We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This little hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Higham Ferrers
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old House
Certificate of Excellence
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“This little hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed one night as we had a funeral to go to, what a beautiful place, real modern olde worldy, the host is excellent and the breakfast in the morning was delicious. If you want to treat yourself give it a go, you will love it.

Room Tip: Any room they are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beauman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
43
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I hesitate to write this review since, selfishly I'd love to keep this place secret. But William and Simon deserve the custom as they have lavished so much time and attention on the Old House. The house is beautiful and atmospheric. Lovely décor, superb beds and bathrooms with the thickest towels I have ever experienced, a great breakfast and above all a wonderful welcome and attentive hosts. Dinner in a local restaurant was booked for us and the time changed when we were caught in traffic. Nothing seemed too much trouble and, although we were there breaking a long journey (Higham Ferrers is not really a tourist destination), we would really love to go back!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed periodically at the Old House over the past three years and have always received a warm and friendly welcome from William and Simon. The atmosphere of their accommodation in an old house right on the market square is luxuriously old world and the breakfast excellent. Very good value for money.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank mrptoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I had very good service at a reasonable price.
The room we had was delightful and the bed was very comfortable. Although this beautiful 16th century house is in the centre of a lovely market town we had a very peaceful night.
The whole house is tastefully decorated in keeping with its quirky character and there is an exotic little courtyard at the back,
Breakfast was excellent.
We stayed there while visiting family and would definitely stay again,

Room Tip: We were at the back so we had no problems with traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 774Francesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was on a business trip and needed a place to stay, what a blessing this was recommended by a colleague who lived locally. The room was amazing and Simon and William ensured I was made to feel welcome. I have to stay in a lot of accommodation due to my work and this is the first time I have bothered to write a review, simply because it was worth it. Keep up the good work guys.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had the great pleasure of staying in this beautiful house for a very special occasion. Meeting up with my long lost daughter. William and Simon were extremely understanding of the situation and gave us the run of the house if we wanted seclusion. Our room was amazing. A massive double bed with all amenities. The shower room was fantastic. The breakfast was lovely and there was plenty of it. Then they allowed my daughter to have a look round . The house is unique and has loads of character. We would highly recommend a visit. Great value and excellent hosts.

Room Tip: Fitzwilliam room at the back of the house was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovell_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

The Old House has been lovingly restored. Introducing a dose of freshness while still retaining so much of the original character.

'Character' is an overused word, and has become cliché, but more than any other B&B we've ever stayed in (or home we've visited) this house honestly has bucket-loads of character.

The bed is sooo comfortable. As are the pillows, bedding and towels. We stayed on my birthday and we had (well chosen) champers, huge roses, chocolates and cupcakes to sweeten the experience even more.

The breakfast is delicious (inc the sausages, and the home made muesli). It's run by a very lovely couple, who go above and beyond to make guests feel welcome.

I can't recommend this place highly enough.

A well deserved (and rarely-given) 5 stars from me!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GeraintLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Higham Ferrers
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Wellingborough Hotel
Premier Inn Wellingborough Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wellingborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ibis Wellingborough
Ibis Wellingborough
#2 of 4 in Wellingborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Stanwick Hotel
The Stanwick Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stanwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
6.6 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thrapston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
6.8 mi away
Travelodge Kettering Thrapston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old House

Property: The Old House
Address: 5 Market Square, Higham Ferrers NN10 8BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Higham Ferrers
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Higham Ferrers
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old House Higham Ferrers, Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing