We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Barrasford Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barrasford Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Barrasford B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Excellent rooms, and the hotel is just overall really nice. Decorated very nicely. The bar was very cosy with a nice open fire. The food is incredible. The whole place had a very good atmosphere. Good location for being away from the hustle and bustle!

Room Tip: As for ones facing the front so you are overlooking the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanmascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    37
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
70
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We booked The Barrasford Arms to celebrate a birthday.
The main attraction was the knowledge that we would be eating food cooked by a great chef with a distinguished career (Tony wasn't bad either !!):
We were in Room 5 which has a bath and lovely views of Haughton Castle and the surrounding countryside: perfect:
Bed was very comfortable: and sofa good for watching television:
Hotel located near to Hadrians Wall and Kielder Water and Forest: we visited Kielder Castle which has lovely tea rooms which are worth a vist as food is good and reasonably priced:
We booked BB and Dinner @ The Barrasford Arms and thought everything was perfect: the dinners are superb and for £137 per couple per night very well priced: Tony is a marvellous chef and it was a privilege to eat there: the breakfasts are the best i have ever had: locally sourced sausage and black pudding (from Wark), dry cured bacon and free range eggs from Tony and Monica's young son......superb:
The staff are especially lovely: professional and pleasant which makes a stay there even better:
Tony is amazing: he's had a very interesting career and photos adorn the walls of him with Michel Roux:
So where could you eat superb food prepared for you by a renowned chef for £68.50 pp DBB ?? only at The Barrasford Arms: its a bargain without doubt:
but please don't tell everyone about this superb gem because we want to be able to book a room again very soon !!
Thank you to everyone at The Barrasford Arms for a very special two days break: please keep the place a secret so we can come back !!
Best wishes for the future, you deserve every success...
Kieran & Gill

Room Tip: Ask for Room 5 if you like a bath: it also has views of Haughton Castle and the surrounding countrys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reedyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Moray, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

My wife came across this wonderful country inn by chance as she searched for somewhere to stay as we were en route to Harrogate. What a choice! The place itself is set in a quiet village and enjoys fine views over the countryside. Our room had a view of a huge castle nearby. We received a very warm welcome from the owner and we were absolutely overwhelmed by the service and the quality of food on offer. We stayed 2 nights and ate in the restaurant both nights. On each occasion the restaurant was busy but never to a level that posed us a problem. The menu altered slightly each time offering a splendid variety of locally sourced food. And the breakfast.....magnificent. A great start to the day. We have been telling friends about this place. You must give it a try!

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken and Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEEDS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed here for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Firstly the location is great, based in a quiet village and only a short drive away from Hadrian's wall offering fantastic walks. The rooms are beautiful, spacious and modern with amazing views. The food in the restaurant was out of this world. My partner and I both had steak and chips and we have never tasted anything like it. Worth every penny! The desserts are also beautiful and you can tell that a lot of effort goes into each dish. The breakfast was also amazing with a full cooked breakfast using locally sourced ingredients. The service was excellent and the staff are very friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel and in particular the restaurant for a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariafromLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cramlington. Northumberland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This pub is our secret hideaway, whenever we feel we need to get away this is where we come.The staff are fantastic, the food out of this world and the accomodation is smashing, well worth a visit, excellent value for money

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirksworth
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We recently stayed at the Barrasford Arms for a couple of nights and wished we had time to have stayed longer. The public bar is welcoming and open for locals and visitors. Staff and locals are very welcoming. Tony runs a family hotel with a strong focus on the restaurant. Locally sourced ingredients (eggs from the family hens!) and Tony's many years with the Roux brothers ensures that the food, cooking and presentation is of a high quality and at affordable prices. Rooms are clean and functional and this is an excellent base for exploring the countryside. We walked part of Hadrians Wall and Tony's knowledge of the locality is very valuable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRRobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

A fabulous welcome in a Northumberland pub that catered for local drinkers and produced the most wonderful food for the packed out dining areas.
The atmosphere was great, all 3 courses of my meal were outstanding and to have dinner B & B at that price was an absolute steal!
The rooms were clean and had everything we needed with an excellent full english breakfast to boot.
We will have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireSueg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrasford
4.2 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
1.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
674 reviews
8.5 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
7.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrasford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrasford Arms

Property: Barrasford Arms
Address: Barrasford, Barrasford NE48 4AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Barrasford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Barrasford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Already voted “Destination Restaurant of the Year,” the pub sits at the heart of Barrasford village in the North Tyne valley. Chef Tony Binks cooking style is traditionally English with French influences, a homage to his friend and mentor, international cuisinier Albert Roux, who pays the occasional visit. There are comfortable, newly refurbished bedrooms. Stay in a place with a warm and homely atmosphere that you'll never forget. Come and enjoy some fine Northumbrian hospitality while you stay with us and explore what Northumbria and Hadrian's Wall Country has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barrasford Arms Hotel Barrasford
Barrasford Arms Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing