We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
3  Thank 298heatherg
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

831 - 837 of 1,470 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife and her friend enjoyed their 2-night joint birthday break here last week. Room comfortable, food and service fine. Beautiful countryside for exploring and walking. These comments are made by my wife for me.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank DBR43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, I was pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable two night stay at our hotel.

I will pass your comments to all staff involved.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon....

Kindest regards,

Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

When driving up we were very happy.

When we arrived 20 minutes early we and everyone else were told our rooms weren't ready so sat in bar until 3 pm.

Once we got our key we were told our room was 117 when we entered it didn't smell as if it had just cleaned (which tells me we were lied to earlier by female receptionist) room actually smelt dirty and smokey ( which must be impossible given there's no smoking) but it did smell stale and quickly got the deodorant to freshen up.

Leisure facilities were very good, I used the gym whilst hubby and daughter used swimming pool.

Evening meal was outstanding and all staff gave 100% customer service.

There was three of us visiting but no extra cup was put out for our daughter ( who is always quick to point out that kids like a cupa too)

We had a two day daily deal offer but we couldn't stay both nights, we couldn't take anymore of the constant banging of fire doors every few minutes ( I understand the fire doors must be kept closed, but they could have closures on them to enable them to close quietly)

After spending the week travelling from north to south in a different hotel every night, I've got to say this was the most disappointing, which is a real shame given I thought I'd saved the best till last ( but unfortunately not)

Overall I'd say it's ok for stop over
Food was amazing
Room was very dull and dated and smelly
Staff all lovely
Wouldn't return back though (sorry) I hate to leave negative feedback

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lync80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review, I was sorry to read of your dissatisfaction regarding your room.

Should you have brought these matters to the attention of us during your stay we would have attempted to rectify them for you.

As new owners of the hotel customer satisfaction is our primary aim. We are committed to a refurbishment programme of the whole property which includes the refurbishment of all areas of the hotel.

We hope to see you again once our refurbishment has progressed.

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights as part of a group. This is a lovely hotel which is undergoing a refurbishment, this didn't impact on our stay at all. Yes, our room was old fashioned with dark wood furniture, a small t.v. on a floor stand and a pale green bathroom suite. However, the staff here are wonderful, extremely helpful and friendly. The food was way beyond 3 star, excellent selection and extremely well presented. Bar service is a little slow The hotel is a little isolated if you don't have transport, although there is plenty of car parking space. There is a lovely walk down to the River Derwent, where one of our group saw a Kingfisher, we saw Grey Wagtails and a Yellow Hammer. The walk is about a mile each way. House Martins nest in the eves of the hotel. Carpets in the public areas are a little worse for wear and there are a lot of sets of stairs and, although there is a small lift you will still have to climb stairs at some point. This would be a good base for walking and I would like to return once the upgrading has finished.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mypointofviewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I was delighted that you enjoyed your five night stay with us.

I will pass all of your kind comments to all of the staff involved regarding our service and food standards.

We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here on a two night Beamish break courtesy of Great Little Breaks. This break included two nights bed, breakfast and evening meal in the restaurant and tickets for Beamish outdoor museum.

Although the hotel is 3 star rated the food served at dinner from the table d'hote menu was definitely as good as you would expect from many a la carte menus. Breakfast was the usual full English with fried or poached eggs being cooked to order. There was a coach party staying at the hotel during our stay, however, they had breakfast in another room, but had their evening meal in the main restaurant. Sometimes this left only one waitress, Lauren, in charge of the rest of the other guests , and she coped with this task really superbly.

The hotel itself is undergoing a 1 million pound renovation. I think the room we had was partly renovated as we had a large lcd television on the wall but brown wood furniture. As with other reviews I agree the potholed road up to the hotel is well in need of repair and the speed ramps require new markings. We did not use the leisure facilities so cannot comment on this, however, the service in the bar was on the slow side even though there wasn't many guests in there.

All in all we had an enjoyable break at this hotel, although it is a little out of the way. The staff were very polite and knowledgeable and we will be likely to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review, I was delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Our refurbishment programme has begun but not as yet in the main hotel bedrooms, we would love you to revisit us once our programme has been completed.

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We first used this hotel for our wedding 25 years ago and to celebrate friends booked us in for a dbb stay. I have to say we thoroughly enjoyed it. In many respects the decor and fittings remain the same but there is an ongoing refurbishment under new ownership. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable, staff friendly and courteous. The highlight had to be the food. Excellent evening meal and breakfast cooked to order. Delicious. The pool is an addition since our last stay and although small was an asset. I say grab it while you can as when the refurbishment is complete this will be moving up from a 3* with consequent increase in prices. At the moment there is some disruption caused by the work in progress but it was minimal.
Set in countryside it was very quiet at night and any noise from other residents was very minimal as well. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you chose us again to host a get together with your friends for your 25th Birthday celebrations.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future to see the progress of our refurbishment.

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

After previous visits, my daughter told us to get married at The Derwent Manor. 259 miles away from where we live, but ok, why not! And certainly didn't regret the decision. The staff, particularly Helen and Alison could not have been more helpful. We had a particular way we wanted things done and they agreed to it all. From taking over pretty much the whole hotel for 3 days, photos all over the hotel, we have been left with wonderful memories.
The food was lovely, in the bar, for breakfast and for our wedding
The service was first class
And at a price that was totally reasonable
We would do it all again!

Room Tip: We had Suite 3, and was big enough for a large dining table, sofa and tv area, and bed. Beautifully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and wedding here at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor.

I was delighted to read we could help make your day so memorable. I will certainly pass your kind words to Alison and Helen.

Congratulations ! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Kindest regards,

Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allensford
8.8 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
13.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,582 reviews
15.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,192 reviews
12 mi away
The Beaumont Hexham, Hotel
6.8 mi away
The Brown Horse Hotel
The Brown Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tow Law
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel

Address: | Allensford, Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Price Range: £56 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford, Northumberland
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing