We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So good, we are booking again next year !”
other travellers have booked this property
Master Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master Bedroom
Twin Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Master Bedroom
Twin Room
Bathroom
Dining Room
Kitchen
Single Bedroom
Promenade
Boat Yard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
carrowe
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“So good, we are booking again next year !”
Reviewed 12 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It's not often you look at photos of a property and then when you get there find out the photos did not do it justice ! Well not until you visit The Mules !!
This is a beautiful house, very tastefully decorated with just the right mix of modern and period touches. It was spotlessly clean, very warm and inviting.
It's a bit like Doctor Who's tardis, a lot bigger on the inside ! The lovely open lounge/diner is roomy but still feels cosy.
The master bedroom is very large and very comfortable with beautiful furniture, as are the other bedrooms.
The owner, Karen, is very accommodating and is excellent at communication both before arrival and during the stay. The bedding and towels are changed weekly by the owner and she left us treats, biscuits or chocolates whenever she came !
The property is virtually seconds walk from the beach and there are several takeaways right on your doorstep, along with shops, chemist, cashpoint etc
Staying at this property you will want for nothing !
In fact, I'm in second mind whether to post this review, I may just keep this little secret gem all to myself !!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2014
What a lovely review, thank you so much. I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you next year. Best wishes Karen x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A newly-refurbished house just 10 metres from a sandy beach, and well situated for exploring Northumberland”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a very enjoyable break indeed.
The property must have been very newly refurbished when we stayed, and we found it to be very luxurious for a holiday house. It has a large lounge and dining room, a well equipped kitchen, and comfortable bedrooms.
The location with Newbiggin is astounding, just 10 or 20 metres from the beach (although there are no sea views), and 2 minutes from amenties. And Newbiggin is very well situated for exploring Northumberland (both up the coast towards Seahouses and Lindisfarne, or the Cheviots, or Hadrian's Wall).
I thoroughly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your great review, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for choosing The Mules, and you are welcome back anytime. Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bramblech...
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation by the sea”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

First class accommodation. Really enjoyed our stay at The Mules. The rooms are recently refurbished to a very high standard and we had everything we needed there. Great Indian restaurant over the road for a take away treat. Lovely, warm welcome from Karen. Would definitely stay again and no hesitation in recommending to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for the lovely review. We would love to welcome you back some time x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shivram13
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely accomodation and top notch service”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Karen is very kind, helpful and well organised. The house itslef is much welcoming, warm, very nice interiors and fully equipped. Shops and pub are closeby and a minute walk to sea shore for a nice stroll in the evening. Parking our car at theback of the house is not a problem. Our 3 yr old daughter enjoyed her stay too, playing allaround, watching nice cartoons and sleeping in her room. I would recommend it to anoyone.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for your lovely review. Best wishes, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perthshir...
Perthshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All you need for a perfect srlf catering house.”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Great location for shops, restaurants and walks by the sea. The house is beautifully decorated and spacious throughout and spotlessly clean. Would recommend it to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. Glad you are both enjoying your stay, and I hope you come back to see us again. Karen x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizj J
Highworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Mules Accommodation and Owner - Superb”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were warmly welcomed by the owners. We chose the property because we knew the area where it was situated and were also attracted by the fact that it had been newly re-furbished. This proved to be of a very high standard, everything was spotless. This is the best self catering accommodation we have stayed in over the last 25 years! It was great to be able to walk out of the back door and just a few steps to the lovely beach. Newbiggin is an excellent base for the Northumberland coast and Tyneside. The town and people is also very welcoming. Excellent Italian Restaurant nearby and various cafes for daytime refreshment.Thoroughly enjoyed everything about this holiday, which had no drawbacks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard accommodation
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2014
It was a pleasure having you stay, and we are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday. Thank you :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing