We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place, fantastic staff, excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle-upon-tyne
1 review
“Fantastic place, fantastic staff, excellent value for money”
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Rachel & Steven Davison - married 17 Aug 2008 Grand Hall

Fantastic wedding day in 2008, staff fantastic, food amazing, hotel brilliant for accessibility, affordability, and value for money. Hotel couldn't have been more helpful and the wedding co-ordinator Mary was more than helpful, with a great sense of humour to de-stress the most stressful of brides.....my wife!!

Really looking forward to our Anniversary reunion there in a couple of weeks. Anyone thinking of a wedding or event there should definately go and check it out.

Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sdavison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    481
    167
    88
    62
See reviews for
248
713
21
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alsager, Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

The staff were very helpful. The food very good and they even provided dishes that weren't on the menu.
The room was clean and spacious with a wonderful view.
Nothing too much trouble

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigger6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager, Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

Brilliant hotel. Excellent service and attention from the staff. Food was excellent and nothing was too much trouble including providing dishes that were not on the menu.
Room was spacious and had good views.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigger6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2009

Travelzoo deal for 1 nights dbb, one nights b&b and free entry into Beamish Museum at a smashing price.
Hotel quite quirky......interesting decor....freshly cooked to order breakfasts, pleasant evening meal, spacious rooms with everything you need, great views across the countryside and a cracking location to vist bits of Durham, Cumbria and the south west of Northumberland....not so handy though for The Heritage Coast or the Cheviots area.
The vast majority of the staff were pleasant and courteous.
The menu in the bar was good value if eating between 5pm and 7pm.
All in all great value break at an easy going 3 star hotel.
If there was an update from what seemed to be the 1980s decor, or if the televisions were modern and fuzz free it would change the character of the hotel and also increase the price.
At the price we paid we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinCold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Stayed at the hotel as part of wedding party. Arrived to be greeted by the reception where check in was extremely smooth - they obviously handle large parties.
Room was okay, clean but very basic and dated. It was huge though with 2 double beds but lacked comfort elements. Nice view to the front. Also free water as cannot drink from taps at the moment.
Wedding was fab but staff could definitely improve - very young staff with no management present. Small things like running out of food, not chasing up on things, being quite lax - small things that could be improved. Food though was okay and tasty.

Bars were ran okay but closed quite early on and wouldn't move certain spirits through to the other bar??? Very strange but again staff were polite. Quite reasonably priced too with regards to drinks.

Master of ceremonies definitely needs to improve - this was a bar staff member with no official attire. It was disgraceful that the hotel should allow this. the staff member was also very scruffy in their attire.

Night time buffet was better but again finishing touches were lacking with regards to ettiquette.

Beds were okay but our friends had a terrible night with an ajoining room.

Breakfast was fantastic!!! really impressed and surprised.

Overall wedding was amazing but hotel contributed little to that day - the basics are there and with slight improvements this good be a really good hotel. Needs to be more strict and ran better. Young teams need a strong manager or wedding planner. In terms of the setting it's beautiful - again they could make more of their surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polly10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2009
I would like to thank you for your constructive comments as these will aid us with staff training and continued improvements.

Please be assured that we do take your comments most seriously and I have discussed your comments in detail with the team.

It is through guest feedback we are able to monitor and improve on our levels of service.

I hope to welcome you back the Derwent Manor Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in this wonderful hotel. We came across it by receiving an e mail from Travelzoo and it was linked to hotels.com (I think.) It was a special offer price of £65 per night with a free dinner on any of the nights and also included free tickets to Beamish.

The hotel stands in its own grounds with lots of walks directly linked to the hotel which you need after the fantastic meals! There is a fitness centre, sauna and pool.

We were initially a little disappointed to find that our room was not ready for over an hour when we arrived especially as we could not check in until 3pm anyway. But after that everything was brilliant. The room was large, clean, warm and had a brilliant view across the moors (which we did not expect with an offer.) There was the usual tray of tea/coffee and bikkies - good quality ones too.

We booked our meal for the first night and can honestly say it was one of the best meals we have ever had in a hotel, we immediately booked for the remaining 2 nights at an unbelievable offer price of £10 per person for 3 courses and coffee - we could not believe it - given the extremely high standard of the food and service.

There is also Afternoon Tea served daily and the hot scones with fresh cream, jam and lots of tea is something you just have to try especially after a long walk and it only cost £2.99.

As well as Beamish (which was also well worth the visit) there are lots of other things to occupy yourself with - the coast, Newcastle, moors lots of pretty villages, Hadrians Wall, etc all within a few miles drive.

The hotel used to be a farm and the information provided says that it is where Rowan Atkinson grew up, in fact one of the self catering cottages on site is called Rowan Cottage. The orginal farm house is still there but lots of buildings have now been added.

We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and shall certainly return.

Sorry but I have not yet worked out how to add photos.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnniDYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breaston,derby
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

stayed for three nights on b&b.we ate at the hotel on all three nights,once in the restaurant and twice in the bar.the food in the restaurant was good and fairly priced at 19.50 for three courses.in the bar if you ate between 4pm-7pm you had two courses for £10 including half a bottle of wine but that was a spring special up until 20th may.the bedroom with a shower was comfortable and clean and the hotel was clean all through.they do have a leisure centre but we did not have time to use it.the hotel is situated well for visits to beamish outdoor museum,durham and the metro centre.It is owned by oxford hotels and inns.All the management and staff were very good

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n0rmski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allensford
16.6 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,109 reviews
13.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,509 reviews
21.0 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
15.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
683 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Address: | Allensford, Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford, Northumberland
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing