We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel Poor Food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax
2 reviews
“Great Hotel Poor Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed at Derwent Manor for 2 nights in January. The first night we ate out as we arrived quite late after work and the restaurant was about to close.
We booked a table in the restaurant on the saturday night. The food was very poor quality. I ordered the fish. It didn't say what type it was but it was very small and tasted bland. There was no vegetables just a few potatoes and what looked like a pesto sauce over it all.
This hotel is a great venue (cosy, relaxing, lovely rooms and bar area) but the food was such a let down.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Many thanks for your constructive comments, your food comment regards the fish are noted and we will now consider naming the fish.
Please know your thoughtfull comments have helped us to enhance other people's stay.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    465
    165
    85
    59
See reviews for
230
687
20
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Location: Ok as long as you like looking across to the nearby industrial looking town.

Check in: No problems

Room: Basic 2 star quality

Bar: Reasonably pleasant with a fake log fire, chatty bar staff and prices as you would expect in a hotel.

Dinner: Starters bland and unimaginative, Very Poor Quality, tiny steak (Tuff), Homemade chunky chips cooked in old nasty oil, unseasoned, vegetables cooked poorly with no real attempt at presentation. Every element of dinner was a complete let down.

Breakfast: Re-heated leftovers from the previous day! Also we had a very long wait (30mins) to get served. However, it was a busy weekend and I could have easily forgiven this fault were it not for our horrible dinner the night before.

From what I can make out, the manger will pop up on here like a flash trying to mitigate or deny this review. However, I feel that if he put the same amount of effort into running his hotel as he does on here he may find that there would be a lot fewer complaints to deal with.

We felt that the standards of food were so low that there was no point complaining. As the only solution would have been to dine outwith this hotel

Room Tip: Eat anywhere other than this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dado p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Absolutely shocked at the comments, January has been extremely busy for us with very fue isses regards dinner and breakfasts are always cooked to order. But your comments and opinions are noted in the constructive manner they are no doubt meant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I have visited Derwent Manor on a number of occasions with family and with friends. I really like the hotel and it's atmosphere, especially the cosy log fire in the bar area! The swimming pool is ok however I think it is long overdue a modernisation!! We have had the fortune of being able to get some great deals on Derwent Manor and for the past two occasions this has gone some way to compensate the absolutely awful food!! However this time on our visit in January we were not able to get a good discount and paid £92 pounds for bed and breakfast. As there are no restaurants in close proximity we ate in the hotel restaurant. What an error!! The starter and main can only be described as disgusting. Although the waiter was friendly the service was extrememly slow and they didn't respond to what we asked for (simple things such as drinks and cutlery). I feel that it is such as shame that such a nice hotel which has so much potential and a great location really lets itself down on the poor quality, preparation and presentation of it's food. I had considered this hotel as a wedding venue but our last stay unfortunately confirmed for me that this was a definite no! Sorry Derwent Manor but you are capable of so much more!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenjenatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitburn
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Have just returned from overnight stay with friends at the Derwent Manor Hotel DBB + wine for a remarkable price per couple !!! - there were 10 of us.

Hotel was fantastic- certainly worth more than it's 3* staff were very friendly. Bedrooms ranged from a full suite to standard - our standard had 2 king size beds - all had fantastic views. The separate leisure facility was certainly 4*+

Evening meal was delicious - with a bottle of wine per couple included, at breakfast the staff could not have been more attentive. We will defintely be going back

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you for your most positive comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We booked to stay at The Derwent Manor with an offer from The Sunderland Echo. Included in the offer was a 3 course meal with either a bottle of wine or a pitcher of beer. The food was outstanding. We werent given a bottle of wine or the pitcher of beer, we ordered a glass of wine and a pint of beer and was charged for them! The service for breakfast was slow but the food was reasonable. We were given an upgrade to one of the cottages but would of preferred to stay in the hotel as the booking was made. We felt like the cottage was dated, the bed was extermley hard and the heated towel rail didnt work.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOANNE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Really suprised at the comments as I personally served Champagne and Wine at the table and although you were offered an upgrade to a Cottage this was then changed to a Suite, unless Im very much mistaken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Went to the Best Weston Derwent Mannor on 27th january for a one night stay. Reception staff were brilliant check in was painless and we were suprised when we were ugraded to the Bolbec suite which we found very enjoyable to say the least, it had a large bedroom with onsuite a smaller bedroom with onsuite and a seperate sitting room, decor was dated but very clean and tidy. we went with friends who had a standard room which was large with two king sized beds, there are also rooms with a single king size bed which are also very roomy. All rooms seem to have terrific views. we found the staff to be very friendly and helpfull, the leasure center was excellent and a swim before breakfast was the order of the day. All in all we paid £68 for two people for a one night stay which included evening meal with a bottle of wine and breakfast the following day. The meals were more than adequate with plenty of choice considering the price we paid.

Room Tip: Room 244 the Bolbec suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for your positive review! The £68.12 offer is excellent value for money and is still available until the end of March!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

we arrived at the hotel around 3pm feeling a little peckish, headed to the bar for a drink and a sandwich, the Bar was starting to fill up as there was a Boxing event on that evening .
Wife ordered a steak sandwich , what a disapointment ! a few tiny bits of meat on a dry bun brought to us by the Barmaid come Waitress ?.
surprised to see 1 bar staff on duty ?.would have made a comment on the food if i had been asked if i had enjoyed it !. But not a smile or an acknowledgement as our plate was quickly whisked away.
Food and drinks in the bar also expensive.
Evening meal was enjoyable even after waiting such a long time it to arrive......
It would have been nice to have been informed about the Boxing event!! so we could have made arrangements to stay somewhere else in a more hotel like atmosphere rather than a noisy sporting arena!!
After a very noisy night we headed to the restaurant for breakfast, I have never witnessed such poor service in any rating of hotel i have stayed in!!
We where showed to our table and asked if if would like tea or coffee by one of the 2 staff on duty ,which was brought quite quickly,
after waiting around 25 mins and tea and coffee drank , i asked the waiter if he had forgot to take our order for breakfast , and he had forgot!!! we ordered hot breakfasts and more coffee and about another 25 minutes passed as we watched other guests who arrived later than us eating breakfasts,
i asked again where our breakfast was , only to be told by flustered waiter " your breakfasts are on Route i think". i eventually asked the girl if she knew when our food would arrive and she brought it 10 minutes later.it was not worth waiting for 1 sausage, 1 small bacon rasher and a tiny poached egg and a very thin slice of black pudding.and dried up beans......
also our coffee never arrived !! what a surprise.. all in all one of the worst dining experiences ever.
We will not be back and will not be reccomending this hotel .

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jollyholsxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for your frank and honest comment. Some points I totally agree with, however breakfast here is usually quite a hearty affair so suprised at your comment. The hotel was extremely busy due to a boxing dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allensford
13.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
16.6 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
21.0 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beaumont Hotel
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
6.8 mi away
The Brown Horse Hotel
The Brown Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tow Law
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor

Property: BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
Address: Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor Allensford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing