We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Ship
Nearby Hotels
US$89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$94
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eshott Hall(Eshott)
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$47
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Park Lodge Hotel(Whitley Bay)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Hotel(Whitley Bay)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel 52(Whitley Bay)
US$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
48
33
11
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
33
11
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsunday lunchthe ownerbeefsea aira great sea viewper weekfriendly place to staybooked a tablegreat atmospheremain streeton arrivalfull englisha lovely staysea frontnorthumberland coastjackie
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2012

really confused regards review by "joyce" as this certainly did not seem to be the same establishment myself and freinds enjoyed.We found the landlord dennis charming, though a little eccentric,whilst his partner jackie was wonderful and obliging and more than willing to provide breakfast at the earliest of hours e.g 5am.
Would certainly recomend a stay of any duration!

Room Tip: ask for sea view
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We recently decended on the Old Ship Newbiggin as a quick getaway, and to be honest we wished we hadnt bothered! Jackie & Dennis have about as much business acumen as my little finger. Despite what the website says, the pub does NOT offer any food except for 2 and a half hours on a Sunday. The water was constantly cold when we tried to shower, the TV didnt work either. The member of staff behind the bar that went by the name of Kirsty was unwelcoming and incredibly rude!
The actual pub is fantastic and I believe if someone with an ounce of common sense was to take over this pub, it would be a little goldmine! The pub boats a restaurant and huge bar area, but neither of these rooms are open, we were informed by the locals that they are used to store the landlords OCD for collecting junk!
Avoid this place like the plague! - for places to stay check out the B N B just up the road!

Room Tip: Avoid this pub!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Great place for Sunday lunch and for entertainment during the week. Book up for the Triathlon in 2012 and of course the music festival next August. You will get a great welcome as a day visitor or if your staying over.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed for two nights in a family room which was spacious and comfortable, welcoming and friendly hosts, good breakfast fantastic location. The pub is clearly being refurbished and some rooms under decoration but our room was recently completed and was pleasant with everything we needed. Not ensuite with a shared bathroom which might put some off but no one else on our floor so not a problem for our stay. we have paid more elsewhere and have had less good rooms, we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jude012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We loved staying at The Old Ship. Jackie and Dennis were very welcoming. We had two double rooms with lovely views and the beds were so comfortable. The shower was fantastic, hot and very powerful. There was no strict time over breakfast and we only wished we could have stayed for Sunday dinner. The locals also made us feel very welcome and enjoyed a hilarious
evening with them singing and playing guitars, ukeleles and the spoons!! Our teenager girls were fascinated!! We wouldn't hesitate about returning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews