We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Certificate of Excellence
Tyne and Wear
1 review
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Just paid £100 to stay at Derwent Manor for 1 night, we were married there so we were excited to return. Unfortunately, we were so disappointed, the cottage (bedsit) was dated, horrid, weird and just 2 star. I had mentioned on booking the significance in the hotel to us but instead of a decent room we got hairs in the shower and on the bed sheets! The door was extremely difficult to open and decor was basically nasty.

Supplements on a lot of the menu, food OK. Staff friendly and helpful. Long wait for breakfast, definitely had sat on a hot plate for sometime.

The leisure facilities were enjoyable and clean.

The hotel could be so good if it was improved and some investment was made. It is in an ideal setting but unfortunately it is robbed of its full potential. Would not book this as a wedding venue if doing it all again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you for your comments regards our cottages, which are supposed to be quaint cottages not modern. The hotel does in excess of 100 weddings each year with very few complaints, please do call the hotel direct where I will be glad to offer you the very best that Derwent has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    477
    167
    85
    60
See reviews for
240
700
21
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Stayed at Derwent Manor Hotel on the 11th of Feb, one night - Party of four.

Because we arrived before the check in times we went for a quick drink and game of pool in the bar (pricey but to be expected) then straight to the pool where the facilities, including jacuzzi and sauna, were fantastic!

We then checked into the rooms, the lady on reception was lovely and very helpful.

Our room had two king size beds and a beautiful view! And the meal which was included in our deal (as well as the bottle of wine it came with) was amazing! - Despite paying a supplement on the steak, it was well worth it!

Breakfast in the morning was also flawless with a continental option as well as a menu full of different breakfasts including full English and waffles! (We went for the full English and it was perfect).

Overall brilliant stay (Not sure how much it would cost without the deal but for what we paid it was fantastic!)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you for your positive comments, the 68.12 deal you had is certainly one of the best around. Had you paid full price for this it would have been in excess of £140.00!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed at the Derwent Manor last Saturday night. It was a special deal, £68 quid or so for Bed, Breakfast and Evening meal for 2. Great deal I hear you say... they have a very captive audience so the drinks were well over priced, I paid £8.80 for 2 pints of lager with a splash of lime. Dinner was laughable, almost everything had a supplement charge on it, we had the steak which had a £4.95 supplement each, even the cheese and biscuits had a supplement! Breakfast service was quick but although its not a buffet per se, they take your order and in the kitchen the buffet is layed out so your breakfast is super fast as all the food has been ready and under the lamps. Thin walls in the bedrooms, I could hear the guy in the next room snoring loudly! We didnt partake of the leisure facilities after reading other trip advisors write ups. Probably best suited to lower priced wedding parties and people who have never experienced excellence in the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mercia2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Just amazed at the comments, in the bar if you had 2 of our most expensive pints that would only come to £6.80.
The menu is a 6,6,6 choice with 2 items on each course being supplemented.
The 68.12 is a fantastic deal and you omit the fact that it includes a bottle of wine along side Dinner.
At the price this is hospitality at a steal. Please do let me know if there are any better deals within a 50 mile radius.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed at Derwent Manor for 2 nights in January. The first night we ate out as we arrived quite late after work and the restaurant was about to close.
We booked a table in the restaurant on the saturday night. The food was very poor quality. I ordered the fish. It didn't say what type it was but it was very small and tasted bland. There was no vegetables just a few potatoes and what looked like a pesto sauce over it all.
This hotel is a great venue (cosy, relaxing, lovely rooms and bar area) but the food was such a let down.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Many thanks for your constructive comments, your food comment regards the fish are noted and we will now consider naming the fish.
Please know your thoughtfull comments have helped us to enhance other people's stay.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Location: Ok as long as you like looking across to the nearby industrial looking town.

Check in: No problems

Room: Basic 2 star quality

Bar: Reasonably pleasant with a fake log fire, chatty bar staff and prices as you would expect in a hotel.

Dinner: Starters bland and unimaginative, Very Poor Quality, tiny steak (Tuff), Homemade chunky chips cooked in old nasty oil, unseasoned, vegetables cooked poorly with no real attempt at presentation. Every element of dinner was a complete let down.

Breakfast: Re-heated leftovers from the previous day! Also we had a very long wait (30mins) to get served. However, it was a busy weekend and I could have easily forgiven this fault were it not for our horrible dinner the night before.

From what I can make out, the manger will pop up on here like a flash trying to mitigate or deny this review. However, I feel that if he put the same amount of effort into running his hotel as he does on here he may find that there would be a lot fewer complaints to deal with.

We felt that the standards of food were so low that there was no point complaining. As the only solution would have been to dine outwith this hotel

Room Tip: Eat anywhere other than this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dado p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Absolutely shocked at the comments, January has been extremely busy for us with very fue isses regards dinner and breakfasts are always cooked to order. But your comments and opinions are noted in the constructive manner they are no doubt meant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I have visited Derwent Manor on a number of occasions with family and with friends. I really like the hotel and it's atmosphere, especially the cosy log fire in the bar area! The swimming pool is ok however I think it is long overdue a modernisation!! We have had the fortune of being able to get some great deals on Derwent Manor and for the past two occasions this has gone some way to compensate the absolutely awful food!! However this time on our visit in January we were not able to get a good discount and paid £92 pounds for bed and breakfast. As there are no restaurants in close proximity we ate in the hotel restaurant. What an error!! The starter and main can only be described as disgusting. Although the waiter was friendly the service was extrememly slow and they didn't respond to what we asked for (simple things such as drinks and cutlery). I feel that it is such as shame that such a nice hotel which has so much potential and a great location really lets itself down on the poor quality, preparation and presentation of it's food. I had considered this hotel as a wedding venue but our last stay unfortunately confirmed for me that this was a definite no! Sorry Derwent Manor but you are capable of so much more!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenjenatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitburn
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Have just returned from overnight stay with friends at the Derwent Manor Hotel DBB + wine for a remarkable price per couple !!! - there were 10 of us.

Hotel was fantastic- certainly worth more than it's 3* staff were very friendly. Bedrooms ranged from a full suite to standard - our standard had 2 king size beds - all had fantastic views. The separate leisure facility was certainly 4*+

Evening meal was delicious - with a bottle of wine per couple included, at breakfast the staff could not have been more attentive. We will defintely be going back

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you for your most positive comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allensford
16.6 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
13.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
11.9 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
21.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
8.8 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Address: | Allensford, Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford, Northumberland
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing