We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad night away.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We booked this as a special DBB offer and had read the reviews. Not expecting the world we went to stay last weekend.

The hotel is in a lovely location, the drive up from the main road is a bit dicey and will probably not see out the winter if they get more snow/ice in those parts but the views and the setting are wonderful. It is a very peaceful place and not a bad drive out.

We checked in quickly and were given directions to our room. The room was fine, clean and very spacious with two double beds. The beds are a bit past their use by dates but the pillows were obviously new and were the most comfortable pillows I've ever slept on. The decor in the rooms lets the hotel down, when the outside, the reception and hallways are really nice. But it is only 3* and that is really accurate.

It would make a lovely location for a wedding, most of the large banqueting rooms were set up for weddings, and if the food is as good as in the restaurant then it'd be a winner for me.

We had dinner included in our rate and made our way to the restaurant. The receptionist had offered to make us a reservation which was good but we'd already made our own. The food was really good. We were both very impressed. We had a starter, main and dessert each and thoroughly enjoyed it, it was tasty and well cooked. We had to pay supplements for some of the dishes but they were still good value.

Having read the reviews on here I wasn't expecting much of the staff. In honesty, the waiting staff were pretty good, but I'd not have liked to be on the other end of the rolling eyes of the management. We did see a couple send some food back and the manager returned and argued with the lady about it. She then made her wait for a good 30/35 minutes for another meal. That coupled with the reviews and responses the management staff put on this site makes me think they don't take complaints or criticism too well.

We had been told a bottle of wine would be half price when we arrived for dinner, at check out this hadn't been applied (Because reception was closed when the bill was created the night before?) but it was sorted, with little eye rolling thankfully.

Breakfast was plentiful with a lot of choice. Nothing bad to say about it at all. It set us well up for the rest of the day.

All in all, if you can get this on a special offer I would say jump at it. It was very much worth what we paid and will likely return for dinner, and hopefully to stay over.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blaisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse12shrews, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Thankyou for a balanced and fair response. Your review and thoughtfullness will help both the management and staff improve, and rolling eyes should never happen again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,315 - 1,321 of 1,448 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

The niggles started when we arrived and were given our room key with the words "it probably won't work but try it anyway and if it doesn't, come back down and we will see what we can do". Needless to say the key did not work but the housekeeper at least let us into the room to drop off our luggage before the long trek back down to reception. We then had to wait 20minutes for someone to bring us a replacement key.
We booked our dinner table for 7.15 and arrived promptly and stood waiting in the corridor for about 5 minutes before someone saw us and showed us to a table. Service was very slow but very quick when it came to signing for the drinks.
The following morning we again waited for what felt like an age to be seated for breakfast. Service was OK and again very slow. I ordered the waffles to be told the waffle machine was broken.
We went out for the day and upon our return decided to have our inclusive afternoon tea. We ordered and sat down and waited, and waited-should be special we thought-wrong. Our afternoon tea, which is charged at £11 per person, eventually arrived. We were each given the equivalent of one round of sandwiches, cut into fingers, a slice of cake (type unknown possibly date and walnut) and a scone filled with cream and jam all on one plate, along with a pot of tea and a pot of coffee.
We went back to our room to find that the glasses we had used the night before had been removed and not replaced. We had booked a table for dinner for 7pm. Again we arrived promptly and waited to be seated. We both decided to skip a starter and go straight for a main and then dessert. We placed our order and were told that as we were skipping starter there would be a delay in getting our mains!!! When it eventually arrived the meal was not as good as the previous evenings and my husband said his was quiet oily. We were asked if we wanted to see the dessert menu to which we said yes. Ten minutes later the waitress came to take our order only to realise that she had not given us the menus. Orders eventually given and another long wait ensued. Desserts came 25 minutes later and a thick skin had developed on my husbands' custard, so how long had it been sat waiting to be served. So an hour and a half after arriving we finally left.
This morning as I stood in the bathroom about to get into the shower, the bath mat that was there yesterday had gone. I was not going to ring down to reception to ask for one as I was ready to get in.
We arrived for breakfast at 9 to find a queue of 10 waiting to be seated. Someone finally spotted us and realised there were not enough tables in the dining room so put us all into an adjoining room. Although the room was set up for breakfast things were missing, some were missing milk jugs, some were missing menus etc. And we all waited. Orders finally got placed and drinks arrived. And then a waiter appeared and tried to take every ones order again. And we waited. A waitress bought toast for one table minus any butter etc. From where I was sitting I could see that the toast was burnt and very unappetising. The customers then went and got their own toast from the other dining room. No one else was offered toast and if anyone wanted any they got up and got it themselves. My breakfast arrived and the bowl was overflowing with thick lumpy porridge, which while quiet tasty was a chore to eat. One lady was overheard to tell a waiter that it was the worst breakfast she had ever been served.
On the plus side the hotel is in a lovely peaceful area and it is very relaxing. The rooms are large and very comfortable. One criticism of the rooms is the TVs-when in bed the TV cannot be seen as the beds are high and the TVs low. Maybe put the TVs on the desk or invest in some flatscreens on the wall. The bedroom doors are heavy and slam with a hefty bang which can be a shock in the night when asleep.
What should of been a pleasant break away was spoilt by these niggles. I am only glad that I hadn't paid full price and had taken advantage of a deal offered online. This hotel will never get more than a 3* rating while these issue are ongoing.

Room Tip: Not sure about access for wheelchair users as there are lots of stairs. The restaurant is on the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusieqCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This hotel is not the easiest to find, but is well worth it. It is situated overlooking the Derwent Valley near to the Durham/Northumberland border - it is not a very well known area, but in a good location for local attractrions. The hotel is well furnished, clean and could easily pass as a 4 star. The public rooms and bedrooms are all of a high standard. The staff in the dining room were friendly and polite and we enjoyed a very good evening meal from an extensibve menu. It was also very good value for money and one which I would recommend to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse12shrews, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Thankyou! Sat Nav systems generally find our location a little difficult to find however to find such an attractive hotel which such good value for money is well worth looking for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We went with friends for a weekend bought on Travel Zoo. I had not read the Trip Advisor reviews before I booked and was horrified when I read them. However, decided to go ahead and was pleasantly surprised. Hotel is nowhere near as bad as reported. We had a room on the 2nd floor which was large and clean although our friends were offered room 101 on checking in which they rejected but were happy with room on second floor. The decor was dated but this is a 3* hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good, freshly cooked with a large choice. If you have kippers make sure you are hungry! We had an evening meal included for the first night which was good so we decided to eat there on our second night as well as there is very little else in the area. Tickets for Alnwick Castle were included which although it was 50 miles away was worth the visit. Visited Durham on second day which is not We did not try the leisure centre which looked fine. Hotel is large and had lots of rooms for weddings and conferences. We had a good time and would return if we were in the area again.

Room Tip: Ask for room on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wychwood100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse12shrews, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Some reviews are more accurate than others! Thankyou for not being put off by the negative reviews from very few of our clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Very spacious room, good food and attentive staff. Set in a beautiful valley . Would return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse12shrews, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Thankyou! We look forward to your return, we certainly think its a gem of a hotel!
Why not ring the hotel direct to see what offers we have. Some great offers coming up for early 2012!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This is a real gem tucked away in the most picturesque countryside. The staff are wonderful,most helpful and friendly and the breakfast was of a high standard. Waiter Savas was exceptional.We had a wonderful short break here and will return.

Room Tip: Room 240 on the first floor has a great view of the countryside and the GIll Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghamaryllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse12shrews, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Savas is one of the gems at this little gem of a hotel! We really do appreciate Savas as he enjoys looking after our clients with a real passion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Had a great wk end here receptionist lainey was very helpful when we needed help with heating our room, the room was huge and very clean it was a little dated but that didn't affect our stay only two things I would complain about are the bar meals although very good are expensive as you have to pay extra for salad, veg and chips also the drive leading up to hotel as some very big pot holes that need filling

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jesstella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse12shrews, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Thankyou for your positive comments!
Our bar prices are competitive with all hotels within the area, rest assured market surveys have been done and the menus offer a fantastic deal for a 3* hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allensford
13.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,563 reviews
16.6 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,180 reviews
15.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
21.0 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
8.8 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel

Address: | Allensford, Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Price Range: £58 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford, Northumberland
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing