We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Read some of the reviews about this hotel and only agree with the best, very welcoming, friendly, would return here again. Ideal base for visiting Beamish, Newcastle Metro Centre if you need to shop, and then return for some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nutch001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review. I was delighted that you had such a nice stay for your "holiday break"

I will pass your kind words to all the staff involved.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Kindest regards,

Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

849 - 855 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Had a weekend away with my wife, daughter and dog. Room was very nice and clean although the bed was a bit uncomfortable. Staff very pleasant and chatty. Breakfast was great with plenty of food. Had problems with a shortage of hot water later in the evening though. Lots of dog walking space although the weather spoilt this a bit,(not the hotels fault). All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read you had a "great weekend away"

I am sorry for the inconvenience of a lack of hot water, this was due to us switching from our old boiler system to a new environmentally friendly biomass boiler solution, that does not only save the environment but ensures we have sufficient heating and hot water for you our valued guests.

As new owners of the hotel we are committed to improving our hotel and as part of our multi million pound refurbishment programme all of our beds are being renewed.

Once again thank you for your review and your custom and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We visit Derwent Manor Hotel at least once a year because we find it very relaxing. On arrival, we were allocated a very spacious room (235) with great views across the Derwent Valley. Now under new management, it’s undergoing a £1m refurbishment programme starting with the courtyard cottages although new leaded light double glazing is being installed almost everywhere including the restaurant and bar areas. Remarkably, none of this work was intrusive and we enjoyed our two night visit (DB&B on both nights and a bottle of wine on the first) courtesy of Great Little Breaks £178 voucher. With accommodation, food and service already at a good standard for a 3-star hotel, it won’t take much to add another star to its current rating. I spoke to Keith Donkin, new joint owner, who has a very refreshing and realistic approach to the challenge. Gone are the £40 bottles of Rioja Criantha from the wine list with very drinkable house wines at £13.95 taking its place. Mr Donkin told me that the hotel wasn’t Slayley Hall standard yet and couldn’t go on charge prices that suggested it was. I told you he was realistic and he and his business partner should do well with this mammoth project. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking onto the Valley. They are quieter and have super Jane Eyre-ish type views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I was delighted to read following form our conversation at the hotel that you had yet another enjoyable stay and that our refurbishment programme did not effect your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future where you will be able to see the progress of our planned refurbishment.

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Nice place to get away! No traffic, no noise. Actually a bit secluded, but as long as walking to shopping/restaurants/etc is not important, good place. Great food. Great views of countryside - can hike along country roads without issue.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for such a positive review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor.

I will pass your feedback to all staff concerned.

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Erik D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Lovely hotel in own grounds surrounded by beautiful countryside. Great if you have a dog (welcome at this hotel) as there is loads of scope for local walks directly from the hotel grounds. Didn't go in restaurant but bar food menu was extensive and food tasty and well presented as was the breakfast. Staff friendly and helpful, would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.

I was delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allensford
15.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
721 reviews
16.6 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,183 reviews
13.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
12 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
8.8 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel

Address: | Allensford, Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Price Range: £56 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford, Northumberland
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing