We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Not quite New Year in Newbiggin-by-the-sea”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious living/dining room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious living/dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Spacious living/dining room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ian N
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not quite New Year in Newbiggin-by-the-sea”
Reviewed 30 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

It was a Christmas cracker instead. A festive holiday for parents, a set of grandparents, the bairn and dog.
All we wanted and more!
Hard to fault, with generous helpings of gifts for all, complete with seasonal trimmings - thanks to Gary and Dorothy.
Fabulous location, plenty to do locally and ideal as a base for further exploration.
The Nippy Dip on Boxing Day was a bonus, as was the Nespresso coffee machine to start the day :-)

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley N
1 review
“Fabulous holiday home.”
Reviewed 9 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

What an amazing place in an amazing location!!
Everything you could need in a home from home and some lovely special touches and gifts from Gary and Dorothy just make your stay so memorable and enchanting
I spent a week there with my 2 children and cockapoo Darcy and we all absolutely loved it
I will definitely be booking again and can highly recommend a stay at Sandridge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, and we look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djregent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great house”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We visited for a weeks holiday in August. We had quick responses to any questions with the owners and booking was easy. The house is tastefully furnished with comfy sofa's and chairs for relaxing after a busy day. The kitchen is well equipped and it was nice to sit and have a cuppa when we arrived along with a piece of cake. Tea, coffee, milk, biscuits and a fruit bowl were also provided along with laundry and dishwasher tablets. The bedrooms have really comfy beds and nice linen and it was nice to be offered a robe and slippers. Luckily for us, the weather was good so we could sit out on the garden chairs and take in the sun. This was an ideal base for the coast and days out. We enjoyed dog walks along the prom and headland, even being provided with binoculars for birdwatching. You couldn't fault anything and we all had an enjoyable holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We would be very happy to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki G
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful welcome in a beautiful house.”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Great communication before our trip from the owners. The house was easy to find and is in a perfect location with shops, pubs, cafes etc. right on the doorstep; not to mention the sea within a few steps! Little touches such as a lovely carrot cake, box of sweets, fruit bowl and well stocked biscuit barrel made the welcome extra special. Plenty of tea, coffee, sugar and milk available in the well equipped kitchen (would have liked a teapot though). The house is beautifully decorated with some interesting personal touches, and has really comfortable beds with good quality linen and towels. Good quality shampoo, conditioner and shower gel available in both the shower room and bathroom. The owners have thought of everything you would need for a comfortable stay; items too numerous to list. Newbiggin is well placed to explore the stunning coastline and the lovely city of Newcastle is within easy reach. The best holiday rental we have ever stayed in and one I cannot recommend highly enough.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Hi Vicki
We are so touched by your lovely review. We do appreciate how much a holiday means to our guests and we do our utmost to ensure it gets off to a great start. It is also makes such a difference when we have lovely guests like you. I will make sure there is a teapot next time you come to stay, lol.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful house. owners have gone above and beyond to make us feel welcome.”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have stayed in Newbiggin several times and it's a great location.
This house is stunning. right by the sea and so thoughtfully decorated and stocked with so many home comforts.
Looking forward to cozy evenings after long days out

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kind words. It is important to us to ensure guests have a lovely place to stay on their holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marionr11...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“An absolute delight”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Newbiggin is a lovely location and great for exploring the delights of Northumberland, which are many We visited Alnwick castle which was spectacular, so much to see and do. The Roman Fort at Sedadunum at the end of Hadrian's Wall was very impressive. Next time we'll try to book a session at Kielder Observatory !
Sandridge is a beautiful house, cosy, comfy and very well equipped. Gary and Dorothy took so much trouble and have thought of everything., including buckets and spades. They were also very responsive and quick to answer all our pre-holiday questions.
This was our first time and we were very impressed, we will go back as there is still much we'd like to see.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2017
Marion and her girls were perfect house guests and we look forward to welcoming them back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klumsdon
1 review
“Super house”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed at Sandridge for 7 nights over Easter. Everything was perfect. The house was spotless when we arrived and included really thoughtful extras such as toilet roll, tea bags, milk etc which were most welcomed after a long journey. The rooms are a good size and the beds are most comfy. Dorothy had most kindly set up a travel cot for us which was perfect as was one less thing to worry about (and fit in the car!) The house is in a great location, a stones throw from the beach and all local amenities. There is a great park less than a minutes walk which was fantastic for the children. Newbiggin has all you need and is a great place to base yourself, if visiting other sites and attractions in Northumberland. We can't wait to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2017
A lovely, delightful family who are very welcome to stay again. Many thanks for the lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing