We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real treat as always” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A real treat as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed as usual on one of the hotels special deals with dinner bed and breakfast, and once again were not disappointed.
Arrived late afternoon and had tea and scones and then spent an hour or so relaxing in the pool, sauna and jacussi. There had been a problem with the pool which we were forwarned of, it was a little cool but this was appreciated after a long stint in the sauna!
Dinner next which as usual was superb. Only problem here is choosing what to have! But helped out by the lovely waiting staff.
Breakfast is a real treat at the Derwent Manor, with fruit, cereals, pastries as well as a full English breakfast or other cooked options. then back to the pool and sauna for a little more R & R before departure.
The staff are all lovely and we were made to feel special by everyone, thanks once again Derwent Manor for a lovely little break!

Room Tip: We were upgraded this time, and the suite was amasing, but I can honestly say we have never had a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine_13_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

I was delighted to read you had an enjoyable return visit to our hotel and that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

I will gladly pass your kind comments to all staff involved and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kindest regards

Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    465
    165
    85
    59
See reviews for
230
687
20
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

this hotel is really excellent if you just want to stay and chill out, a bit out of the way, with no bus route, so its drive or taxi, the staff are excellent from the maid to the bar staff, if i had one gripe it would be my usual, dirty tile grout and bath sealent

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you had an excellent bank holiday stay with us.

I will pass all of your kind comments onto all staff involved.

Kindest regards

Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I like nothing more from this hotel on a sunny day than sitting outside enjoying a cold glass of wine and eating the warm spicy nuts that they sell from the bar at the Derwent Manor. It's our way of relaxing, enjoying the view and the peace and quiet of the hotel and we have been doing this on a regular basis for a good few years. Over the bank holiday weekend, the weather was lovely so we decided to have a sit outside, enjoy a drink and some nuts only to find that when we arrived that there were no nuts in their usual place on the bar, the barman told us that they had stopped supplying them because of the short shelf life, very dissappointing and they couldn't offer any other snacks than crisps. It may seem such a small thing to most of you reading this but I really enjoyed sitting in the sun with a nice glass of wine chatting the day away. It's not cheap either £9.00 for a wine and two bottles of coke because they only serve coke in small bottles, but sadly we'll have to find a new place now. I would like to suggest that if they dont re-instate the nuts that they provide a selection of packet nuts and other bar snacks. They have quite a good restaurant, there's no reason why they cant provide olives or nachos. We like this hotel, we had our wedding reception there, but theres so much more the hotel can offer for non residents.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KazNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to our hotel.

I am sorry that we have decided to discontinue the hot nuts that we used to sell.

As new owners of the hotel, customer satisfaction is our primary concern as a result of your feedback I am delighted to inform you that we have introduced a wide range of additional snacks and nuts for consumption in our bar area.

We have some exciting plans for our outside area, including a heated terrace, giant parasols etc as part of our multi million pound refurbishment.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kindest regards

Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severna Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I want to start this by saying that this is the FIRST time I have ever written a recommendation!

I am on a 2 month UK trip with my family from the US. I researched this trip for MONTHS. Every night was carefully planned. For our trip North to Scotland I wanted to make a stop and see Hadrian's Wall. I knew my kids (ages 8-12) would need a break so I looked for a good place specifically for kids (ie with a great pool). We usually rent houses or apartments because we have 4 kids. For this one night, we made an exception. If you look at this website, it looks awesome. Did you see the pool? And it's a Best Western so you know there will be a shower and hot water. So we rent 2 rooms (a big splurge) and prepay for internet and breakfast. The drive was long and we hit a lot of traffic on the way. I called and let them know we were going to be late and asked about the pool closing time. The rest of the drive became a mission to make it to the hotel before the pool closed at 9pm. The kids even changed into their swim suits in the van. We pulled in at 830pm-30 min of swimming!! Ran to the desk to get the pool key...guess what...the pool has adult swim from 6:30 pm to 9 pm (closing). My youngest lost it in the lobby. So did I, I admit. I did aske to speak to the manager but he/she was conveniently on holiday for the weekend...
I found out that the manager, not Best Western has set this policy. I can't tell you how upset, I was. Most families that are going to see cool things like Hadrian's wall, Durham's Cathedral, etc. go during the day, come back to the hotel, eat dinner, then go swimming. There is NOTHING else for kids to do here at night. We checked. Even the TV's have 6 channels (no kids channels) and they sit below the bed height-weird. THIS IS NOT A FAMILY PLACE AS ADVERTISED. I would love to get a refund.

Summary:
Lovely view and hotel
Nice breakfast
Great place to get married or come as a couple
NOT A FAMILY PLACE
POOL CLOSES AT 6:30 for KIDS!!!! VIA MANAGERS ORDERS

REFUND PLEASE

Room Tip: Not a family hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GwenG313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with and also your review that you posted on the BEST WESTERN review site.

I apologise if you feel we did not exceed your expectations whilst staying with us regarding the opening times of our pool. As independent owners of the hotel we adhere to our own policies and not BEST WESTERN.

As new owners of the hotel customer satisfaction is our primary concern. The reason we have specific times for children is to ensure all guests enjoy the leisure facilities, be it a couple, family or local leisure club member.

I was not at the hotel the time you checked in as I had left for the day. However as a result of your feedback we have extended the swimming hours for children until 7.30pm.We feel that this gives a fair balance to all of guests to ensure they all receive a superior experience whilst staying at our hotel.

The hotel is embarking on a multi million pound refurbishment programme which will include the upgrading of all of the hotel facilities including TV's.

Once again my sincerest of apologies.

Kindest regards

Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allensford
13.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
16.6 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
21.0 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beaumont Hotel
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
6.8 mi away
The Brown Horse Hotel
The Brown Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tow Law
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor

Property: BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
Address: Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor Allensford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing