We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Our family stayed for a couple of nights while visiting the area. Yes parts of the hotel is a little dated which they are very much aware as sections have been re modernised. We have stayed in by far more expensive hotels but money doesn't guarantee good service which this hotel oozed. All staff always had a smile on their face and were forever willing to help. This is what made this a great stay, not the tiles in the bathroom nor the 'out of service' men's changing rooms at the pool, the staff, they make Derwent Manor a great hotel especially the duty manger on Wednesday. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for such a positive review. I was delighted to read that you had such and enjoyable stay with us and the staff gave you great service.

This is something that we are extremely passionate about and have been working hard on since we purchased the hotel.

Our refurbishment programme is well under way and we look forward to you visiting our hotel again so you can see our progress...

Kindest regards

Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    465
    165
    85
    59
See reviews for
230
687
20
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We took advantage of a two night bed and breakfast offer with evening meal on the first night and we got a great deal. The room was great. The restaurant was great. The bar was great and the staff were great. Every meal we had - breakfast, dinner or bar meal was delicious. There was a really nice and relaxed atmosphere as well.
The hotel was in the middle of an upgrade and we would love to go back and see it when it's all done.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HJdd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review I was pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We would love to see you again to check the progress of our refurbishment.

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worksop
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Large hotel rooms but dated although clean. Hard beds and pillows. Nice clean towels everyday. Very expensive to eat in restaurant. Breakfast total let down. Was just warm same items every day and didnt even look nice. Small pool and sauna but ok. Small gym but again adequate. Receptionists not overally helpful neither. Shame really.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahmtyrrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy certain aspects of your stay with us and found our three course dinner for £22 per person expensive.

As new owners of the hotel we are fully committed to a multi million pound refurbishment that has begun and ongoing.

We would love for you to visit us again to check the progress of our refurbishment.

Kindest regards

Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern England
Level Contributor
137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

The setting is lovely, but the hotel is sadly dated.

Our room was clean and tidy, but the bathroom was 80's (?) and the fuzzy CRT TV almost as old. The swimming pool was nice but unfortunately the men's changing room was closed during our stay, so males had to take it in turn to use the disabled changing room.

Breakfast's got progressively worst over our 3 day stay. Poor service and food not topped up quickly enough, going cold.

Apparently the hotel is undergoing renovation - it certainly needs it.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank davethesuede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

As new owners we are fully committed to refurbishing the hotel to ensure all of our guests benefit from modern furniture and fittings.

I am pleased to say we have been making great progress and this was why the changing rooms were out of action as we are busy refurbishing those at present.

Our cottages have been fully refurbished and we are beginning the refurbishment of the hotel bedrooms next.

We look forward to welcoming you again so you can check on the progress of our refurbishment.

Kindest regards


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

My wife and I stayed in room 122 and my sister in law in 123.

The rooms were both large, clean and tidy , if a little dated.

We stayed for 5 nights on a B & B basis , but ate in the bar each night.

The bar food was good but a little expensive ( main course ranges from £10 to £20 ) and the drinks were seriously overpriced ( they do not have soft drinks on draught so they use bottles..we were charged £7.20 for two pints of shandy ! )

Our main gripe was the breakfasts..the hot food was served as a buffet where the staff place the food into large metal containers ,kept warm by a bath of hot water underneath. You then help yourself to what you want.

The downside is that I did not see anyone replace the hot water , which went cold very quickly.

As a result the breakfasts were cold and inedible. During our staff we complained to the manager who had obviously received other complaints because the was testing the food with a thermometer!

This problem persisted all week (19th to 23rd August) and nothing seemed to be done to rectify the problem.

In addition , the shower above the bath in our room didn't just drip , it was a constant stream and the cold bath tap was so loose it swivelled round when you turned the handle.

This was pointed out to the staff at reception on the first morning and we were informed that someone would look at it. Nothing was done during our stay and no update was received.

There were notices in the hotel about a £1 million re-fit. We saw no evidence of this taking place so presumably it is still to be done? If so, Best Western Derwent Manor need to pay some attention to the little details and come up with a way of providing food which is kept hot.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for you review, I was disappointed that you did not enjoy aspects of your stay.

As new owners of the hotel customer satisfaction is our primary aim and I apologise for your dissatisfaction. I will address your feedback with all of the management and staff at the hotel to ensure we achieve our ethos of providing a superior stay experience for all of our guests.

Our refurbishment programme has begun and our hotel is undergoing a multi million pound refurbishment and all rooms and facilities within the hotel will benefit from being refurbished including our leisure club and hotel bedrooms.

To date we have fitted a biomass boiler system to provide energy efficient heating and hot water, refurbished eleven of our cottages, fully refurbished our Grand Hall function suite and then we will be beginning the refurbishment of our hotel bedrooms as well as completing the refurbishment of our leisure club which has begun.

We hope for you to visit us again so you can check the progress of our refurbishment,

Kindest regards

Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

As the title says, we went here for afternoon tea. On booking I was told that it is served in the bar so we went straight there. I told the server we had booked afternoon tea and she asked if I would like to pay straight away. The cost is £12.00 each. She told us to take a seat anywhere. There's no white linen cloths here! Unfortunately she didn't ask if we would like tea or coffee so both of us landed up with tea! I asked if there was a choice of sandwiches but she said we would get a selection.

Our three tier tray arrived with sandwiches on the bottom, cakes in the centre and scones on the top. The sandwiches were 2 fingers each of cheese savoury, turkey and cranberry, ham and peas pudding and smoked salmon and rocket. Hubby doesn't eat salmon so I swapped him for a ham and peas pud! The cake selection was choux buns, a small piece of very rich chocolate tort (big enough as it was so rich) and a piece of something like sponge flan (was a bit non descript). So far so good. Now the not so good bit. The scones were icy cold and were already made up with a smattering of jam and cream. I much prefer my scones warm with the jam and cream separate so I can use as much/little as I want. The scones were also quite hard. I couldn't eat mine but hubby ate half of his.

This was a just OK experience and I wouldn't be rushing back. I much prefer the afternoon tea at the Best Western Beamish Hall.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deaconblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review, I was sorry that you did not fully enjoy your afternoon tea whilst visiting our hotel.

I have raised your concerns with the chef and thank you for such feedback to ensure we are providing all of our guests with a superior experience whilst visiting us.

We hope to see you again soon....

Kindest regards


Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

This could easily have been a 4-star review had the hotel not taken their eye off the ball.

I was growing to really like the Derwent Manor, it's two and a bit hours from Edinburgh so when travelling home to Hertfordshire is a good stopping-off place for the night.
The rooms are all tidy. The cottages are a bit of a mash-up ('Maple') with no mirror nor dressing table and an en-suite basin which is severely hampered by the cupboard above. All beds are beautifully comfortable.

The bar has a good, varied menu to suit most tastes and the quality is also very good.
The breakfasts are outstanding cooked to order, all ingredients were of a fantastic quality and hot and (ful)filling...or at least they were... Because of the summer holidays and increased number of guests the hotel reverted to a buffet. The 'hot' food was lukewarm, the continental buffet really not up to standard.

I did point my concerns to the hotel but I suspect they cannot see beyond recouping the £1 million being spent on their refit, which is 'well under way'.

Derwent Manor - don't' forget what's important!!

Room Tip: The cottages are a samll though furnished really well (and quite new Aug 2014). Don't chose Map...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review, I was sorry to read that you were not entirely satisfied on your recent visit to our hotel.

Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us as new owners of the hotel and I apologise unreservedly if you feel we have forgotten what is important.

I have placed an additional mirror in the bedroom to ensure future guests do not encounter the issues you had whilst staying with us.

Buffet breakfast is served when the hotel has more than 100 guests for breakfast this is to ensure our corporate guests and leisure guests are served efficiently without delay.

I thank you for your feedback and assure you I will act upon your concerns, to ensure we fulfil your expectations whilst staying with us.

Kindest regards

Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allensford
13.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
16.6 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
21.0 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beaumont Hotel
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
6.8 mi away
The Brown Horse Hotel
The Brown Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tow Law
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor

Property: BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
Address: Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor Allensford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing