We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Slaley Hall(Slaley)
US$127
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$198
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Beamish Park Hotel(Marley Hill)
US$101
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Close House Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,527)
Filter reviews
1,527 results
Traveller rating
686
508
174
91
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
686
508
174
91
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsderwent manortwo double bedsleisure facilitiescourse mealon arrivalfunction roomgrand halllovely hotelrestaurant staffgroupon dealbar mealssauna and jacuzzithree coursesevery member of staffwedding venueroom was largelovely setting
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
841 - 846 of 1,527 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Derwent Manor. Hotel looks great and is well located for the local sites (Hadrian’s Wall, Durham, Newcastle etc.). Room was large and tidy. Staff were all very pleasant and professional. Food was excellent in the bar area, breakfast was mainly good but the bacon didn’t look too appetising. However the shower was next to useless which was a great shame as this was our only complaint. Very good all round value.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank StevePu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review I am pleased you enjoyed the majority of you stay with us.

I have asked our maintenance team to look at the shower to ensure any of future guests are not faced with the same issues.

Our hotel is undergoing a full refurbishment and this will see all of our hotel rooms being refurbished along with all public areas.

Once again thank you for your review and feedback and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed for three nights with our three children the room was as we had expected the staff were very helpful. The breakfast which is normally a highlight for the children when they stay in a hotel was poor and uninspiring probably not helped by the mouldy bread in the toast pile. We didn't get to use the pool because it wasn't working.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel with your family.

I was sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast experience whilst staying with us. All of our bread is delivered fresh daily and with over 100 guests daily for breakfast I apologise if you found the bread to be mouldy.

I am unsure as to why you could not use the swimming pool as this has not been out of action?

Kindest regards

Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

My partner and I have just had two delightful days at Derwent Manor.
It is an impressive building that is a perfect location for a wedding or a quiet get away and its size means that the twain do not have to meet which was good.

We dined in the restaurant on the day that we arrived and it was refreshing to have a table that was properly laid rather than the 'modern' habit of sideplates on the swrong side bearing an array of cutlery. The restaurant manager knew his stuff and we both agreed that casual table layouts denote a level of amateurism.

Our twin room was so generously proportioned that we had twin double beds which were extremely comfortable. The towels were good and all in all the first impression was good.
As we went to breakfast we told one of the staff that we had a cistern malfunction and by the time we got back to the room there was a maintenance man fixing it. Problem solved.

We had our second dinner in the bar and it was very good too so all in all I would be happy to recommend Derwent Manor. The restaurant manager told us that a re-fit is scheduled in due course and I would like to see what they do. The place is vast and it is a little dated but it is in a wonderful location with fantastic views and I would be happy to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Margo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for such positive review. I was delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay at our hotel.

As you state in our review our refurbishment is well underway and we would love you to visit us again so you can see the progress we have made.

Kindest regards

Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Our family stayed for a couple of nights while visiting the area. Yes parts of the hotel is a little dated which they are very much aware as sections have been re modernised. We have stayed in by far more expensive hotels but money doesn't guarantee good service which this hotel oozed. All staff always had a smile on their face and were forever willing to help. This is what made this a great stay, not the tiles in the bathroom nor the 'out of service' men's changing rooms at the pool, the staff, they make Derwent Manor a great hotel especially the duty manger on Wednesday. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for such a positive review. I was delighted to read that you had such and enjoyable stay with us and the staff gave you great service.

This is something that we are extremely passionate about and have been working hard on since we purchased the hotel.

Our refurbishment programme is well under way and we look forward to you visiting our hotel again so you can see our progress...

Kindest regards

Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We took advantage of a two night bed and breakfast offer with evening meal on the first night and we got a great deal. The room was great. The restaurant was great. The bar was great and the staff were great. Every meal we had - breakfast, dinner or bar meal was delicious. There was a really nice and relaxed atmosphere as well.
The hotel was in the middle of an upgrade and we would love to go back and see it when it's all done.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HJdd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review I was pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We would love to see you again to check the progress of our refurbishment.

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews