We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage by the sea.”
other travellers have booked this property
Front entrance and parking/patio area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front entrance and parking/patio area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Front entrance and parking/patio area.
Dining area
Master bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pineapple...
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage by the sea.”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I were lucky enough to rent this beautiful cottage for 4 nights. Everything about this experience was excellent. From the easy online booking and payment process, throught to confirmation from the owners. We were met at the property by the owner Lesleys husband. He was very welcoming and gave us lots of useful information about the area and places to visit. He gave us a quick tour of the cottage and even told us the history of it, which was fascinating. We loved the black and white prints on the walls of the families who had lived there for the previous hundred tears, The cottage itself exceeded our expectations. We've stayed in a lot of holiday lettings but this one was up there with the best of them. Beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, they had literally thought of everything you might need. The location couldn't have been better for us. 30 seconds walk and you were on a stunning sandy beach, what else could you want. Newbiggin is not a big town, but that's why we liked it. Quaint little shops & cafes that had everything you needed for a self catering stay. Ideally situated for exploring Northumberland. Lovely little gem of a cottage, we really did not want to come home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feel of the cottage and the location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Thank you for this wonderful review of our cottage. I'm sorry I was unable to greet you myself on your arrival, but it seems my husband did a good job.
I'm glad everything was to your liking and you put us up there with the best.
Thanks again. Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jokaromeo
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage close to the sea, very clean & tidy,friendly owners.Great”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We enjoyed our two weeks stay in Fisherman's cottage .The only downside is the holiday went much too fast.We visited lots of lovely places & we will be back again .Thank you to Lesley&Denis who were a pleasure to meet , ( they are the owner's)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being close to the sea.
Liked least: Bit noisy to start,but settled down.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Thanks for taking time to write this lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you too.
We are so pleased you enjoyed our cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back. Lesley & Dennis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley C
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gem of a holiday cottage”
Reviewed 2 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a brilliant relaxing holiday we had in in this very well equipped cottage. Ideally based for a lazy day, when the car didn't have to move and also for exploring Northumbria. Would we return - definitely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review.
We were so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our cottage and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobboujer...
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, great location.”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the cottage for a few nights at half term, it was very reasonably priced and in the perfect location to explore Northumberland and right across from the beach with sea views from the upstairs front windows. The property had everything we needed with a fully equipped kitchen and 2 good sized bedrooms. The living room was very comfortable and again had everything we needed. The owners are lovely and provided a cot and high chair for use during our stay. We will definitely be back here to stay as it is in the perfect location to travel to Alnwick, Seahouses, Bamburgh and all along the coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The cleanliness of the property, the location right next to the sea.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are so pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma C
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautifully appointed cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed at Fisherman's Cottage with our two young children and we all loved it. It is bright, clean and homely - we all felt right at home straight away. The cottage is in a perfect spot for exploring the beach and for travelling around the area. We didn't want to come home and will be back for another visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2016
Thank you for the lovely review, we are so pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back. Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinaug
Ashington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location with sea views from courtyard area, a home from home and welcoming owner”
Reviewed 13 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

First guests to stay and everything was perfect from day one. Beautifully furnished to a five star standard and very comfortable. Perfect for couples or small families.
Highly recommended and we will be returning for further visits.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2016
Thank you so much for this lovely review. We really appreciate your feedback and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Fisherman's Cottage
We look forward to seeing you again soon. Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing