We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing in every respect”

The Fox at Farthinghoe
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Disappointing in every respect”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

There is nothing positive to say regarding the 4 meals. Poorly presented, lacking flavour and badly cooked. What a let down having not been here for some time. This place had an excellent reputation years ago so we will not visit again. After being rushed to order we sat down expecting standards and quality to match the prices. I'm afraid there is little to praise. The chap sat near us sent back his meal and ordered something different. The cocktails are a disaster, bearing no resemblance to how they are supposed to look and taste. They were presented in half pint tumblers! I will not bore you with further details.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PB48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    61
    29
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent sunday roast”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I went to The fox with my family on Sunday and had an exceptional meal.
The staff from the waitress to the chef could not do enough for you.
It is certainly a restaurant we would go back too in the future.
Keep up the good service
Garden was nice with outside tables and chairs

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamieandteresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“5 Star”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The staff are friendly and polite, the food is amazing! They offer great deals, particularly there ladies night on a Wednesday! Overall a great experience, that good we come every month!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emmellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“So mediocre!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Been meaning to visit for a long time after several recommendations and this evening was my Mothers treat....lovely surroundings, pleasant staff, but the food was such a disappointment. Possibly the worst steak I have ever had the displeasure of trying to eat. My daughters Fox burger was so bland and my Mothers battered fish was somewhat greasy. What a shame! For me the best part of the meal was the bread and olives and that should so not be the case.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“OK. Lacked Atmosphere Tho”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

First impressions good. Decent decor, inside and out. Food was good, and in keeping with expectations. Just something not quite right. Couldn't put my finger on it, but seemed cold / lack of atmosphere. Will no doubt visit again in the future.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank john D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fox at Farthinghoe also viewed

Brackley, Northamptonshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Middleton Cheney, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Fox at Farthinghoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing