days. It would be charming if it wasn't still being passed off as a luxury accommodation, which it is not. It may be the best bet for seeing this part of Vietnam until other hotels open, and they surely will. Be forewarned that there is much license taken in the descriptions used online: "Unique Mountain View" for example is a view into a mountainside approximately 50m across the driveway and highway. While the staff mean well they are just not well trained and the food is at best institutional, which is surprising in a country that has really good food almost everywhere you go. I didn't make use of the spa, so no comment there. Cleanliness can't be faulted.

Room Tip: Go for the Pool view. Mountain view is deceptively named; it should be "Highway view", alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohhello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaiChauLodge2011, General Manager at Mai Chau Lodge, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Mai Chau Lodge and for having taken the time to share your remarks with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests who always raise important points.

It is with great regret we read that your stay at the lodge was not to your expectations. We were very concerned regarding your comments and I would like to offer you my sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced with your room and the facilities. Please rest assured that we have taken very serious note of your remarks about the food and the staff and that they have been relayed to the persons concerned.

On a positive note, it was indeed a pleasure to read that you could experience the real rural Vietnam and that you enjoyed Mai Chau Valley itself. Moreover, we are delighted that you were highly satisfied with your local guide and the activities included in your package.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Mai Chau Lodge and to show you that the hotel has the charm you have been missing. I hope that you enjoy the continuation of your trip in Vietnam and that you will go back to Canada the heart full of beautiful memories.

We look forward to your next visit and remain,

Yours Faithfully,

Mae Monnet
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had an awesome time at the lodge. The drive from Hanoi was long but thats what we expected. Check in was good complimented with towel service and a welcome drink. Our room on the first night was not great (since it faced the busy road) but we received an upgrade the next day. The manager/owner was great in assisting and answering our questions. The daily itinerary was awesome. The guides were great and very informative. We really enjoyed the cycling tour of the nearby village and the 'high tea' Vietnam style with the 90 year old lady. The entertainment (traditional dancing) at night was great and the dinner service unbeatable. We even received a rice wine souvenir bottle on departing the lodge. High recommended this lodge combined with the 3 day complete escape package!

Room Tip: Ppol view room a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_A_Travels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaiChauLodge2011, General Manager at Mai Chau Lodge, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you so much for posting such a beautiful review on TripAdvisor.

It was a pleasure to read about your impressions, it is exactly that feeling we would hope all our guests experience!
We were sincerely delighted to know that you appreciated our services and the activities included in your Complete Escape package.

Kindly be assured that your positive feedback meant a lot for us and that it has been my pleasure to share your warm comments with all the teams.

Thanking you again and we hope to have the pleasure of your return visit soon.

Kindest Regards,

Mae Monnet
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

This was suppose 2 b the highlight hotel of da other 3 hotels that we stayed in since we paid alot more and expected a scenic stay..We have quiet a few positive and negative feedback about this lodge..firstly, the views from the rooms are not what it seems from da official website.. definetly photoshoped!!! and misleading..we arrived late evening and when we were alocated our rooms they informed us of mountain views..there is absolutely no view at all..you hv get behind da hotel where there are paddy fields and few mountain landscapes where da location is quiet scenic..In the evenings they have a thai folk dance which is quiet intresting..the rooms are very small but neat and clean..staffs are friendly and helpfull..the food at the restaurant was good but expensive since there is no other choice in Mai Chau..we found the service at the hotel very good..there is a commercial village at walkable distance behind da hotel where you could do a lot of shopping and ppl who like authentic vietnemese food will enjoy..there are even homestays at the village only if v knew abt them we would wud hv stayed there since they are way cheaper..i am not saying tht i wouldnt reccommend this place but at the same time dont expect alot..

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Suraj C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaiChauLodge2011, General Manager at Mai Chau Lodge, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Mr. C,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and for having chosen our hotel whilst recently in Mai Chau.

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

It is with great regret we read that your stay was not to your expectations.
We were very concerned regarding your comments about the pictures on the website. Indeed, kindly be assured that they are not photoshoped but they have been taken shortly after the opening of the hotel and the surrounding vegetation was not so lush.
Second, I am sorry that you were disappointed with views from the rooms; indeed, the rooms on the front of the hotel are considered as "Mountain View" though the others at the back of the hotel "Swimming Pool view". Guests can choose between the two views and the rates are of course not the same.

On a positive note, it was indeed a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our services and enjoyed the food, the location and the activities.
Your kind words for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for the entire team.

Hoping to have the honor of welcoming you again very soon,

Kindest Regards,

Mae Monnet
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Hi All arrived at Mai Chau lodge on 11/10/2013 and what a place to visit. All the staff were fantastic and very helpful. We spent 3 days and 2 nights there and had all the guided tours with a local guide called "Cuong" very helpful and a high understanding of all the local areas. The cave and village tours are a must and the 10km cycle was great. Meeting locals at the local villages and lunch with a local family was also a highlight. The traditional dances on day 2 after dinner were all fabulous and the staff in the restaurant went out of there way to make you feel welcome all the time when in there. Unfortunately the weather was not the best as it had light showers on day 2 and morning of day 3

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishie000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaiChauLodge2011, General Manager at Mai Chau Lodge, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and for having chosen our hotel while recently in Mai Chau.

It was a pleasure to read about your impressions, it is exactly that feeling we would hope all our guests experience: authenticity, friendliness and cultural exchange.

Your comments about the staff are so very generous! Kindly be assured that it has been my pleasure to share your warm comments with all the teams. As you may know, 99% of the staff come from the surrounding villages and I am delighted that you could feel that the service they offer is genuine and sincere. At the Mai Chau Lodge, we do care about our guests and their satisfaction is the highest reward we can get.

I have also immediately shared your kind words to Cuong, your local guide and he was more than happy to know that you enjoyed your time with him and he was proud to have been able to pass on his cultural knowledge about the area.

Thanking you again and we hope to have the pleasure of your return visit soon.

Kindest Regards,

Mae Monnet
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We went to Mai Chau following feedback and advice from a travel agent. We felt we saw the real Viet Nam whilst here, wonderful villages, very picturesque surroundings and the service was faultless. The lodge however needs some love and maintenance. The hand rail to the massage hut was not secure. The pool needs some work and the rooms are tired. We could not fault the food or menu but did expect slightly cheaper. Melbourne prices in the hills of Viet Nam. I'm not sure about that, perhaps captive audience.This place could be a real gem with some money spent on it. it would not take much as the surroundings and the wonderful tour guide sell the experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nalpick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaiChauLodge2011, General Manager at Mai Chau Lodge, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments with us, the best way for us to improve, constantly striving to achieve the highest quality standards.

Above all, be assured that we have noted your feedback and deeply regret that you were disappointed by the hotel. Please kindly be assured that the outdoor hand rail has been repaired as the safety of our guests is one of our priorities; when you stayed at the lodge, we were waiting for the wooden spare part. Regarding your comments about the tiredness of the building, we have taken very serious note of your remarks and they will be relayed to the persons concerned. To tell the truth, it has been already planned that the Mai Chau Lodge will very soon restore itself in beauty...

On a positive note, it was indeed a pleasure to read that you really enjoyed your time in Mai Chau and that you could indeed experience the real Vietnam, with picturesque surroundings and special cultural heritage.
It’s a serene and relaxing area and the vivid green paddy fields you had the opportunity to see do match the picture postcard fantasies of the Vietnamese countryside. It is the perfect place to meet local people from ethnic minority groups in a setting that’s neither too touristy nor too inaccessibly off-the-beaten-track. Mai Chau is certainly no stranger to tourism, but it’s not on the tourist map in the same way as, say, Sapa or Halong Bay.

I have duly noted your comment about the quality of service; your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for the entire team. I have also brought your comments to the attention of your local guide who was very pleased to learn how much you appreciated his service.

I hope that the rest of your vacation were great and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future,

Warmest Regards,

Mae Monnet
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mai Chau hotels
0.6 mi away
Mai Chau Ecolodge
Mai Chau Ecolodge
#1 of 5 in Mai Chau
432 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sol Bungalows
Sol Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Mai Chau
105 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mai Chau Villas
Mai Chau Villas
#3 of 5 in Mai Chau
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mai Chau Valley View
Mai Chau Valley View
#1 of 8 in Mai Chau
241 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mai Chau Nature Place
Mai Chau Nature Place
#1 of 38 in Mai Chau
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
V Resort
V Resort
#5 of 5 in Mai Chau
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Chau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Chau Lodge

Property: Mai Chau Lodge
Address: Mai Chau Town | Hoa Binh Province, Mai Chau 28000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hoa Binh Province > Mai Chau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mai Chau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mai Chau Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mai Chau offers 15 deluxe rooms and 01 junior suite. Each room comes with a unique view of either the front side’s Mountain View or the back side’s valley view. All guestrooms are equipped with Western style bedding, en-suite bathrooms with shower, hair dryer, satellite TV, telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, climate control unit and internet access. Tastefully designed with textile accents on the bedding, adorned with traditional furnishings that exude a modest charm, complemented by high ceilings and broad windows amounting to an enhanced feeling of space, the room is peaceful and somewhat exotic.The junior suite is 50 square metres (double that of the deluxe rooms) and comes with a King sized bed, LCD TV, a bath-tub and a larger mini bar. From the large windows, you can see the pretty fields and the imposing mountain ranges from that promise a lovely adventure to get away from the cares of the modern world.There is also a swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sauna & steam room available in the hotel for your relaxation.A variety of other facilities and services are available to make your stay at Mai Chau Lodge as comfortable as possible. * Private Mo Luong cave * Reading room * Business center with Internet connection * Printer and fax machine * Credit cards facilities * Meeting room * Outdoor swimming pool * Sauna and Steam room * Roman style Jacuzzi * Room service * Daily turndown service * 24 hours front desk * English speaking staffs * Sight seeing and tour guiding * Bicycle rental * Transportation from Hanoi and around Mai Chau * Laundry service * Souvenir shop * Luggage storageMai Chau Lodge offers a full range of great activities to make your Mai Chau experience even more memorable, from walking ethnic tour, cycling, home stay trekking, rock climbing, kayaking, handicraft tour, cooking class to cave visiting and market tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mai Chau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Chau Hotel Mai Chau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing