We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderfull houses everything you need there,well...”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious accommodation - suited to a family holiday.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious accommodation - suited to a family holiday.
Dining room provides comfortable seating for up to 6 people.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Spacious accommodation - suited to a family holiday.
Dining room provides comfortable seating for up to 6 people.
Well equipped kitchen has everything you need to make self catering easy.
Shells picked by my Grandchildren add to the nautical touches throughout the property.
Breakfast in bed is a must on holiday.
Well equipped bunk room with a treasure chest of toys and games to keep  little pirates entertained.
2nd double bed makes holidaying with friends - much more comfortable.
Dining room can double up as a sleeping area for larger families.
Certificate of Excellence awarded during our first season.
Our guest reviews are always appreciated.
Bathroom has over bath shower - great for rinsing sandy toes.
Barter Books in Alnwick is a must visit for book recyclers and railway enthusiasts alike.
Barter books has a comfy café where you can while away the time over a 'bartered' book or Newpaper
Sean Henry's sea sculpture 'Couple' can be seen throughout the bay.
We are situated at the other end of this lovely promenade.  Approx. 5 minutes walk.
Fabulous walks around the beautiful Jesmond Dene in nearby Newcastle upon Tyne
A hidden treasure right on the Northumberland coast.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mick M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderfull houses everything you need there,well situated,”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

beach on your doorstop house wonderfull well situated for travel,elaine was very warm and freindly with good advice worth a visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stephen S
1 review
“What great hidden gem!”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We're a family of 4 who stayed here for a week and we loved it! As soon as we stepped through the door, it was clear Elaine had made a real effort to make the house as pleasant and attractive to stay in as possible. There was a wonderful nautical/seaside theme to the rooms, with picutres of Newbiggin, jars of shells and sea-side-y items all around the house.

Elaine herself was lovely when we arrived, showing us around the house and chatting to our 2 girls very enthusiastically! She'd very kindly left us tea and coffee and ice creams for the girls - thank you! There were also games, DVDs and books for us all to enjoy, which was a real nice touch.

Newbiggin itself is a lovely, quiet, un-touristy seaside town, with a great beach in a beautiful bay. It's perfect for exploring Northumberland; it's situated just off the A189 coastal road, which offers some splendid views and easy access to everywhere in the area you might want to go. The house itself is only 2 streets away from the beach, meaning it's really easy to go and spend some time down there.

All in all we had a wonderful holiday and we're really grateful to Elaine for all the effort she went to to make it so lovely. Definitely on our "go back again" list!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A Home from Home.”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This 'Bolt Hole by the beach' really lives up to its name. It offers a great stretch of beach (2 mins ) with well maintained flat promenade providing a picturesque access to lovely coffee shops local amenities and scenic coastal walks. Within short driving distance to many country towns Amble Alnwick & castle Rothbury 7 Morpeth all with their own charm. 'Woodhorn' mining museum & country park on doorstep a must. Plenty of choice for good food on the move. Home made soups delicious. I travelled alone for three weeks to visit elderly mum and it was a real home from home with Elaine the perfect welcome host.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely home away from home”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Good location, 2 minutes walk to the beach. Very clean and well equipped and nicely decorated , loved the seaside theme throughout the property.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimmyjane...
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here in the February school hols as a family of four. What a beautifully decorated property. It was absolutely spotless with everything we needed. Elaine had kindly left us milk, tea & coffee & toiletries, which we thought was a nice touch. Just a few mins walk to the beach and near to the town centre. We wouldn't hesitate to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne S
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy House by the sea”
Reviewed 13 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely welcome we received from Elaine , who showed us the house and where everything was and worked. Lovely touches like milk in the fridge, tea, coffee and biscuits in the cupboard.
Spotlessly clean, lovely fluffy towels.
All in All a lovely house that we would go back to again.
We used the house as a base as my husband was having an op in the near by Wansbeck Hospital.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing