We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view”
Review of Captain's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Captain's Lodge
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A real find on the Northumberland coast. Kathy is a welcoming host. She takes the trouble to make sure everything is to the guest's liking and was spot -on with her recommendation for a local restaurant. She even helped with parking. As a single traveller I am used to rooms at the top or back of properties, but this single had a wonderful sea view.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patan116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Kathy gave us a very welcoming stay at her real gem of a B&B. The view from our room of the bay and seafront were second to none. Of course of The 'couple' gave it a unique quirky feel, just loved all the artwork scattered around the walkways of Newbiggin too. Nothing was too much trouble and would recommend a stay at the Captains Lodge for young and old alike. Good food, with excellent choices for breakfast, and loved the large communal table which got everyone chatting, giving a good atmosphere to share holiday experiences in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea view four poster room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We booked the Captains Lodge because of its great reviews, and we weren't disappointed. Kathy the owner, was waiting outside for us when we arrived, with a warm welcome. Our room was beautiful with a stunning sea-view, spotless. with a lovely and very comfortable four poster bed. A fantastic breakfast was served up every morning. Kathy is a lovely host and nothing was too much trouble. We will stay here again as a base to explore the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Once Katy showed us the front room, we couldn't resist the sea view and "the couple". Very comfortable and cosy room. Bicycles could be safely stalled in the backyard. We had dinner in an Italian restaurant and an excellent breakfast before cycling to the ferry in Newcastle.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 31michel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed at this b&b for our Wedding Night and it is the best choice we have ever made. The accommodation is stunning with four poster bedroom overlooking the bay and the owner has to be the most helpful and friendly character in Northumberland... The hosts were very welcoming and they made us feel comfortable. The breakfast was just a bonus which was perfect and very relaxed.

We can't wait for a chance to stay at the Captain's Lodge again and hope others find this gem...

Room Tip: Ask for the Four Poster Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at the Captains Lodge in Newbiggin from the Saturday 4th January until Monday 6th January 2014 on a short birthday weekend break. During our stay we found the hostess Kathy extremely helpful and nothing seemed to be a problem to her. She made our stay a very enjoyable one making sure that everything that we required was attended to.

The room was spotlessly clean and always kept warm at all times. The decor was light and airy and there was plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits available. Kathy was a very sociable hostess and was always available when you needed help yet allowed you privacy on those occasions when you wanted time to yourself.

We had a magnificent sea view from our window. The breakfast included a good choice of menus which was chosen the night before. We chose the full English breakfast which, could not be faulted.

All in all an excellent place to stay and this made the birthday break a very memorable one. We would definitely return to the Captains Lodge at any time in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilagdurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Excellent location in town centre with direct access to the prom from the front door. Clean and comfortable room with small en-suite. Newbiggin is a pleasant quiet town to stay in. 13th century church is prominent at north end of bay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inchcape44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbiggin-by-the-Sea
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
10.3 mi away
Horton Grange Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Number 21
Number 21
#1 of 4 in Newbiggin-by-the-Sea
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Ship
The Old Ship
#3 of 4 in Newbiggin-by-the-Sea
95 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Swan at Choppington
The Swan at Choppington
#1 of 2 in Choppington
129 reviews
3.8 mi away
Anglers Arms
Anglers Arms
#2 of 2 in Choppington
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Lodge

Address: 2 Haven View, Newbiggin-by-the-Sea NE64 6NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Newbiggin-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newbiggin-by-the-Sea
Price Range: £61 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Captain's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain's Lodge Newbiggin-By-The-Sea, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing