We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb holiday cottage”

Rose and Thistle Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rose and Thistle Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Alwinton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed in Hosedon House for a week over Easter the accomodation was superb,very warm and bright it is next door to the pub and owned by Gareth and Jane,the walking in the area was brilliant especially with all the snow in the Cheviots we live near the lake district and walk a lot there and to be fair thought the walking was every bit as good.Alwinton is a tiny hamlet with the nearest shops in Rothbury so take plenty of food with you as you cant just pop to the corner shop.People may be put off by the Otterburn ranges etc but dont be there is a vast area to explore we will definetly considor returning here and thankyou for a great week

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cumbriawalker36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2012

We spent 4 nights in a warm, homely and very friendly pub. We even had a separate lounge with our own log fire! Super food, very tasty with lovely home made chips. Great family, who were keen to please-they even cleaned our 2 very muddy bikes after 2 days on the wet, muddy hillside. Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

My brother-in-law and I stayed for two nights on a cycling holiday in mid-October. Everything was excellent, food and room and Gareth could not have been more helpful when we encountered some difficulties with one of the bikes. Top rating. Would certainly recommend it and would visit again. Thanks Gareth and Jane.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The Rose and Thistle is a little gem! Nothing is too much trouble and the accommodation and food is excellent. We always enjoy staying in Alwinton and will certainly return, Gareth and Jane deserve all the fantastic reviews, their hospitality is second to none!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BandYTickton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

After a long days walk over the very wet moors arrived for a good nights stay with excellent beer and food. There is a lovely lounge separate from the pub to relax in which was also used for breakfast. Friendly owners and would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gupta65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed here for one night as my son was racing in near by kidland.
One word for it . FANTASTIC!
It was more like staying in a cottage with a pub next door, as the rooms,which have a private lounge to relax and have breakfast in, are not above the pub. This means whichever of the spotlessly clean, incredibly comfortable rooms you stay in there is absolute peace and quiet.
The food in the pub is great and well priced and the breakfast was extremly filling and tasty.

the landlord could not do enough for us and was very friendly.
There is also a very secure area to keep you bikes.

Dont even consider anywhere else ...this is the pace to stay

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grover46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

3 of us stayed at the Rose and Thistle whilst cycling the North Pennine Cycleway from Berwick. I have to say the landlord could not have done more for us. Stored our bikes quickly and even though the pub was closed when we arrived he told us to have a shower and if we wanted drinks he would bring them through to the B&B area. Rooms were clean and well decorated and the breakfast was excellent. Possibly too good when it came to climbing the ascents around Elsdon. Good food and a well kept real ale (Hadrian & Border Farne Isle). I Will definitely return due to the service and value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trashcansinatras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rose and Thistle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose and Thistle Inn

Address: Alwinton NE65 7BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alwinton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alwinton
Price Range: £66 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rose and Thistle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose And Thistle Inn Alwinton, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing