We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Immaculately presented holiday let.”
other travellers have booked this property
Master Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master Bedroom
Twin Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Master Bedroom
Twin Room
Bathroom
Dining Room
Kitchen
Single Bedroom
Promenade
Boat Yard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul1710
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Immaculately presented holiday let.”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Warm welcome from Karen, the owner, everything you need is provided ( except spending money ) beautifully presented in an ideal location to tour some of Northumberland. 60 seconds walk out of the back door and you are on the promenade. No need to worry if the weather keeps you in, Karen has provided you with games, CD's etc to keep yourself entertained. Wont tell too many of my friends about the Mules, in case they get in before me, the next time we visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness of the property and the warmth of the greeting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2015
Thank you for your lovely review of The Mules, and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to meet you both, and hope to see you again. Best wishes, Karen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinaug
Ashington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly Newbiggin”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Comfortable cottage one street back from the promenade. Had everything you could want, like being at home. Friendly owner who even went the extra bit of putting the wheelie bin out. Everywhere accessible due to good road links, but Newbiggin is worth the stay alone. unusual these days but car parking was a doddle. Would definitely stay here if available again

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am very pleased you found The Mules a comfortable base for your holiday. It was a pleasure having you to stay. Best wishes, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pholly201...
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely decorated and well-equipped house”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A lovely decorated and well-maintained house that has all the facilities you could need. It was excellent as a base to tour the area. When the weather was poor it was a very comfortable 'bolt hole'.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay at The Mules, and would love to welcome you back some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PETER W
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful break”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A most enjoyable stay in a well equipped, well appointed and comfortable cottage located in a delightful seaside town that has easy access to many places of interest in Northumberland. We look forward to many more visits.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort of the cottage. a true home from home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for the kind review. I look forward to seeing you on our next visit. Best wishes, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJP741
Scarborough
2 reviews
“Beautiful holiday house”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just returned home after a weeks holiday at The Mules. We arranged a slightly earlier arrival time with Karen who met us at the house and showed us round. She also recommended places to visit and eat in the area. A lovely welcome pack. The house was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed for a weeks holiday even buckets and spades for the beach! We had a great week and would recommend The Mules to anyone looking for a lovely, comfortable house close to the beach and other visitor attractions in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, comfortable accommodation
Liked least: Traffic noise as it's on a busy road.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at The Mules. It would be lovely to see you again some time.....lots still to do and see! Best wishes, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
km0rris0n
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday rental - loved it!”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

From the mement we arrived and met Karen at The Mules we knew we would have a great time. The warm welcome, delightfully presented accommodation, high standards of cleanliness and great location combined to create a relaxed and comfortable base for a lovely break. Thank you Karen for all the little touches which we really enjoyed and appreciated. We hope to be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Mules, and it was lovely to meet you both. I do hope you manage to visit us again! Best wishes, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameschri...
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect place near the sea”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Well, I could go on and on, but in brief, this was the best stay ever anywhere for us. We are a family of four and simply loved everything about this rental. Although I want the owner to due very well and get lots of rentals, I also wish that I could just keep it a secret since it is such a nice place in such a tremendously wonderful Northumberland town. Everything you could need was just a short walk away. The sea was about 20 seconds walk out the kitchen door. If we could buy a place in the NE of England, we would want it to look like this one did. Thanks to Karen for all her A+ service and warm welcome. We will never forget it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2015
Wow what a wonderful review. Thank you so much, and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation in the UK. Best wishes to you and your family, it was great having you stay at The Mules.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing