We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely surroundings shame about the service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely surroundings shame about the service”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The niggles started when we arrived and were given our room key with the words "it probably won't work but try it anyway and if it doesn't, come back down and we will see what we can do". Needless to say the key did not work but the housekeeper at least let us into the room to drop off our luggage before the long trek back down to reception. We then had to wait 20minutes for someone to bring us a replacement key.
We booked our dinner table for 7.15 and arrived promptly and stood waiting in the corridor for about 5 minutes before someone saw us and showed us to a table. Service was very slow but very quick when it came to signing for the drinks.
The following morning we again waited for what felt like an age to be seated for breakfast. Service was OK and again very slow. I ordered the waffles to be told the waffle machine was broken.
We went out for the day and upon our return decided to have our inclusive afternoon tea. We ordered and sat down and waited, and waited-should be special we thought-wrong. Our afternoon tea, which is charged at £11 per person, eventually arrived. We were each given the equivalent of one round of sandwiches, cut into fingers, a slice of cake (type unknown possibly date and walnut) and a scone filled with cream and jam all on one plate, along with a pot of tea and a pot of coffee.
We went back to our room to find that the glasses we had used the night before had been removed and not replaced. We had booked a table for dinner for 7pm. Again we arrived promptly and waited to be seated. We both decided to skip a starter and go straight for a main and then dessert. We placed our order and were told that as we were skipping starter there would be a delay in getting our mains!!! When it eventually arrived the meal was not as good as the previous evenings and my husband said his was quiet oily. We were asked if we wanted to see the dessert menu to which we said yes. Ten minutes later the waitress came to take our order only to realise that she had not given us the menus. Orders eventually given and another long wait ensued. Desserts came 25 minutes later and a thick skin had developed on my husbands' custard, so how long had it been sat waiting to be served. So an hour and a half after arriving we finally left.
This morning as I stood in the bathroom about to get into the shower, the bath mat that was there yesterday had gone. I was not going to ring down to reception to ask for one as I was ready to get in.
We arrived for breakfast at 9 to find a queue of 10 waiting to be seated. Someone finally spotted us and realised there were not enough tables in the dining room so put us all into an adjoining room. Although the room was set up for breakfast things were missing, some were missing milk jugs, some were missing menus etc. And we all waited. Orders finally got placed and drinks arrived. And then a waiter appeared and tried to take every ones order again. And we waited. A waitress bought toast for one table minus any butter etc. From where I was sitting I could see that the toast was burnt and very unappetising. The customers then went and got their own toast from the other dining room. No one else was offered toast and if anyone wanted any they got up and got it themselves. My breakfast arrived and the bowl was overflowing with thick lumpy porridge, which while quiet tasty was a chore to eat. One lady was overheard to tell a waiter that it was the worst breakfast she had ever been served.
On the plus side the hotel is in a lovely peaceful area and it is very relaxing. The rooms are large and very comfortable. One criticism of the rooms is the TVs-when in bed the TV cannot be seen as the beds are high and the TVs low. Maybe put the TVs on the desk or invest in some flatscreens on the wall. The bedroom doors are heavy and slam with a hefty bang which can be a shock in the night when asleep.
What should of been a pleasant break away was spoilt by these niggles. I am only glad that I hadn't paid full price and had taken advantage of a deal offered online. This hotel will never get more than a 3* rating while these issue are ongoing.

Room Tip: Not sure about access for wheelchair users as there are lots of stairs. The restaurant is on the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieqCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    479
    167
    86
    60
See reviews for
242
706
21
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax West Yorks
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This hotel is not the easiest to find, but is well worth it. It is situated overlooking the Derwent Valley near to the Durham/Northumberland border - it is not a very well known area, but in a good location for local attractrions. The hotel is well furnished, clean and could easily pass as a 4 star. The public rooms and bedrooms are all of a high standard. The staff in the dining room were friendly and polite and we enjoyed a very good evening meal from an extensibve menu. It was also very good value for money and one which I would recommend to my friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse12shrews, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thankyou! Sat Nav systems generally find our location a little difficult to find however to find such an attractive hotel which such good value for money is well worth looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We went with friends for a weekend bought on Travel Zoo. I had not read the Trip Advisor reviews before I booked and was horrified when I read them. However, decided to go ahead and was pleasantly surprised. Hotel is nowhere near as bad as reported. We had a room on the 2nd floor which was large and clean although our friends were offered room 101 on checking in which they rejected but were happy with room on second floor. The decor was dated but this is a 3* hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good, freshly cooked with a large choice. If you have kippers make sure you are hungry! We had an evening meal included for the first night which was good so we decided to eat there on our second night as well as there is very little else in the area. Tickets for Alnwick Castle were included which although it was 50 miles away was worth the visit. Visited Durham on second day which is not We did not try the leisure centre which looked fine. Hotel is large and had lots of rooms for weddings and conferences. We had a good time and would return if we were in the area again.

Room Tip: Ask for room on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wychwood100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse12shrews, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Some reviews are more accurate than others! Thankyou for not being put off by the negative reviews from very few of our clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Very spacious room, good food and attentive staff. Set in a beautiful valley . Would return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse12shrews, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thankyou! We look forward to your return, we certainly think its a gem of a hotel!
Why not ring the hotel direct to see what offers we have. Some great offers coming up for early 2012!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This is a real gem tucked away in the most picturesque countryside. The staff are wonderful,most helpful and friendly and the breakfast was of a high standard. Waiter Savas was exceptional.We had a wonderful short break here and will return.

Room Tip: Room 240 on the first floor has a great view of the countryside and the GIll Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghamaryllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse12shrews, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Savas is one of the gems at this little gem of a hotel! We really do appreciate Savas as he enjoys looking after our clients with a real passion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Had a great wk end here receptionist lainey was very helpful when we needed help with heating our room, the room was huge and very clean it was a little dated but that didn't affect our stay only two things I would complain about are the bar meals although very good are expensive as you have to pay extra for salad, veg and chips also the drive leading up to hotel as some very big pot holes that need filling

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jesstella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse12shrews, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thankyou for your positive comments!
Our bar prices are competitive with all hotels within the area, rest assured market surveys have been done and the menus offer a fantastic deal for a 3* hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2011

the grounds were sparce and unkept, our room was extremely dated, and although they may be young, i haven't a fault to pick with any of the waiting or bar staff, each and every member if staff seen to our every need.
my main issue was infact the management. while sat in the restaurant, we hurd ferocious slander coming from the chefs. the food was then served, without a doubt, microwaved. when I confronted the main desk about my experience, I was greeted by a female manager, who I found extremely patronising. it seemed as though I may of interrupted her break, as the smell of cigarettes that i was greeted with was overwhelming. i wasted no time in sharing my feelings about the chefs' sharp tongue. This resulted in an appology, which I deemed to be insincere, as it was quickly uttered before returning behind the main desk where a smaller, younger lady with brown bobbed hair grinned smugly at me and my partner. if it were not for this encounter, we would of happily returned to the hotel and enjoyed the company of the younger staff.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse12shrews, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
From a gem of a hotel to abysmal, I know the management have a difficult time because we are so often fully booked. I am sincerely sorry that you felt that this was a complaint not well handled, please do ring the hotel direct for the best available offer, as we will no doubt do our utmost to look after you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allensford
16.6 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,092 reviews
13.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,493 reviews
11.9 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
21.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
15.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Address: | Allensford, Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford, Northumberland
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing