We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Have just returned from overnight stay with friends at the Derwent Manor Hotel DBB + wine for a remarkable price per couple !!! - there were 10 of us.

Hotel was fantastic- certainly worth more than it's 3* staff were very friendly. Bedrooms ranged from a full suite to standard - our standard had 2 king size beds - all had fantastic views. The separate leisure facility was certainly 4*+

Evening meal was delicious - with a bottle of wine per couple included, at breakfast the staff could not have been more attentive. We will defintely be going back

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Thank you for your most positive comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,257 - 1,263 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

We booked to stay at The Derwent Manor with an offer from The Sunderland Echo. Included in the offer was a 3 course meal with either a bottle of wine or a pitcher of beer. The food was outstanding. We werent given a bottle of wine or the pitcher of beer, we ordered a glass of wine and a pint of beer and was charged for them! The service for breakfast was slow but the food was reasonable. We were given an upgrade to one of the cottages but would of preferred to stay in the hotel as the booking was made. We felt like the cottage was dated, the bed was extermley hard and the heated towel rail didnt work.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOANNE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Really suprised at the comments as I personally served Champagne and Wine at the table and although you were offered an upgrade to a Cottage this was then changed to a Suite, unless Im very much mistaken.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Went to the Best Weston Derwent Mannor on 27th january for a one night stay. Reception staff were brilliant check in was painless and we were suprised when we were ugraded to the Bolbec suite which we found very enjoyable to say the least, it had a large bedroom with onsuite a smaller bedroom with onsuite and a seperate sitting room, decor was dated but very clean and tidy. we went with friends who had a standard room which was large with two king sized beds, there are also rooms with a single king size bed which are also very roomy. All rooms seem to have terrific views. we found the staff to be very friendly and helpfull, the leasure center was excellent and a swim before breakfast was the order of the day. All in all we paid £68 for two people for a one night stay which included evening meal with a bottle of wine and breakfast the following day. The meals were more than adequate with plenty of choice considering the price we paid.

Room Tip: Room 244 the Bolbec suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Thank you for your positive review! The £68.12 offer is excellent value for money and is still available until the end of March!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

we arrived at the hotel around 3pm feeling a little peckish, headed to the bar for a drink and a sandwich, the Bar was starting to fill up as there was a Boxing event on that evening .
Wife ordered a steak sandwich , what a disapointment ! a few tiny bits of meat on a dry bun brought to us by the Barmaid come Waitress ?.
surprised to see 1 bar staff on duty ?.would have made a comment on the food if i had been asked if i had enjoyed it !. But not a smile or an acknowledgement as our plate was quickly whisked away.
Food and drinks in the bar also expensive.
Evening meal was enjoyable even after waiting such a long time it to arrive......
It would have been nice to have been informed about the Boxing event!! so we could have made arrangements to stay somewhere else in a more hotel like atmosphere rather than a noisy sporting arena!!
After a very noisy night we headed to the restaurant for breakfast, I have never witnessed such poor service in any rating of hotel i have stayed in!!
We where showed to our table and asked if if would like tea or coffee by one of the 2 staff on duty ,which was brought quite quickly,
after waiting around 25 mins and tea and coffee drank , i asked the waiter if he had forgot to take our order for breakfast , and he had forgot!!! we ordered hot breakfasts and more coffee and about another 25 minutes passed as we watched other guests who arrived later than us eating breakfasts,
i asked again where our breakfast was , only to be told by flustered waiter " your breakfasts are on Route i think". i eventually asked the girl if she knew when our food would arrive and she brought it 10 minutes later.it was not worth waiting for 1 sausage, 1 small bacon rasher and a tiny poached egg and a very thin slice of black pudding.and dried up beans......
also our coffee never arrived !! what a surprise.. all in all one of the worst dining experiences ever.
We will not be back and will not be reccomending this hotel .

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jollyholsxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Thank you for your frank and honest comment. Some points I totally agree with, however breakfast here is usually quite a hearty affair so suprised at your comment. The hotel was extremely busy due to a boxing dinner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Dinner was good, service reasonable and the bar was noisy but we had a good night. The room was average in décor but large and reasonably comfortable.
The breakfast however, was truly appalling! It was inedible when it finally came - a 40 minute wait. The service was atrocious with none of the serving staff understanding what the system was - assuming of course there was a system. We were not alone in the long wait or the disappointment - it was the main conversation of the dining room.
A very poor end to what would have have been a reasonable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimScott_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Firstly apologies as this is nto our normal service, there is a system in place for each dining service. Regrettably at the weekend breakfast is always busy as most of our clients tend to dine within the last half hour of breakfast finishing. No matter how organised we are waits do occur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed with another couple - booked 4 nights with dinner and breakfast. First night not too bad as the hotel was quite. Friday and Saturday night however were a different story. They had functions booked on both nights. First one was boxing and so the function room bar and the hotel bar were full of people - we had to sit in the reception area! That went on until 1am on Saturday morning. Saturday night was a disaster. They had a moto-cross presentation function and the noise in the hotel was horrendous. Gangs of youngsters from about 10 up to about 15 were running around in the corridors at 3 in the morning, drunk and fighting!! Doors slamming and shouting, banging on doors etc. My husband got up twice and first time moved them on from outside our door and the second time went with the duty manager to quiten them down in the upstairs corridor. Asked where their parents were, we were told that they were "in the bar". At 3.15 on Sunday morning? Really? Ridiculous.

The hotel is a little dated and despite it supposed to have had some refurbishment it is still in need of work. The rooms looked tired with old TVs and if someone is on the toilet in the room above you can hear exactly what they are doing!!! No imagination required! The menu stays the same night after night (and from reading other reviews it seems it stays the same for quite a while!). I would certainly not pay £22 per person for the meal. It wasn't bad food, but it wasn't good either!

The one plus point is that the staff are really helpful and accommodating. We were moved from the first room we occupied because of a problem with the wash basin. They were friendly and did what they could despite being very busy.

Wouldn't visit again sadly and if anyone was going to go I'd say that while the Hotel is in a lovely location and pretty central for some lovely sites, make sure when you book, if you are looking for a relaxing, quite weekend or even a mid week break, that you ensure there are no functions on at the time.

Room Tip: Get a room at the far end of the corridors, preferably on the second floor, as you can - the further...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank old_oak66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

myself and partner just renewed our marriage vows with 50 guests excellent service,the views are amazing. the room was great. the bed was so comfortable. the food was very good quality all the staff were friendly and very helpfull.i did my own survey of our 50 guests and found everyone had the same opinion, they all enjoyed the food the service and the bedrooms.most of family and friends used the facilities ie the swimming pool and jacuzzi and were very impressed.
we will be going back at some point we would highly recommend

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allensford
16.6 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,162 reviews
13.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,547 reviews
15.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
21.0 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
8.8 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel

Address: | Allensford, Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Price Range: £76 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford, Northumberland
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing